Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rad Air Complete Car Care of Montrose

Phone: (330) 668-1111 Fax: (330) 668-1134 3904 Medina Road, Akron, OH 44333 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rad Air Complete Car Care of Montrose meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rad Air Complete Car Care of Montrose
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2007 Business started locally: 01/01/2007 Business incorporated 08/31/2007 in OH
Business Management
Mr. Andy Fiffick, Partner Mr. Dave George, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Fiffick, Partner
Principal: Mr. Dave George, Service Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Auto Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Dack Automotive, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 3904 Medina Road

    Akron, OH 44333 (330) 668-1111


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged me for a repair done to my car. 1 1/2 months later, the same defect occurred. Would not honor the warranty. Charged me for a additional repair Charged me $393.64 for a repair done to my car. 1 1/2 months later, the same defect occurred. Returned my car to have the repair covered under warranty. Was told it was a different part failure and was charged a additional fee. Did not charge me for labor, but charged me for the cost of the part. I feel that they misdiagnosed the initial problem and they charged me a additional repair on top of that. The initial repair was done on 5/29/14. The second repair was done on 7/23/14.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the cost of the initial repair of $393.64.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: 330-******** Contact Email: ************** On 5/28 Mr. **** ***** brought in his 2006 Pontiac G6 into our shop to have his driver's window checked-out and repaired. The window was stuck in the down position and would not go up at all. Upon inspection we confirmed the symptom. With authorization from Mr. *****, we performed diagnostics and removed the inner door panel to confirm the root cause of the problem. We confirmed that indeed the power from the window switch assembly was indeed reaching the window lift motor and regulator assembly; however, the regulator / lift motor failed and the window would not go up or down. We proceed to manually close the window and sent Mr. ***** on his way because we could not get the regulator until the next day. On 5/29 Mr. ***** returned and we installed the new lift motor/window regulator without a problem. The window worked great in both up and down positions. On July 15th Mr. ***** stopped by and showed me the window was having a problem with the same window assembly. Mr. ***** demonstrated that he had to man-handle (push really hard) the window switch to get the window to close. As you can tell, this is a new and different problem that Mr. ***** experienced back in May (window would not go up or down at all). I agreed there was an issue with the switch and advised Mr. ***** that this was not a warranty issue. With authorization from Mr. *****, I was advised to order in a switch for Mr. *****'s vehicle and he was on his way. Upon researching the purchase of a new window switch assembly I found that the switch had to be purchased as a whole switch-bank assembly and was very costly. Due to the high cost of a new switch-bank assembly; with Mr. *****'s blessing I located and purchased a uses switch bank assembly for Mr. *****. On July 23, Mr. ***** and his wife returned and waited in our reception area while we replaced the switch-bank assemble. Since it was a minor job to diagnose and replace the switch bank assembly, and because Mr. ***** was a client, we completed the job at no cost for labor and only charged Mr. ***** for the used part, thus saving him considerable dollars. When the repairs were completed and vehicle delivered to the front door, Mr. ***** paid the bill with no discussions about warranty, price and / or how we completed both repairs. Mr. ***** paid the bill without saying a word. Only his wife talked. Again, I would have explained the difference to him if he asked. Nothing was said. I was shocked and astounded when we received the email from BBB with this complaint. We have been at this facility for nearly 7 years without one complaint. I went out of my way to make sure we helped Mr. ***** in every way and also saved him considerable dollars along the way. I was simply helping a client like we help all of our clients (to the best of our ability). The two repairs are simply and clearly two different problems with the same symptom (window inoperable). I know that it is sometimes hard for the public to understand that two different failures can have the same symptom. There was never a question in my mind that these were clearly different problems; however, I must have failed to communicate that clearly to Mr. *****. The window did not go up or down at all in May, in July if you squeeze the switch a little harder the window worked fine = two different failures. Since the window switch worked fine after the first repair. I'm speculating that it is quite possible that when the window lift motor / regulator was failing, it caused a high power draw on the switch and compromised the contacts and switch assembly itself. Most likely it was just a matter of time until the switch failed. In this case it was 6 weeks or so. Please call / contact me if you have any questions? Sincerely. Dave ****** Service Manager, Rad Air of Fairlawn Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business stated that my drivers side front window would not move up or down when I first brought my car in for service. That is not true. I could get the window to move down with no problem at all. Getting the window to move up was the difficult part. I had to press the button very hard to get the window to go up. This is exactly the same situation or problem that happened after the first repair. I feel that the business missed diagnosed the problem initially and charged me a large sum of money for something that was not the malfunction in the first place. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/09/05) */ I am sorry Mr. ***** does not agree. But I stick by our diagnosis. We had 12 volts getting to the unit in question. When you have the correct voltage and the motor will only go one direction, it is a pretty simple diagnosis. Window motors/regulators are very common on this GM body style. But so are the switches. I feel we went out of our way to help Mr. ***** by getting a used switch assembly. Plus we installed the switch with no labor fee. The day we installed the switch we had the car done in a very short time. But Mr. ***** had more than enough time to discuss the warranty with me and said nothing. I could have explained it more clearly or even taken Mr. ***** out to the shop to show him the inside of the door to better understand how the window works. In 7 years this is our first complaint to the BBB. We have been very proud of this. The reason we have had no complaints is because we try to handle any issues immediately. I am sorry we didn't get that chance. this time.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rad Air Complete Car Care of Montrose
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)