Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lifetime Brake & Lube

Phone: (330) 773-3232 Fax: (330) 745-3679 2185 Romig Rd, Akron, OH 44320


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lifetime Brake & Lube meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lifetime Brake & Lube include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lifetime Brake & Lube
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 06/01/1996 Business started locally: 06/01/1996 Business incorporated 05/09/1996 in
Business Management
Mr. George Malone, President Ms. Joy High, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Malone, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Auto Diagnostic Service

Alternate Business Names
JLG Enterprises, Inc. Lifetime Brake Company

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle RX 300 was brought to this auto shop to be repaired. The owner drove the vehicle and as a result the engine knocked. April 2015

Desired Settlement: I need my car to be running like I brought it . The engine knocked while in the owners possession.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/05/28) */ to whom it may concern in regards to complaint on ms ****** vehicle repairs, i do believe vehicle repair order is in the name of a mr **** and all contacts and numbers for contact was with mr ****. information for vehicle was car has been parked for a period of time and towed to repair shop. vehicle was towed in due to a check eninge light on and vehicle running poor and "mis firing", please check and advise of repairs. as we proceeded to bring vehicle into shop battery was dead and would not accept a jump start due to a shorted battery. with first contact i advised mr **** vehicle would need battery prior to proceeding with diag. mr **** approved the installation and sale of a battery install. after battery install we was able start vehicle and drive vehicle in shop. DUE TO A DEAD BATTERY ALL INFORMATION STORED BY CARS COMPUTER WAS NOW ALL CLEARED. my next contact with mr **** informed him of that and told him also oil light was on, we checked oil level and it was full. he advised me that he knows nothing about that and it was not his car, it was his sisters car,he also asked many times "what about the vehicle running bad and mis firing. i told him we test drove car locally a couple times and car ran fine and no check eninge light came on. OTHER THAN OIL LIGHT COMES ON AT IDLE,INDICATING LOW OIL PRESSURE IS THE REASON FOR LIGHT COMING ON,WITH NO ENINGE NOISE POSSIBLY A BAD SWITCH OR A WORN ENINGE. after many attempts to test drive car we still have not duplicated any eninge management malfunctions or check eninge light. after many relay phone calls *me calling mr **** * mr **** calling his sister * his sister calling mr **** *and then mr **** calling me back this got old really really fast . i finally suggested with mr **** permission ill allow my senior tech to drive vehicle home which which was further than a regular test drive(approx 25 miles one way) to possible get a malfunction. after getting approval my mechanic test drove vehicle home only making it half way,vehicle eninge starting knocking and internal failure occurred . lifetime brake had vehicle towed back to repair shop and contacted mr **** following day THE ONLY REPAIRS LIFETIME BRAKE DID TO VEHICLE WAS INSTALL A BATTERY,SCAN THE CARS COMPUTER FOR INFORMATION AND TEST DRIVE VEHICLE. VEHICLE HAS INTERNAL ENINGE FAILURE THAT IS NOT THE FAULT OF LIFETIME BRAKE BUT POSSIBLE DUE TO MAINTAINCE OR EVEN DUE TO THE FACT IT HAS 200,000 miles on it thank you ****** ****** owner

2/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Break line puncture after having a hose connected to the antifreeze repaired. After picking up my 2003 Jeep from said business for repair due to a hose connected to the antifreeze was disconnected. The next day I found that I had no breaks due to the line next to the front passenger wheel had a whole picture in it causing fluid to leak. I feel that this was done at said business during the time of my earlier repair. I thought it strange that they park my car way on the other side of their business in the grass. My sister also thought the same thing due to all the workers were staring out of the window as i went to retrieve my car. Also when I call to complain about it they stated that I didn't have this problem and brushed me off.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting they refund me 110.00 from the work that was done. due to I had to pay someone else to repair the problem. Because they knowling allowed me to take my vehicle and there was break fluid leaking.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/02/02) */ IN REGARDS TO MS. **********'S COMPLAINT ACCORDING TO LETTER SAID VEHICLE WAS IN REPAIR SHOP FOR A COOLING SYSTEM FAILURE,LEAKING COOLANT. AVERAGE COOLING SYSTEMS REPAIRS RUNS INTO HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS AND THE STAFF AT LIFETIME BRAKE FOUND FAILURE TO A SIMPLE HOSE CLAMP THAT FAILED. SHOWING COMPLETE HONESTY AND INTEGRITY IN THE REPAIR. 100% OF THIS REPAIR IS DONE UNDERHOOD , NOT UNDERCAR AND REQUIRES NOT WORKING AT FRONT TIRE OR EVEN AT THE BRAKE LINE OR BRAKE HOSE,AFTER REPAIRS VEHICLE WILL REQUIRE TEST DRIVE TO VERIFIE COMPLETION OF REPAIR BEFORE VEHICLE IS RELEASED TO CUSTOMER,AND NEVER DID EXPERIENCE ANT TYPE OF BRAKE FAILURE. DUE TO THE HIGH VOLUME OF TRAFFIC IN PARKING LOT ALL VEHICLES COMPLETED ARE PARKED OUT OF THE WAY AT THE REAR OF PARKING LOT BY STREET,REDUCING POSSIBLE VEHICLE DAMAGE BY OTHER CUSTOMERS COMING IN AND OUT, AND LEAVING PARKING SPACES OPEN BY ENTRANCE. THE CONTACT MADE THE NEXT DAY BY MS.********** WE EXPLAINED TO HER THAT WE DID NOT EXPERIENCE BRAKE FAILURE WITH HER VEHICLE AS NEITHER DID SHE WHEN SHE LEFT. UN ABLE TO DETERMIN FAILURE BY PHONR SAID VEHICLE WILL NEED TO BE INSPECTED TO DETERMIN CAUSE AND ADVISED TOWING A VEHICLE WITH SUCH PROBLEMS. BEING THAT THERE WAS NO BRAKE INSPECTION DONE AT TIME OF COOLING SYSTEM REPAIR I HAVE NO IDEA OF CONDITION OF BRAKE SYSTEM.IF WE DID DUPLICATE A BRAKE SYSTEM FAILURE WHY WOULD NOT WE BROUGHT VEHICLE BACK IN AND GIVE CUSTOMER AN ESTIMATE FOR REPAIRS ? BEING THAT THERE IS NO DOCUMENTATION THAT THE BRAKE LINE? BRAKE HOSE ? FAILURE WAS DUE TO NEGLECT OR ABUSE BY LIFETIME BRAKE THE COST OF REPAIRS OF A FAILED COMPONENT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE VEHICLE OWNER, BRAKE LINES AND BRAKE HOSES ARE TO BE CONSIDERED TO BE A COMPONENT THAT FAILES WITH AGE THERE WILL NOT BE ANY REIMBURSEMENT PAID TO MS ********** AND LIFETIME BRAKE WILL NOT ACCEPT ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR BRAKE FAILURE. WILL ALSO ADD,THINKING STAFF MEMBERS WILL STARE OUT WINDOW TO WATCH A VEHICLE LEAVE KNOWING IT HAD BRAKE FAILURE KNOWING SEVERE INJURY MAY RESULT IS COMPLETELY GROSS AND ASININE THANK YOU ****** ****** OWNER LIFETIME BRAKE


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lifetime Brake & Lube
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)