BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/2010

Custom Trim of America

Phone: (330) 253-6893Fax: (330) 258-1469View Additional Phone Numbers916 E. Buchtel Avenue, AkronOH 44305 Send email to Custom Trim of America

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/2010

BBB has determined that Custom Trim of America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Custom Trim of America's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Custom Trim of America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
03/25/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Late delivery of products

Complaint: My car was promised by end of business having the car since 8:00 am the repair should have been done in less than eight hours.
I was promised the repairs to my car would have been done in one business day, it was not when asked when the next day I could pick it up they could not tell me I use this car for my business and travel because of the delay I have been forced to delay any calls that I should and could have made for a second day with no assurance that I will have the car back at all.

Initial Business Response
We asked for the vehicle to be dropped-off and we explained the vehicle should be done by the end-of-business. The seats were a bit more labor intensive, and while we tried to deliver it, we had no choice but to carry-over into the following day. We spoke with the customer as soon as the time-line was un-attainable, explained what was happening and he said that we could have the vehicle until 2p.m. the following day. We were done and customer was contacted by 11a.m (Day Two). The Job came out great and we didn't charge the customer any additional labor. The customer was contacted and we even offered a loaner car if it will help him(and by Loaner Car, we have a few older vehicles we use daily for runner's, parts, dealer pick-up's, etc). We always strive to complete tasks in a timely manner, but, sometimes jobs take longer than expected. We thought the right thing was to offer what we could(loaner car) and keep the price what was originally quoted).

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was never offered a loaner car nor an offer to be picked up at my home I was a given a sorry and sent on my way.

Final Business Response
*** from Custom Trim called the Bureau on 3/25/14. He wanted to add that as they took the customer's car seat apart they discovered a short in the seat heater. Because the heater was still attached with current running through it, it could potentially have caused a fire. They had to call the customer and decide on a course of action, and again this circumstance slowed them down. Consequently, they were unable to meet the original time frame for completion of the job.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

04/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/05/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Auto Sunroofs, Auto Seat Covers, Tops & Upholstery, Auto Customizing, Tire Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 01/01/1971
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1976, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex T. Kallas (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Michelli (General Manager)Ms. Michelle Brannon (Accountant)Mr. Ken Butler (Sales Manager)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Auto Sunroofs, Auto Seat Covers, Tops & Upholstery, Auto Customizing, Tire Dealers

Products & Services

Mention You Saw This Ad And Receive A Free Aquapel With Any Purchase, A $39.95 Value

Alternate Business Names
AAA CUSTOM TRIM OF AMERICA, Kallas Enterprises, Inc., KALLAS MOTOR CORP
Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Custom Trim of America

916 E. Buchtel Avenue

Akron, OH 44305

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 916 E. Buchtel Avenue 

    Akron, OH 44305(800) 837-7633
    (330) 253-6893

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Custom Trim of America is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 837-7633
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.