Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Akron Auto Clinic LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 434-9740 Fax: (330) 434-1156 922 W. Bowery St., Akron, OH 44307

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Akron Auto Clinic LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Akron Auto Clinic LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 01/14/2009 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is SC010380.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Frederick L. Franks, Partner Ms. Marietta Franks, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frederick L. Franks, Partner
Customer Contact: Ms. Marietta Franks, Partner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Frederick & Marietta Franks

Additional Locations

  • 2431 Stockbridge Rd.

    Akron, OH 44313

  • 922 W. Bowery St.

    Akron, OH 44307 (330) 434-9740


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: *SEE ATTACHED*

Desired Settlement: The consumer would like to have the electrical system repaired by supplier at supplier cost. The consumer wants an oil change paid by the supplier.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/05/14) */ *SEE ATTACHED* On 5/13/15, BBB received the following from the business via fax: AKRON AUTO CLINIC ************************************************************************** Please deliver the page(s) to: ************ BBB ***************** Total number of pages including the cover letter: 7 Regarding Case ********* As per our phone conversation, I've enclosed paperwork concerning ************** 1997 ***************. Her statement is erroneous. She did give us permission, she signed the work order and she signed the paperwork advising her not to drive the vehicle. We only did the work we contracted to do because she was going to do the brake work. When we found out she was going to drive it, we insisted she should tow it out. She refused, so we had her sign the warning. Sincerely Yours *********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/05/26) */ *SEE ATTACHMENTS* On 5/22/2015, BBB received the following from the consumer via email: ---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: ************** ****************************** Date: May 22, 2015 3:34 PM Subject: *********** Claim #********** To: "**************************" <**************************> Cc: Per the estimator's notes from the accident occurring on December 31, 2015 the only damage that was noted was a bolt that was sheared off on the manifold. Pictures were taken of converter and manifold. The bolt was the only damage located. Pictures were already sent to Ms. ***** from the day the vehicle was inspected on January 2, 2015. ************ Claims Generalist Associate **************************************** ********************************************************************************************** / Email:*****************************

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle made loud noise; had towed here; told me motor mounts broke and engine dropped; I would require new engine 3000-5000$. Turned out to be lies. My vehicle made a very loud noise, and some plastic pieces fell out underneath. I was working 14 hour days so could not ever meet with mechanics in person. Had it towed there and was called at work the next day and told that the motor mounts had broken and the engine had dropped down which caused the fan and fan shrowd to break (explaining the plastic piece). He told me that unfortunately I would need an entirely new engine costing anywhere from $3000-5000. I'm not from Akron so I chose to have it towed north to where I have a trusted mechanic. He told me that the motor mounts were fully intact and that the engine had not budged. He explained that I likely had ran over something that got thrown up into engine compartment causing fan shrowd to break. A few hundred dollars worth of damage, NOT $5000, NOT a new engine, NOT broken motor mounts. Not only did they try to take advantage of me, they were totally dishonest in every way.

Desired Settlement: There is no excuse or resolution for the dishonest business that they are conducting.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ *SEE ATTACHED* Please deliver the page(s) to: After investigating Mr. *****'s complaint it became clear we failed to document an explanation for recommending replacing the engine. However the service writer did explain in detail why over the phone. 1 tried to talk to Mr. ***** after receiving the complaint because this was clearly a misunderstanding, hut he did not return my call. When I was able to reach him, I introduced myself and he hung up the phone. I am surprised he did not try to contact me when the other shop could not find a problem. This whole thing could have been avoided with a two minute conversation. The reason we recommended replacing the engine is because: on the driver's side, the block side of the motor mount, the fastener's female portions. two out of the three had broken off the block. Enclosed is a picture of the location and what they look like. We contacted a local professional welder shop: ***** Welding on Rhodes Ave. They confirmed the cast iron block could not be welded. It could be braised but braising will not hold up to the stress of the engine torque. It would also require removing the engine to make the braising repair and it would not likely last. If the engine would drop again, there would be a chance of a safety issue. As per our policy we will not make a repair that may not hold up. Therefore we recommended a block replacement which would be an engine. When he opted out of the repair I instructed the tech to install the one bolt that did not have a broken female portion on the block so he could move the vehicle allowing it to be moved around the lot. This is a temporary repair. It will fail. A repair must be made. I apologize for not documenting the technician's notes; I know this was required and I ask for forgiveness. However we did not try to sell an unnecessary repair. This explanation and documentation should resolve this issue. Please consider this, the written documentation to Mr. *****: It is our recommendation this vehicle needs the engine replaced due to the broken block. Sincerely Yours From *********** Date 4/17/14 Time 11:00 A.M. E.S.T

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Akron Auto Clinic LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)