BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/19/2010

Ultragloss

Phone: (330) 252-9011Fax: (330) 252-8666585 E Tallmadge Ave, AkronOH 44310-2402 Send email to Ultragloss

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/19/2010

BBB has determined that Ultragloss meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ultragloss' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ultragloss
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: A billing arrangement with Enterprise Car Rentals where the use of an UltraGloss credit card is charged for the 3rd party rental without disclosure.
On October 16, 2013 I had detailing service on my car at UltraGloss and via a contract between Enterprise Car Rental and UltraGloss I rented a replacement car for the day. I completed and filled out the car rental and refused the Collision Damage Waiver because I provided my Mastercard to Enterprise knowing I was covered under the benefits of that card. During the rental I had an accident in the replacement car that resulted in damages in the amount of $759.41. After submitting my claims to Mastercard, I was informed that the claim was denied because the rental charges had been charged to a Visa Debit Card. On investigation I found that Enterprise had charged the rental to the UltraGloss credit card based upon the requirements of the Office Manager at UltraGloss. Not only that, but I found an amount charged on my UltraGloss bill for an amount in excess of the rental fee agreement that Enterprise has with the UltraGloss business. I contacted the Office Manager at UltraGloss and requested that they submit a claim for the accident with the Credit Card that had been initially charged for the rental. My request was refused without explanation and I was told that the damages were my responsibility because I had not elected the collision damage waiver. My position is that I was asked for and provided my credit card for the rental at Enterprise and believed that regardless of what arrangement existed between UltraGloss and Enterprise, my card would be the one used. Otherwise, I would not have taken the extra time to refuse the collistion waiver. At no time did anyone inform me of this billing arrangement that has placed me in this current situation. My expectation is that FIRST this billing arrangement should be ended for the sake of other customers that might find themselves in my position and second that I be made whole. The work that UltraGloss is exceptional and I have been very pleased with the service they provide. If they are unwilling or unable to file the claim with their credit card, the least they could do is give me credit on future service in the amount of my loss. I have my car detailed with them twice a year at a about $200 a visit.

Initial Business Response
When Ms. ********* was offered the rental at a discounted rate through Ultragloss she was informed that she would be paying Ultragloss, otherwise she would be paying retail rates with Enterprise. The rental fee to be charged per day was also disclosed to Ms. ********* at the time she requested the rental. She was provided a written estimate with these charges. The rate she received was below retail as promised. Enterprise requires the driver of the vehicle to fill out the appropriate paperwork and provide a credit card in the event that an accident occurs. Enterprise also offers rental coverage to any customer that rents through Ultragloss in the event that their auto insurance does not cover them in a rental. Ms. ********* subsequently refused the additional coverage on an assumption she herself made. We are innately sorry that she had an accident while in the rental; however she was the registered driver of the vehicle and therefore is responsible for the damages done regardless of who paid the bill.

Ms. ********* informed us that her credit card company would not cover the damages she had caused because Ultragloss' credit card was billed. She was informed by Ultragloss, via email & phone that we would not file a claim for damages that she caused and we would be happy to reverse the charges and have Enterprise bill her credit card for the regular retail pricing so she could refile her claim. We know that this was also offered to Ms. ********* by Enterprise via phone since Enterprise called Ultragloss for permission to do so.
While we greatly appreciate her business and enjoy the praise of the detailing work we do for her, Ultragloss will not be refunding Ms. ********* the money she paid for damages that she created. Ultragloss proposes that Ms. ********* either file a claim with her car insurance company or accept the original offer to reverse the rental charges and have her card charged so that she can refile her claim.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The details of the response from Ultragloss are accurate, but Ultragloss fails to accept the role of their business practice in my assumptions and my loss. There was a total lack of clarity and information regarding the risks associated with my participation in their agreement with Enterprise. The information provided was verbal and suggested a discounted rate for the rental. No risks were disclosed. I was specifically told by the lady that delivered me to the rental office that I had no choice but to pay through Ultraglass as that was their arrangement with Enterprise. At no time was I provided information regarding the risks, or given an alternative rate or the option to reject the billing arrangement. The flat rate quoted by Ultragloss did not include the cost of the damage waiver. At a minimum, Ultragloss's arrangement with Enterprise should of necessity include the acceptance and cost of the damage waiver. Additionally, the use of an Ultragloss credit card in the arrangement was not disclosed. Having no details of how this business arrangement worked, when asked for my credit card at the rental office (which has rental car protection), my normal assumption would be that my credit card would be charged. Lacking information and the lapses of time between the snippets of information, I never questioned that my credit card would be somehow charged in accepting the discounted rate and "paying through Ultragloss". Another issue is the charge to me by Ultragloss for the rental exceeded the charge made to the Ultragloss credit card suggesting that Ultragloss is profiting from this questionable business practice and arrangement, not only in the extra charges, but also in any benefits the use of the Ultragloss credit card may provide Ultragloss. Based upon these additional facts, I believe they share in responsibility for my loss and should respond by (1) correcting their business practice so other customers do not find themselves in a similar situation and (2) to use some of the profits of their billing arrangement with Enterprise to mitigate my loss.

Consumer Response
Ultragloss suggests that it is possible for me to reverse the charges on their credit card - recharge mine and then have my credit card insurance claim approved. The conditions of the rental car insurance do not permit that. For the rental car insurance to be in place it is required for the initial payment to be made with my credit card and that is what I believed was happening when I provided my card to the rental agent when filling out the rental car forms. I was NOT aware of the billing arrangement Ultragloss had with the rental car agency whereby the Ultragloss credit card was being used as the initial payment. Because the Ultragloss credit card was used, the only claim that could be made would be to the Ultragloss's credit card company which is what I requested be done in a timely manner, providing to Ultragloss ALL the necessary documents and paperwork. I have no information regarding the Ultragloss credit card other than it is theirs, it is a VISA card, and it was used for the initial payment of the rental car. It would seem obvious the solution Ultragloss suggested as regards "rebilling" another credit card after the fact would not be a practice allowed by any credit card rental car insurance. Also, a claim was submitted to my car insurance company, but I have a $1,000 deductible. I will be speaking to an attorney. Thank goodness I also have legal insurance with no deductible :-)

Consumer Response
Ultragloss suggests that it is possible for me to reverse the charges on their credit card - recharge mine and then have my credit card insurance claim approved. The conditions of the rental car insurance do not permit that. For the rental car insurance to be in place it is required for the initial payment to be made with my credit card and that is what I believed was happening when I provided my card to the rental agent when filling out the rental car forms. I was NOT aware of the billing arrangement Ultragloss had with the rental car agency whereby the Ultragloss credit card was being used as the initial payment. Because the Ultragloss credit card was used, the only claim that could be made would be to the Ultragloss's credit card company which is what I requested be done in a timely manner, providing to Ultragloss ALL the necessary documents and paperwork. I have no information regarding the Ultragloss credit card other than it is theirs, it is a VISA card, and it was used for the initial payment of the rental car. It would seem obvious the solution Ultragloss suggested as regards "rebilling" another credit card after the fact would not be a practice allowed by any credit card rental car insurance. Also, a claim was submitted to my car insurance company, but I have a $1,000 deductible. I will be speaking to an attorney. Thank goodness I also have legal insurance with no deductible :-)


Business Response
Attached are copies of the Ultragloss invoice and charge receipt. These items show that the customer paid Ultragloss directly for both the services that we provided and for the car rental, which was billed to us so that the customer could receive the discounted rate that Enterprise provides to our customers. These are the only documents that we have in this matter, because the customer handled the liability arrangements and rental paperwork with Enterprise directly. We simply acted as a third-party billing agent on behalf of Enterprise, in order to provide the customer with a discounted rental rate.

We are sympathetic to the customer's situation. However, it appears to us that this customer's complaint is against Enterprise, and not against Ultragloss. All that we offered to the customer was the provision of repair/detailing services to her car and access to our favorable rental rate with Enterprise, all of which we delivered in full, as promised. From our perspective, this matter is closed as between us and the customer.

It is our understanding that the customer entered into rental car paperwork directly with Enterprise, and that as part of that paperwork, she executed a liability waiver that acknowledged her personal responsibility for any damages to the vehicle during her operation of it. It is our further understanding that customer expected that Enterprise would charge the rental directly to the customer's card, which apparently would have provided her with liability protection for car rentals. We were billed by Enterprise directly for this rental, and passed that charge on to the customer. If Enterprise entered into a different agreement with the customer, they have billed us erroneously, and perhaps should be liable for the damages that would otherwise have been covered by the customer's credit card company. We have not seen the contract between the customer and Enterprise, and do not know the nature of the agreement between those parties. Nevertheless, that issue is between the customer and Enterprise, and does not involve the services provided to the customer by Ultragloss.

Our goal is to always meet and often exceed our customer's expectations. We sympathize with the customer's plight in this matter, and hope that the matter can be addressed with the proper party.

Please let me know what we can do to move forward in this manner.

Thank you,
*******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no discount on the rental provided by the billing arrangement Ultragloss has with Enterprise Car Rentals. The rental charge by Enterprise was actually $5 less than the rental amount charged by Ultragloss. I received NO benefit from the arrangement that Ultragloss has engaged in with Enterprise and the customer is left with no information as to how the arrangement works and no information as to the risks the customer is assuming in agreeing to the arrangement. The Ultragloss employee stated that I "MUST" pay Enterprise through Ultragloss. That is not true. It also was not explained to me how this arrangement worked so that I would have known to NOT depend on my credit card insurance to cover my risk. As I have stated. Ultragloss should end this special billing arrangement with Enterprise or they should include collision coverage as part of the services provided with the arrangement. The arrangement violates the terms and conditions of any contract or agreement the renter is making with Enterprise.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

08/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: My car was in for hail damage repair. When I got it back they had damaged my windshield wipers and damaged stripping, neither were in repair area.

My windshield wipers worked the morning I took the car in for repair, but hung up in the middle of the windshield the day after I got it back and used them for the first time since the repair.
Stripping on the passenger front quarter panel and door of the car was rubbed away even though there were no repairs in that area.
When I took it back to show them the damage, at their request, they did a makeshif repair of my windshield wipers (one wasn't working at all) which resulted in the wipers not being able to be lifted past the hood to wash under them.
At the time they were checking out the additional damage they agreed to fix both problems and told me they would call to schedule the repairs, they never called and never returned my numerous calls following that meeting to get the repairs scheduled and done.

Business' Initial Response
First off,
when the vehicle was dropped off for paintless dent removal, the car looked like it had been sitting under a tree for awhile and my dent crew had hose off the vehicle to be able to complete the services. After the services were completed on the vehicle the customer picked up the vehicle with no complaints! Then, close to two weeks after we even worked on the vehicle she called and said there were some things damaged on it. we arranged to stay late one night so we could meet with her to take a look at the damages. When she arrived she showed us the torn pinstripe which did not happen from my dent technicians. Next she said my dent techs broke her windshield wiper which at this time was stuck under the edge of the vehicles hood, when we asked her to pop the hood open and we lifted it up the entire cowl windshield wiper area was full of clumps of leaves, sticks and debris. we then took the nut off that holds the windshield wiper arm on to reposition for her and when we did we looked at the teeth on the inside of the arm and they were all completely stripped out. I tried to explain to the customer that there was no way we could have stripped that out and she just kept insisting that my dent techs were to blame for this even though that is impossible. I reattached the wiper arm to the correct position and even had the customer turn on wipers and everything worked fine even with the customers wiper arm being stripped out. I normally will bend over backwards to ensure my customers are always 100% satisfied with services done for them. I truly feel in this situation and with myself and my dent technicians staying late to meet the customer that we were being totally taken advantage of in this situation and feel we don't owe or feel obligated to this customer any longer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The car should have looked like it had been sitting under a tree as it is parked under one at work which is where I came from(it is my assigned spot, I have no choice). That had nothing to do with their botched repair. Had they requested it come in clean, I would have been more than happy to comply, but when I asked if it needed to be clean, they told me no! Obviously they are trying to divert attention away from their ineptness.
They stated I didn't call for two weeks, but I started calling the Monday following the repair and never received a return call (I have the LD phone charges to prove it). It wasn't until I was able to leave work early one day that I was finally able to speak to a person (their office girl)which was a couple of weeks later. That wouldn't have happend if they had been consciencious enough to return my calls! Believe me, that was my second indication that they were not to be trusted (the first was the damage they did to my car)!
When I arrived for them to check out the damage their techs admitted to the damage and agreed to fix it. If their techs didn't cause the damage, why did they admit they had and agree to fix the damage?
The windshield wiper stripped because of the damage they caused. When they were turned on, they stuck together in the middle of the windshield. When I finally got them unstuck, using them caused the one that would no longer move to strip. The wiper tried to work, but the wiper wouldn't move thus causing it to strip. I have the mechanics bill and statement to prove that the jerk that "repaired" it when I went back didn't know what he was doing and definately did NOT reset it to the correct position. If he had, I would have been able to lift it past the hood to clean under it (as it was designed to do). I definately could not do so after that jerk "fixed" it.
I now also understand why they escorted me from the car that picked me up directly into the office to pay, not giving me a chance to check out my car before I paid. The only other time I had a car repaired, they actually escorted me to the car and walked around it with me to make sure I was satisfied. These guys went out of their way to not do so.
I understand why they have such a bad reputation. I wish I had listened to everyone before I took my car there. Unfortunately, there just aren't that many places that do dentless paint repair. (I have found another one now, in Cleveland, and will definately refer people to them instead.) At least I have numerous avenues to spread the bad word about their lousy service, inability to properly do the work, and distinct lack of caring about their customers (prior customers)! Thank heavens for the internet and word of mouth!!
I will definately check the BBB before taking my car elsewhere, thats for sure. It may not prevent it from happening again, but at least I will have a better chance of having it done right the first time instead of having idiots like these guys touch it! I can only hope you give them the failing rating they deserve.

Complaint Resolution: The parties could not provide sufficient information to support their positions nor were they agreeable to make reasonable efforts toward resolving the issues of the dispute.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Detailing, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/16/2007Business started: 04/01/1992
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of MOBL.49690301 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 01/04/2015.

Type: unknown

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Marble (CEO)Mr. Josh Chancey (Vice President)Ms. Annette Marble (Accounts Receivable)
Business Category

Auto Detailing, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

This company offers Plastic Bumper Repair, Lite Auto body Repair, Complete Auto Detailing, Scratch Removal- Exterior & Interior Surfaces, Automotive Interior Repairs-plastic-carpet-upholstery
Paint-less Dent Removal, Glass Chip Repair
Window Tinting-Automotive-Commercial-Residential, and Paint Protection Films.

Alternate Business Names
Ultragloss LLC
Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ultragloss

585 E Tallmadge Ave

Akron, OH 44310-2402

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 585 E Tallmadge Ave 

    Akron, OH 44310-2402(330) 252-9011

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ultragloss is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Detailing

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.