Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

VanDevere Kia

Phone: (330) 253-6137 Fax: (330) 253-7943 View Additional Phone Numbers 328 W Market St, Akron, OH 44303 http://www.kiavandevere.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that VanDevere Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for VanDevere Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on VanDevere Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 15, 2010 Business started: 09/12/1947 Business started locally: 09/12/1947 Business incorporated 09/12/1947 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is ND003321.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike VanDevere, President Mr. Chris Bender, General Manager Mr. Travis Freeman Ms. Kelly McVey, Office Manager Mr. Jerry VanDevere, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kelly McVey, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Mike VanDevere, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
VanDevere Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 328 W Market St

    Akron, OH 44303 (866) 248-1744 (330) 253-6137

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales agent failed to disclose information about the vehicle I purchased. I purchased a 2015 Kia Soul in July 2015. The sales agent, Ed W****, failed to disclose that the vehicle did come equipped with a spare tire or a donut. He did not even show me the area underneath the trunk where a tire would be stored. I was led to believe a spare tire or donut came with the vehicle. I did not find out the truth until I had a flat tire and was stranded on the highway. The sales agent's failure to disclose this information has caused me financial hardship not to mention aggravation.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund for the cost of purchasing a spare tire from this dealership.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2016/01/21) */ Consumer called to let us know she received a call from Vandevere. They offered a settlement. She is satisfied with their response and wishes to close the complaint.

1/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to service several times and something VERY VERY WRONG WITH BRAKES. MANY COMPLAINTS TO MANY AT VANDEVERE - PURCHASED CAR IN APRIL 2014 FROM VANDEVERE AT 328 W MARKET AKRON OHIO - 2014 KIA FORTE. SALESMAN RJ ****** LIED REGARDING MY $4,000 DOWN PAYMENT. SPOKE TO SEVERAL SALES AND SERVICE PEOPLE REGARDING THIS AND NOTHING EVER DONE. THEN COMPLAINED ABOUT BRAKES - SERVICED SEVERAL TIMES AND STILL NOT RIGHT. SPOKE KINDLY TO SEVERAL AT VANDEVERE AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE! EVEN SPOKE WITH SON OF MR VANDEVERE HE PATRONIZED ME. AGAIN SERVICED AND BRAKES NOT RIGHT - THEY STICK AT TIMES LIKE I AM SLIDING ON ICE. AND THERE IS NO ICE!

Desired Settlement: REPLACEMENT OF THIS KIA FORTE THAT I PUT A GOOD DEAL DOWN ON AND BRAKES ARE BAD.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/23) */ I review service history of the vehicle and don't see any brake complaints. We have looked at the steering for a noise and was unable to duplicate the concern. I have left a message for the customer to see how we can help. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/12/30) */ Email received 12-24-15: Thank you so much. I will call them as they left me a voice mail while I was at work, Hopefully I will be able to discuss this problem with them in the next couple days,...being that it is the Holiday. I will let you know how this turns out. Merry Christmas and again, thank you. Nancy S. P***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2016/01/13) */ Customer came in to have vehicle inspected on 1-12-16 and rode with the service manager and was able to duplicate concern. Customer was feeling the traction control system engage in slippery conditions such as snow. Vehicle is operating as designed and no repairs were required. We did offer the customer winter tires at our cost if she was interested. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2016/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Said get kia soul 79 a month... That was just to get you there I have a few issues! Car washes for life! Only when its above freezing!!!!! The radio ad said 79 a month for a kia soul.... I would up at 268. Eveb the salesman said thats to get you in the door! Also i have had the car only 2 mos. already having battery trouble at 44 degrees! The truck i traded in had an excellent battery new last year that would start in 35 below windchill. I called service. They said i just missed the warranty on the battery. I have MS. I CAN NOT AFFORD A NEW BATTERY NOT EVEN 5 dollars! I cant physically be in the cold trying to get it jumped etc. i want a NEW battery with good cold cranking capability as was the truck i traded in !

Desired Settlement: I JUST WANT A GOOD HEAVY DUTY BATTERY

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/16) */ Vehicle was purchased used and two months later the battery went bad. We have agreed to replace the battery for the customer and have left several messages. Customer has not returned our call.

10/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They ask me place 500.00 for a car and I signed the agreement and finalized but their banks did not agree I drove the car Three weeks had to return it Got car 9/12/15 return it 9/28/15 KIA optima 2013 paid 500.00 with debit Patrick too that payment and upon return I ask for my refund on demand patrick has not reached out to me I'm not left without a car I'm really upset because everything was suppose to be finalized and was not also still haven't got my 500.00 for the down payment . I'd never do business here or recommend anyone else

Desired Settlement: I want my refund for my down payment plus refund for the policy of insurance because I had to get a new policy and pay for it 500.00 plus insurance of 187.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/10/16) */ Ms. N***** was approved for financing with Consumer Portfolio Services pending verification of employment and income based on the information Ms. N***** filled out on her credit application. The bank called Ms. N*****'s employer to verify employment and was informed that the hours she stated she worked were as needed and are not guaranteed. At that time the bank returned the paperwork due to this information. All vehicles before they can be delivered have to have full insurance coverage. That was communicated to Ms. N***** thru the whole process and she paid for this insurance directly to the insurance company. Her $500.00 down payment was refunded to her on check 218554 dated 9/30/15 and cashed the same day....

10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car was delivered 11/10, went to dealer 05/11 about groves in rear brake rotors was told it was normal wear, went back several times and told the same I bought a 2011 KIA Soul! I had it serviced 03/11 at which time I told service personal that my brakes felt like they were "pulsing" when I put the brakes on was told that this was normal for ABS brakes. In 05/11 I took it back in because there were groves begining to appear on the rear brake rotors. I was again I was told that this too along with the pulsing was normal. over the next 4 1/2 years I returned to the dealership several more times about the pulsing and groves were both getting worse again I was told "this is normal" So I took them at their word and continued to drive the car. Then on 09/04/15 I was told that I needed to have a complete rear brake job that would run me around $600 (I think I was never given the estimate sheet) at this time I explained this person named Chris that I had been bringing the car in for over 4 1/2 years about the same groves and pulsing that were now going to cost me $600 to repair (again I was refused the estimate sheet) Yes I became upset because I had been trying for 4 1/2 years to have then address the issue with the grooves and pulsing. To which he replied " the car only has 12,517 miles and is 5 years old so it is your fault due to the fact you did not drive it and the rotors rusted causing the pulsing and groves". When I asked if that were the case then why were my front rotors not rusted and groved he replied " they carry more weight and did not rust or groove" He then pointed out that the car is 5 years old and no longer under warranty, and I could have saved all the problems if I just would have driven it. I ran into some severe health issues and had to have major surgery so yes the car sat undriven at all for 4 weeks. Other than that it was driven every few days mind you not as many miles as some one who was working would have but none the less it was driven. Also I would like to point out that I will not pass the 5 year mark of owership until 11/22/15

Desired Settlement: I have had the car repaired by another auto service and would like to be reimbursed the orginal estimate (that I was not given a copy of) of $600 dollars to help me recoup some of the expence I inccured because the dealership/ service department kept telling me " this is normal for the brakes to pulse due to them being ABS and the groves I pointed out for the first time in May 2011 were normal wear" and waitting until the car was out of warrenty to tell me "oh this is an issue and you need to let us fix it today"

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/10/03) */ Contact Name and Title: Travis F****** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ********************* After reviewing the complaint and the customers file I am a little confused by this claim. The vehicle has been in 11 times since it was new for maintenance and miscellaneous items. There has never been a service work order with a brake concern of any kind. The customer also received a estimate when the vehicle was in for service in September stating the brake cost to repair was $345.00 and not $600.00. I have attached the invoice and left a message for the customer to try and find out where the miscommunication is. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The times that the car was brought in due to the issues of the pulsing and grooves in the rotors it was taken back to be looked at---- there was never a work order made up for these visits. I feel that I was taken advantage of by some of the people who worked in the service department because of my gender.I was being told the truth Also I believed that In fact one of the times I took it in it was looked at by Joe Van Devere and he told me that it was nothing to worry about. It all boils down to the fact its my word againstt heirs. And because they are a major company and I am just one person I lose and look the fool. As for the estimate I was told that it would be about $600 , but on the back sheet of my service sheet it does say $ 345. I am willing to admit this, but I was told orally that it would be $600 The explaination he gives still does not say why a car with 12,517 miles on it needed a total brake job. While it is true I do not drive the car like a person who works full time would I am still lacking a explation why the brakes went out at 12,517 miles It is driven anywhere from 4 to seven days a week. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/10/10) */ We get paid for parts and labor from the manufacture to repair vehicles. If there would of been a problem with the brakes four years ago it would of been to our benefit to repair it under warranty. Again we have no documentation of a brake concern and seems highly unlikely it would of gone four years if there was a concern. In response to the customers question why it needed brakes at such a low mileage is because the rear rotors were rusty which is common for our environment and the age of the vehicle. The customer was given a estimate for the repair and declined to have it fix at our facility. Brakes are considered a maintenance item and we will not be reimbursing the customer for having it repaired at another company.

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Returned old leased car,pressured relentlessly to lease a newer more expensive vehicle that I told them NOrepeatedly.3 salesmen pressured until signed Returned previously leased vehicle to dealership. Stated that since i am 80 years old and ill, I did not want another vehicle and wanted my promised ride home. Salesman said he needed to talk to me 1st and proceeded to try to get me to lease another car. I repeatedly told him no, he got 2 more salesmen and they pressured me for over 3 hours to resign with a new lease. I told them over and over NO and they ignored me and I finally felt so pressured and ill, I signed the lease to get away from them. I went and figured out I can not afford the payment as it is more than the last. I called back the next morning, Friday July 18th and told them I did not want the car. The finance mgr said "too bad, tough" and hung up. I called back and left a message for an owner or someone to call me. The general mgr called me back and he said the car is now mine. There are no 3 day returns like I heard on the radio. They bullied me into this deal! I was scared and confused and they took full advantage of me.

Desired Settlement: I do not want nor can I afford this car. I only drove it home and have not driven it since and want out of the lease and Van Devere to take the car back and stay out of my life.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/04) */ *** **** came in to VanDevere to turn in her leased 2013 Kia Soul on 7/16/15, which she leased from us on 7/18/12. She stated she wanted to purchase a used vehicle. The used vehicle she was interested in was a Toyota Corolla with 70,000 miles. Our salesman Ed W. explained to her the difference in buying a used vehicle, buying her lease out and leasing another vehicle so she could make the best decision for her. She decided that her best option was to lease another vehicle. Her payment went up $48 to go into the new vehicle. She was paying $199.84 per month on her 2013 leased Kia Soul and her new payment is $247.37 on her new 2015 Kia Soul. Our Sales manager Jeff D. spoke with her on 7/23/15 and offered to help out the payment situation by giving her more for the trade to lower her payment to $219 but now she said she wants to be at $150. We video tape all transactions that go thru our finance dept and our General Manager watched the video and *** spoke about buying another vehicle and paying cash for it and was laughing and seemed very happy while signing her paperwork for her new vehicle.... *** came into VanDevere looking to purchase another vehicle and we feel we did not High pressure her into any sale. In fact we helped her make the best decision for her by keeping her in line with her prior payment while driving a new vehicle that she is familiar with.... *** **** has complained to Autocap as well and we have been in contact with them about ***'s complaint......

8/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased used vehicle. Paid $8,000.00 cash and financed the rest. Within 30 days of purchasing the vehicle, learned all 4 tires were dry rotted. I purchased a used 2012 Kia Sorento on May 26, 2015. Marquel was my salesman and he was awesome. I was a very happy customer and pleased with the service I had received. On June 23, 2015, I realized I had a nail in one of the tires. I took the car to Firestone Auto Care to a family friend and trusted mechanic. He reported that he could fix the tire, but pointed out he was more concerned about the dry rot on the tire. This was more visable because the tire was no longer inflated. He then took me around to all of the other tires and showed me how they were dry rotted as well. He acknowledged that this is a known issue with ******** tires and suggested that I replace all 4 tires as a safety concern. I replaced one tire that day because this is all I could afford. On Thursday June 25, I called Vandevere Kia and spoke with Marquel, my salesman. He referred me to the Used Car Manager. I believe his name is Jeff or John. I called Jeff/John and left a message. Marquel returned my call. He reported that he spoke with the Used car manager who told him to let me know that they inspect all of the cars when they receive them. While this may be true, from the carfax report, Vandevere had possession of this car since August 2014, which means it sat all winter long. The price had been reduced twice. There is no way the tires dry rotted in the less than 30 days I had the vehicle. Before purchasing the vehicle, I requested that they replace the front rotors, resurface the back rotors and repair two cracks in the windshield. I had to bring these issues to their attention and was given 2 "We Owe You" slips to have said repairs completed. If I had not brought this to their attention, it would have gone unaddressed, which speaks to my point about the "inspection" on this car not being very helpful. On July 3, 2015, I brought the car in to Vandevere Kia for inspection. Marcie was my service rep. She was very pleasant and helpful. She informed me that they found some "signifcant dry rot issues" and asked my permission to keep this service request open until Monday because July 3 was they day before the Holiday and the perosn they needed to speak with regarding this was on vacation. I understood and agreed. On July 6, Marcie called with an offer to split the cost to replace the remaining 3 tires and provide free labor. She reported they are willing to pay 25% of the cost of the tires and free installation on the tires. Leaving me responsible for 75% of their cost for the tire plus tax. She asked me to gather some info about the tire I purchased from ********* so they may match up the tires. I agreed to call her back with that information. Upon calling her back, I asked if I may speak with a manager. She agreed to notify a manager and have them give me a call. A little later, I received a call from Travis, who was also very pleasant. He offered to pay for half of the cost of the 3 remaining tires. I do not feel, considering these circumstances, that I should incur any additional cost for this vehicle. If I had known these tires were dry rotted, I would have requested they be replaced prior to purchase or it would have been a "no deal" for me. This is a safety issue for myself and my son, so it must be done. I would have expected something like this to slip past a private seller, but not a reputable dealership such as Vandevere. Replacing one tire cost me $183.00, now I am faced with another approximately $250.00 repair and I have not even made one car payment yet. I paid $8,000 cash for this vehicle and financed the rest. Now I am being asked to shell out even more money for tires that were dry rotted at the time I purchased the vehicle. As I have mentioned throughout, I had a wonderful experience with Vandevere until this point. While $250.00 may seem like a deal, for the money I just spent on this vehicle, I should not have been confronted with such an issue so soon after purchase. I was in hopes they would make this right.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that they replace the remaining 3 tires at no additional cost to me. The tires were dry rotted when I purchased the vehicle and as I stated before, $8000 cash is a substantial amount of money to put down on a car. If this were not such a safety concern and needed to be replaced, I may understand, but to expect that I pay to replace tires that are unsafe on a car that I have owned for barely one month now, is unfair and poor customer care. What I liked most about Vandevere was I felt like they cared for me as a person, not just a customer. Now, I am not too sure.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/23) */ After careful review we did not make a good decision in this matter. We will replace the other tires for the customer. I have called and left her a message. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept and appreciate their response. My tires have been replaced and I am back on the road with confidence. I also appreciate the fact they humbly admitted that their previous decision was not a good one and apologized all the same. Thanks BBB & Thank you, Vandevere.

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was suppose to receive a refund of 147.53 within a day or two from April 26th I believe it was. To this day I still have not received it. I bought vent visors for kia. The very first day it rained after installation they were leaking. I took them back. I was told I would receive a refund by check. I gave the service department manager named Chris, with whom I had been dealing with on this matter, my address which was valid at the time for mailing the check. The check was sent to the wrong address. All I want is my refund I have been waiting almost two months for. And I still don't under stand how I paid 160.93 for a product and only refund of only 147.53 which I haven't received.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of 160.93 sent to address given to Chris for mailing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/07/01) */ The customer did not like the style of the vent visors after purchase even though they were clearly displayed in the service drive before purchase. These are not a returnable item and we decided to give the customer a refund as a goodwill gesture for parts and labor but not the tax. Attached is a copy of the check that was originally mailed out. Our last conversation with the customer he stated that he would check at his dads house and let us know if the check was there. We did not hear back. I have checked with the bank and this check has not cleared. We will issue a new check today and void the previous one.

6/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Commercial advertised not honored at dealership. Was told special did not exist. Lied to by sales person on phone, sales rep and manager. On May 4, 2015 I saw an ad for Vandevere Kia on their website. It stated verbally and in print that buyers could receive $9000 for their trade in on select new Kias. I called Vandevere to confirm this was true. I spoke with a man named ******. I told ****** about my car and he assured me that I would receive $9000 for it. I asked him which "select new Kias" qualified and he said all of them. I drove to the dealership. Upon getting there I was met by a sales person named ****. **** said he was unaware of this special. He checked with management and told me this special did not exist. He contacted ****** who denied we ever had that conversation. I told **** I did not want to waste any more time there if I wasn't going to get $9000 for my car. He told me he was doing everything he could to get me close. Two hours later I received an offer of $7000. I turned the offer down. Before I left a manager named **** or ****, I am not sure, sat down to speak with us. He apologized but again said the offer did not exist. I was told that the commercial must have said "up to $9000". Upon looking at their website again I recorded and screen shotted the ad confirming that it does say and read $9000 for trade ins on select new Kias. So not only was I told this special isn't running but I was not shown one car that I could have traded my car in for $9000 to purchase it. I called Vandevere to speak to a manager. I left **** a message asking him to review the ad and speak with me because they were clearly wrong. I still have not received a call back.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure how they can resolve this issue just yet. Even if they finally honored the special I do not feel I can trust this dealership or its employees. I most definitely want them to recognize the treatment I received and I want the people I dealt with on the 4th dealt with appropriately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/05/21) */ ***** ****** our General Sales Manager spoke with Ms. *****. ***** explained to her that the program was available then and now to get $9000 off select new Kia's with any trade. He explained that management dropped the ball in communicating to all sales people the current advertised program....He apologized to Ms. ***** and told her the program was still available and if she was still in the market for a new vehicle he would be glad to help her. He gave her his cell phone number and told her to call him directly and he would get her with someone and make sure her experience would be as smooth as possible....

3/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $99.82 for diagnostics on my 2007 Kia Spectra. It did not produce accurate results - check engine light is still on after repair. On August 1, 2014, I brought my 2007 Kia Spectra to Vandevere Kia on West Market Street for repair. My check engine light was on and there was a fuel smell in addition to the vehicle using an extraordinary amount of fuel. I told them all of this. Both my husband and myself, although not experts, knew the issue was caused by a faulty oxygen sensor and we needed to get it replaced. I was immediately charged $99.82 for the diagnostics testing, which indeed confirmed what we already knew. They did not have the part in stock and I was told to come back on Tuesday, August 5th. No problem. I returned to Vandevere Kia on the agreed scheduled date and they promptly replaced my oxygen sensor. I was charged an additional $260.34 for a total of $360.16. After they were finished with my repair, I was told that "by the way" the check engine light was going to remain on in the dashboard, because apparently I also need to fix the lower oxygen sensor, which is an estimated $300 in additional repairs, but "not to worry about it." (Seeing as the vehicle cannot pass eCheck with this issue, I will indeed worry about it). I paid and left, then called back to ask why this lower oxygen sensor issue did not come up during diagnostics. I was given the run around as they continued to use technical language which basically translated to 'the diagnostics didn't pick up the issue, sorry.' So in a nutshell, I drove my Kia to Vandevere with the check engine light on, paid $360.16, and drove off their lot with the check engine light still on. They did repair the issue that was causing the fuel smell and the excessive fuel consumption, so I do not dispute the cost of the repair itself. I do, however, dispute the charge of $99.82 for diagnostics. I strongly feel as though I did not fully benefit from the diagnostic testing and was charged for a service I did not fully receive.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of $99.82 for the diagnostic testing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ************** Contact Phone: 330-******** Contact Email: *******@vandevere.com After speaking with the customer and trying to put myself in there position I can understand why they felt the complete diagnostic test was not done. We could of done a better job communicating also. I informed customer we will be refunding the diag charge.

6/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on VanDevere Kia
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)