BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/1996

Summit Toyota of Akron

Phone: (330) 836-2500Fax: (330) 836-1385View Additional Phone Numbers1535 Vernon Odom Blvd, AkronOH 44320-4027 Send email to Summit Toyota of Akron

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/1996

BBB has determined that Summit Toyota of Akron meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Summit Toyota of Akron's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Summit Toyota of Akron

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
09/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Stop Calling me.
I have requested Summit Toyota to place my number on the do not call list many times over the years.
I still receive calls, even though they have confirmed I am on the do not call list.
I originally asked to be placed on the do not call list sometime in 2010. I continuned to receive calls, eventually I started keeping track of them:
On 6/8/2012 I received a sales call. the representative confirmed in writing that I would be placed on the do not call list.

I received additional calls around 1/21/2013 and 8/27/2014.

Desired Settlement
I want no further calls from Summit Toyota. I would like them to remove my phone number from their system. obviously the 'DO NOT CALL LIST' request is not working.
My name in their system is ******** ******.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****************, Mgr
Contact Phone: 330-********
Contact Email: ********
We apologize for the oversight.

Ms. *********'s number has been removed completely from all 3 of the programs that we use for customer management. Additionally, her file has been flagged as a "Do Not Call" in our system.

We sincerely apologize for our error and do not expect to trouble Ms. ********* again.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

summit toyota is trying to scam me into fixing a loaner car and blaming me for wrecking it 2 wks after the car was returned.
i financed a toytoa scion from summit toyota about a month and a half ago. the bluetooth in the car was not functioning. they insisted on fixing my bluetooth by replacing the radio. which by the way still doesnt work..that isnt my complaint i could car less about my radio. i used their loaner car on 5/30/2015 and it was returned the same day. this morning 6/8/2015 I get a call from an advisor Bob who is claiming i wrecked the loaner car and they need to turn it in to my insurance. I had the car maybe 2 hours tops and did not wreck the car and I also let them know I didnt wreck it I had no knowledge of this I have NEVER been in an accident and i will dispute this. then Bob tells me their attorney will be in contact.Bob continues to tell me yes I wrecked their car and I will pay for it one way or another that it was with me last. why is this dealership contacting me 2 weeks after the fact and not to mention it was inspected. I have also contacted chanel 5 news by email and plan to also go that route. summit toyota is trying to pin this accident on me and make me pay for something that I didnt do or have any knowledge of.whos to say someone else that drove it from the 30th on didnt do this or that someone in the lot maybe even himself didnt pump the car. all I know is that this was out of the clear blue and I 100% did not wreck their loaner vehicle.

Desired Settlement

Business Response
We would like to apologize to Ms. ****** for any inconvenience caused.

We do not hold her responsible for any damage to the van used on 5/30/2015.

We, unfortunately, had a very enthusiastic new employee that mistakenly pursued this with Ms. ******, as she was the last person shown to have used the vehicle. This employee did not do so with management's knowledge or consent. Said employee has been trained to handle this type of situation differently in the future.

We would like to thank Ms. ****** for her patronage and assure her that we have taken steps to prevent this type of incident from happening again.

01/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a 2006 Toyota Highlander form Summit Toyota. The vehicle has seatbelt, body condition and electronic issues.
Vehicle was brought to repair shop. First time I was returned the vehicle, the original problems still existed. Returned vehicle again. Vehicle was there for 41 days. When i went to pick it up there were still seat belt and body problems. Dealer offered another vehicle of less value that needed repairs in exchange rather than refunding purchase. I asked twice for a refund. Said they could not do that. Now it has been 3 weeks since offer of exchange vehicle. I really do not want the vehicle offered. I do not trust them to do further repairs on original vehicle. Really would like a full refund.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of purchase price of vehicle.

Business Response
Mr. ****** was recently in contact with one of our sales managers, ******* *****. Mr. ***** made arrangements for Mr. ******' vehicle to be worked on by another Toyota dealership, at our expense, in order to rectify these issues.

It is our understanding that Mr. ****** is willing to let the other dealership (Cain Toyota) perform the repairs and that his concerns will be resolved when the repairs are completed to his standards.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** ***** did contact me and told me someone from Cain Toyota would be contacting me a week ago. As of today, I have not heard from anyone. Please help.

Final Business Response
Mr. ****** has an appointment scheduled with Cain Toyota today.

We will be in close contact with Cain through the process and hope that the work completed will satisfy his concerns.

12/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

outside company selling dealers cars took a very bad approach dealership claimed they were going to make it right and use bad sales tactics
the dealership had an outside company hosting an event July 21st 2014 from 6-7 I ended up at the dealership till after 1:30am due to people that were hosting the event not giving me my car keys back till I sign for this new a car.I returned to the dealership less than 24 hours later to get my nice car backI was quite upset at the time and told mr. ***** I want my car back explained about the events the night before and how the car cost too much money the condition it was in. mr ***** gave it back told me to come back Thursday he "would make it right" and also stated to me he didn't know why I would get rid of my nice car it was nicer than the one I ended up with which at this point I was under the impression he needed to get the paperwork back from the outside company to reverse the transaction because I've never had to return the car before Thursday came I phoned them got nowhere called a few other times trying to get it resloved thought I was reliable for two cars they finally have me back to the dealership on July 30th Wednesday after which was that a very inconvenient time for me but I want to go and get a dealt with they had all new paperwork drawn up before I made it there and had me deal with *******.******* says "this is how **** wanted it" they paid off my car i wanted to keep so that's theirs and this is the car I I truly believe the dealership had me back More than a week after and scammed to me out of my car at this point I wasn't sure what to say to the dealership they are an authorized Toyota dealership I contacted Toyota by mail got no response waited a few weeks call Toyota to explain the events they had the dealers customer relations guy call me *** ******* and I got nowhere speaking with him all he could say was that they weren't going to have the outside company come back cuz they had a different approach this time and that it probably should have been handled differently than it was not even an apology not that that would have fixed anything in the meantime my car sat on their lot for a few months and didn't make anything right as I was told they would do they had every opportunity to fix it

Desired Settlement
originally all I wanted was my car back at this point I suppose at this point would be just to make it right as I was told it was going to be

Business Response

We have received and read Ms. ******' complaint and are frankly stunned.

Ms. ****** did indeed purchase a 2013 Hyundai Elantra from us on 7/21/14, trading in a VW Jetta at that time.

She visited on the 23rd and told us that she had changed her mind about the sale. Though we were under NO obligation to do so, we returned her trade to her and unwound the original deal.

As you are aware, there is no right of rescission in Ohio regarding motor vehicle transactions that take place at the dealership. We had a perfectly legitimate contract with Ms. ****** that we chose to dissolve, at her request, in an effort to satisfy our custmer. We gave Ms. ****** her VW back and allowed her to return the Elantra without any type of penalty.

Ms. ****** contacted Mr. ***** shortly thereafter and ASKED if she could still get the Elantra. We re-worked the figures for Ms. ****** and LOWERED her monthly payment, in comparison to the deal that she had agreed upon on the 21st. Ms. ****** certainly appeared to be thrilled and wasted no time in agreeing to the re-worked deal on the same vehicle that she had "purchased" the week before. She came drove her VW to our location and picked up the Elantra (for the second time) on the 30th.

I want to be clear. She contacted us and asked if she could still buy the Elantra. We did not pursue her, nor ask her to re-think her decision to walk away from her original deal. We sold her the Elantra (for the second time) because she expressly asked us to do so.

We did not scam Ms. ****** out of her car. We were not in possession of her VW. She drove her Jetta until she returned with it on the 30th and re-took delivery of the Elantra.

What we offered to "fix" were a few minor items which were overlooked upon her first delivery of the Elantra. (Specifically, the vehicle needed a detail and a dash vent trim piece repaired.) Those items were addressed before Ms. ******' return on the 30th, to her satisfaction.

We have no idea what Ms. ****** is asking for, but can state with surety that we are not going to be offering any type of settlement or compensation to her.

06/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Bought a vehicle from them and 3 weeks later something went wrong and they dont want to pay for the repair.
We purchased a vehicle through them a couple of weeks ago. Sat in the office for hours and hours and finally found a vehicle we liked. They never offered us a warranty when purchasing the car. The other day it over heated. I called the sales department to talk to our sales rep. He didnt even talk to me but instead transferred me to the service dept. They told me that we needed to pay for a tow to get the vehicle there. I asked to speak to a supervisor. They transferred me to ****. After a lengthy conversation he said that he would bring a tow out and they would fix the car. The next day (yesterday) they call me and say that they will only cover 50% of the car prices! This is horrible customer service as they sold us a faulty vehicle and dont want to take responsibility for that. There sales staff is rude and wont let you get a word in edge wise. I am requesting that they pay for the total damages since we have not even paid our first car payment yet. They give you the run around but in the end will not do anything to solve the issue.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that they pay the full cost of the fan ($600).

Business Response
The vehicle was sold with a 50/50 power train warranty, in which the dealership covers 50% of the parts and service charges of repairs needed to internally lubricated engine and transmission components. That warranty is included without charge to the customer. The customer signed off on receiving the warranty and it's coverage.

The radiator fan is not an item covered under the warranty.

Though the repair needed was not covered by the free warranty, we did the following for the customer:
- We arranged a tow for the customer.
- We took a vehicle to their home for their use while the repair was being made.
- We covered half of the cost of the repair, as if it were covered under the warranty, even though it was not.

After all of this, the customer claims that we are offering "horrible customer service".

While it is unfortunate that the part failed, we have gone above and beyond our written commitment to the customer. We are unwilling to pay any more toward the cost of the repair.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issue is that when I called and spoke to Mine he said that he would "handle everything." I never got a call back. The service technician then called my husband and said that we owe over $300 for the part. If we did sign a paper stating that, it was never explained to us. It is bad customer service when a company sells you a faulty vehicle and won't cover the cost to fix it only 3 weeks after something happens.

Final Business Response
This appears to be an issue of communication and expectations versus reality.

**** ***** has been a sales manager with this franchise for over 20 years, and has a tremendous number of customers that are loyal to him because he handles his business with honesty and integrity. He understands warranty coverage and does not promise parts or services to customers.

When **** offered to arrange a tow and a FREE vehicle for the customers to use, he did so as a courtesy. No promises were made regarding what, if any, repairs would be necessary.

To reiterate:
Though the repair needed was not covered by the free warranty, we did the following for the customer:
- We arranged a tow for the customer.
- We took a vehicle to their home for their use while the repair was being made.
- We covered half of the cost of the repair, as if it were covered under the warranty, even though it was not.

We have gone over and above to help the customer with this issue. As originally stated, we are not willing to pay any more toward the cost of the repair.

05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Two days after picking up my vehicle from service my paint bubbled and started to peel it's now down to the metal and they claim they are not at fault
In January 2014 I took my vehicle to Summit Toyota for an oil change and an ongoing issue with my RPM's jumping irratically. I was told it was carbon build up and they cleaned the intake. Two days after I noticed my paint had bubbled up and began chipping. I returned the vehicle and they said they don't have anything that would cause that. I was advided by a paint specialist that carb/intake cleaner can eat the paint in a matter of days. The damage is only on the front fender so it couldn't of happend anywhere else since that is the only place I service my vehicle. I took an estimate and a signed letter to *** ******* on April 28th and on April 30th was told they will do nothing to fix the fender and I should service my vehicle elsewhere if I plan on seeking legal action.

Desired Settlement
To pay for the fender to be repaired and painted correctly.

Business Response
Ms.***** is a former employee that was relieved of her employment approximately two years ago.

Since her termination, she has taken a position with a competing dealership, but has repeatedly brought her vehicle to us for service.

Over the course of the last several years, she has subsequently complained, either to the manufacturer, on social media or to the BBB, regarding nearly every visit that she has made to our facility. She has complained about a variety of issues over this period, but refuses to take her vehicle elsewhere for service.

We have gone to every length to please Ms. *****. We even offered to buy her vehicle back from her when this behavior started, only to be rebuffed.

Her behavior has simply been captious.

We have informed Ms. ***** that we are not willing to extend her any goodwill service, nor are we offering any remedy for her complaints, current or future.

We also ask that she no longer service her vehicle, nor conduct any business with our store from this day forward.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have never caused a scene and have given nothing but honest opinions as a consumer to the dealership. I find it absurd that I am being treated as a disgruntled ex employee. I work for Wold Financial Services which is a bank that finances vehicles, so I would disagree with the comment of "works for a competing dealership". I was told by *** **** that when I want a new vehicle he would give me fair market value, never was I offered to actually have it bought back. My complaint is not on my previous issues since that was with "Montrose Toyota" not Summit. My issue that I want resolved it the fact that a chemical was sprayed on my fender that caused the paint to peel. I give honest surveys and feed back and feel that because of that you refuse to take acknowledgement to what happened. I have to reason to be angry because of my position being eliminated, that's why I continued to have all of my service done at the dealership. On my surveys to Toyota Financial I did give a few negative responses but did not give all negative, they were facts. I not only have a Toyota Service plan but I also purchased the platinum card upon purchase that I signed and agreed to have all routine maintenance done there. I don't believe its right that I am asked not to return because I get mediocre service but am still a dedicated customer and have still referred customers to Summit Toyota . When I come it I do not cause a scene or show any hostility so why am I not a welcome back?

Final Business Response
The facts in this case are:
The fender that she is having an issue with is not the original factory bumper.
It is a replacement piece, with aftermarket paintwork.
Ms. *****' vehicle was hand washed when her service was completed, therefore IF her fender had been exposed to any caustic chemicals during service, they would have been cleaned off immediately.
In over 2 years, at an average volume of nearly 60 repair orders completed per day, we have never had a similar issue.
Neither we, nor anyone else can pinpoint the cause of Ms. *****' paint problem.

We are not willing to compensate Ms. ***** for this, nor any future issues.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 01/15/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

BBB records show a license number of nd003351 for this company, issued by Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel H. Pyle (Dealer Principal)Mr. TJ Disanto (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Throse, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Summit Toyota of Akron has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Summit Toyota of Akron

1535 Vernon Odom Blvd

Akron, OH 44320-4027

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1535 Vernon Odom Blvd 

    Akron, OH 44320-4027(330) 836-2500
    (330) 865-4689
    Fax: (330) 836-1385
    Fax: (330) 836-1385

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Summit Toyota of Akron is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 837-2357
  • (330) 865-4689

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.