Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ron Marhofer Nissan

Phone: (330) 923-8000 Fax: (330) 923-8068 View Additional Phone Numbers 247 Howe Avenue, Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44221 http://www.marhofer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Marhofer Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Marhofer Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ron Marhofer Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 08/01/1990 Business started locally: 08/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is ND003645.

Business Management
Mr. Ronald L Marhofer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald L Marhofer, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Ron Marhofer Auto Center, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 247 Howe Avenue

    Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle thinkingI was paying for a vehicle that had NO accidents on its history. Found out it was wrecked a month before I bought it. I purchased a vehicle December 29, 2015 from marhofer given the idea I was financing a 15k vehicle that had NO history of accidents. It was a 2013 Nissan altima with 26k miles. I went to trade in my vehicle in May only to receive the disappointment that my vehicle was wrecked 2 months before I bought it. Costins me $4,000 in negative equity. Carfax report I received was clean, but I received a later report it had left side damage that was claimed. Carsense in ************* showed me the documents that stated it was claimed October 30, 2015. I was paying $256 a month for a vehicle financed through Ally, that indeed ended up having an accident on its record.

Desired Settlement: I'm not asking for the full purchase financed of the vehicle but $3,000 to put down on the car to get it to its actual value with the incident on this record. This claim should have been brought to my attention when I was purchasing, for I only purchase vehicles with NO history of incidents.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/06/13) */ Ms. V******* did in fact purchase a used 2013 Nissan Altima from our dealership on December 29, 2015. At that time we provided her with a current copy of the CarFax report, which indicated that the vehicle had no history of accidents. Enclosed is a current CarFax report on the same vehicle that still doesn't show any history of accidents. CarFax is the industry's most respected resource for vehicle history. We had no knowledge of any previous damage and gave no assurances to that. We tried to contact the customer to determine what proof the dealer provided that the vehicle should have been devalued and she did not return our calls.

4/25/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from Marhofer Nissan dealership then discovered that it has accident which was not listed in the car ad. Hello, I bought a used 2009 Toyota Camry at Ron Marhofer Nissan dealership located at Howe Ave. Akron, Ohio on 25/2/2012. The car was advertised on the dealership website as a clean title and accident free car. As I talked to the selle, he explained that the car is in excellent condition and accident free. At that time, I lived in *************************. I travelled to Akron, Ohio and bought the car based on Marhofer Nissan Dealership. Last month, I paid off the loan and received the title. I offered the car for sale at CARMAX dealership located at ************, **************. The Auto check report and mechanic inspection showed that the car had a severe accident which resulted in replacement of the passenger rear side of the car. The Auto check report states in the first page that number of accident reported is "1". The accident was reported to Auto Check agency on 8/25/2009. This is approximate three years before I buy the car. I contacted last week Ron Marhofer Nissan dealership and explained the situation. I left my contact and a brief message first. Later in the same day, I got a call from sales representative. I explained the situation and I told him my concerns that I never bought a car that has an accident on it before. If I knew that this car was not accident free, I would not buy it. I believed that the car was accident free since I trusted the information on the dealership website. Also, I explained that I had looked at a car report which showed that the car had no accident. My concern, to be specific, that there was a mistake in the dealership website and the sales man, at the time of purchase, showed me the wrong car report. While me waiting on the phone, the representative checked the car report and found out that my concerns were true. The car had an accident but he believes that I was given the correct information during the purchase. He also mentioned that may be the accident was reported after the purchase. My response was that the accident happened three years before I buy the car. I think it was there in the report during the time of purchase. Then I asked him to check the car advertisement from the dealership website record which will show that the car was accident free. He mentioned that this information cannot be retrieved from the system and there is nothing to be done from their side. I bought the car at a price which reflects an accident free used car ($13,240). The car was priced based on the fact that the car had no accident. I bought the car based on false information. The dealership, I think, was not accurate about the information that was provided to me during the purchase process. I am asking for your kind help to investigate the complaint and fix the problem. I will be happy to send any necessary documents when required. Best Regards, Khaled M******

Desired Settlement: I bought this car based on misleading information that was listed in the dealership website about the car and also I was not informed from the sales man at the time of purchase about the real condition of the car. As a result, I drove that car for four years assuming it is completely safe and accident free car. Therefore, I am asking the dealership to refund me the money of that I paid for the car; purchase price $13240; ~1000 total expenses of title, sales tax, and registration; $ 240 of the car shipment from Akron Ohio to **************; $1500 for the loan interest; plus interested. I estimated the total amount to be $~18,525. The dealership will be responsible for shipping the car back to the dealership location at Akron Ohio

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/04/13) */ Dr. M****** did in fact purchase a used 2009 Toyota Camry from our Nissan dealership on February 25, 2012. He alleges: "The car was advertised on the dealership website as a clean title and an accident free car." Attached is a copy of the description that appeared on Autotrader.com. This description was downloaded to Autotrader.com, from our website. As you can see there was no statement indicating the car had a "clean title" and was "accident free." Also, attached is a copy of the Carfax report, for the vehicle in question, which does indicate an accident was reported on August 25, 2009. It appears there was damage to the right rear. Conclusion: There is no evidence to substantiate Dr. M******'s assertions that we represented the vehicle to be "accident free." Also, the vehicle was purchased over four years ago and whatever damage that existed had no negative effect on the operation or value of the vehicle. We would be willing to repurchase the vehicle from Dr. M****** at the current "fair market value" less required reconditioning. We will not deduct for the collision damage that existed prior to his purchase.

2/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/27/14 my radiator and engine coolant fan were destroyed by RM Nissan. I took my 04 Murano there under the direction of **************, who completed repairs to my suv on 12/19/14 after an auto accident. ************** replace my front bumper, air bags, seat belts, added anti freeze to radiator, quart of oil and other misc front end work. Mr. ********, owner of ******, told me the Nissan Dealer must flash my computer to remove the air bag light on my dash, which is the reason I made the appointment. ******* ****** checked my Murano in and told me the tech that would be working on my suv was at lunch at would be back @ 1 pm, my appointment was 12:30, my receipt says I arrived at 12:21. **** would have a diagnoses and call me by 2 pm. I left. Before 1 pm **** called saying "Who did this work on your car?" I told him and he became silent then said, "Well your radiator is bent and the coolant fan for your engine is shattered and I have a quote to fix it for @ $2900."In a state of shock I immediately called Mr. ********, who just so happened to be in the ****** **** area, and he came to RMN completely floored that this damage was present. Mr. ******** has photos of my suv before and after the bumper was replaced and when I took it back to his shop, all the workers there who had assisted with the repairs confirmed that was not the way my Murano left ****** 1 week prior. My salvage title inspection is 1/7/15 with the State Highway Patrol. I was charged $117.38 to damage my car!The written quote I received from **** for $2971.42, and has absolutely nothing on it regarding the initial reason for my visit to RMN, which is stated on the front page of the quote, my air bags. However the quote lists replacing things that were not damaged upon arriving there. Mr. ********, his entire shop, myself and my daughter believe ******* ****** and auto technician damaged my vehicle. **** also told me I could get the check from my insurance company re issued for payment. Account_Number: ****** INVOICE#

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want a refund, damages replaced at price of quoted and work done at **************. I want other people, women especially to be able to handle their auto affairs personally without being taken advantage of by dishonest employees. I want this kind of thing to never happen again to me or anyone else!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/12) */ In Ms. ******'s complaint she alleges that her radiator and engine coolant fan were destroyed by *** Marhofer Nissan. That is completely untrue. I personally investigated this matter and am providing the evidence and conclusion to my investigation as follows. Ms. ****** brought her 2004 Nissan Murano to our dealership on December 19, 2014 stating that her vehicle had been in a collision and the repairing facility had told her to bring it to us to determine the cause of the airbag light and check engine light being on. Upon inspection of her vehicle it was determined that the code causing the airbag to be on was the result of a short in the sensor or wiring harness in the steering column and that the steering wheel would need to be removed to confirm the cause. Next our technician determined that the check engine light was on as a result of a problem with the oxygen sensor. He opened the hood of the vehicle to inspect the oxygen sensor and found it was smashed as a result of the collision. He further observed that the engine fan was damaged as was the fan shroud, radiator, air conditioning condenser and core support. At that time he explained his findings to our service advisor who in turn called Ms. ******. Ms. ****** then claimed that we must have done the damage and took her vehicle and left. After receiving the BBB complaint I called the company, **************, that Ms. ****** indicated had made the collision repairs, to determine what they had done. I spoke with Mr. ********, the owner. He stated that he had replaced the front bumper cover and that the vehicle had been totaled and he had it in his possession. I asked if I could come to his shop and observe the damage. He agreed and I went to his shop with our collision manager. We observed all of the damaged parts that our technician had observed when the vehicle was in our service department. It was obvious to us that this damage was consistent with the front end collision that Mr. ******** had described. We took pictures, enclosed, that clearly show where the core support was torn and rusted confirming that it was damaged quite some time ago and clearly had been the result of a severe front impact and not anything that our dealership had caused. In conclusion, it appears this vehicle had severe frontal collision damage and was totaled by the insurance company. It is our understanding that Ms. ****** settled with the insurance company and kept the vehicle. She had Mr. ******** make some of the repairs but not all that were a result of the original collision. The damage remaining on the vehicle was a result of the original collision. *** ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/22) */ On 1/22/15, BBB received the following from the consumer via fax: Attention: Mr. ***** ******, BBB Case Mgr RE: ******* ****** Complaint #******** Dear Mr, ****** In response to the reply given by *** Marhoffer regarding Complaint #********, I would like to point out a few descrepancies. First, *** stated that I came into his dealership on December 19, 2014. The receipt I forwarded to you on 1/15/15 is clearly dated December 27, 2014, which is the correct date for my visit there. Secondly, his goes into great detail about the diagnoses of the air bags on my car at his establishment, stating that the problem could be a short in a sensor or wiring harness, and the steering wheel would need to be removed to conclude. That vital piece of information was not recorded anywhere on the original diagonses, and this is the first time I have heard this. *** ********* also states in his reply that his technician opened my hood and was able to see physical damage to the radiator, fan shroud, core support, and AC condenser. This technician also showed this visual damage with a pen light to myself and ****** ******** who was present, denying the damage was there prior to my visit to the dealership. On 1/20115, I spoke with *** ******, Liberty Mutual Collosion Adjuster, about my appraisal and he remembered the vehicle and ****** ********. He said there was NO visual damage to the radiator or engine coolant fans on 11/19/14 when the initial estimate occured after the 11/17/14 auto accident, just as ****** ******** and I stated inside the garage of the Ron Marhoffer dealership. To further substantiate, Mr, ****** arranged the complete copy of the ******* ****** Auto Appraisal Report to be available for your review, Mr. ****** also told me that **************'s owner ****** ******** was instructed to contact his office if he discovers further damage than what was noted on 11/19/14 to make adjustment to the appraisal and there were no further findings reported. This comment is noted on the bottom of the first page of the ******* ****** Appraisal. After receiving the BBB complaint, Ron Marhoffer contacted the auto repair shop instead of me, the vehicle owner and originator of the complaint. I represent myself. Without my knowledge or permission, even though he is aware of my suspicions of his companies wrong doings, Ron Marhoffer and his collision manager travels to ************** to observer my car, again without my consent. Although my car was on the property of *** *. ******* ** *****, ****, *****, at ************** on 1/7/15, it was there to travel to Seville, Ohio, 1/8/15 to be inspected by the State Highway Patrol for a Salvage Title, for which ****** volunteered to take the car for me. When I dropped the car off, the radiator held anti freeze and it was not over heating. After Ron Marhoffer's unlawful evaluation without the title holder, my car was held hostage by ************** to fix the engine coolant fan, which I did not request. After I satisfied ****** with $200 on 1/12/15 he released my car, car title, salvage report reciept, however, on my trip home the car over heated and was towed the next day to Radiator **** because the radiator would not hold any anti freeze. All of this under handedness has cost this female consumer an additional $800 to repair the engine cool fan, radiator, and tow charges, for an accident that happened two months ago, and was repaired by 12/19/15. ************** referred me to *** Marhoffer Nissan on **** Rd. in ******** *****. Before ***'s visit to ************** to review my car, ****** told me in the presence of my 20 yr old daughter, who was also at the dealership on12/27/15 that he would stand by what he believed as the truth, the technician at the dealership damaged my fan and radiator. Since Ron Marhoffer's visit, ************** will no longer blame the Nissan dealership even though ****** agreed to the damages with *** ******, ******* ****** Adjuster, that DO NOT specify damages to the engine fan nor radiator. In conclusion, and in review of all included documents, Ron Marhoffer's technicians attempted to get me to appeal to my insurance company for more money to fix things that they broke while my car was in their care. I have still not heard from Mr. *** ********* personally, but he personally took time out of his busy day to visit a repair shop behind my back. If you have any questions regarding the appraisal, please contact Mr. ****** at ***-.***-****. Sincerely, ******* * ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/02) */ There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that the damage to the core support, air conditioning condenser and fan shroud were damaged prior to her visit on December 27, 2015. I also believe the damage to these parts is consistent with the collision that resulted in her vehicle being salvaged. She alleges that we damaged her vehicle, and in fact committed a crime, without any evidence whatsoever to support her claim. She is making false accusations that are potentially libel and request that she cease or we may be forced to take legal action against her.

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was provided a false credit score by dealer quoted to be nearly 100 points lower than my actual score provided to me by the same company. While shopping for a car at the dealer today I was quoted a price prior to running my credit. The dealer then ran my credit and came back with a paper stating my credit score provided by Transunion. They then attempted to pressure me into leasing a car for the same price they quoted me as buying one at. I left the store with the paper the dealer handed me that stated the credit score they claimed I had. I went home and received a copy of my credit report directly from transunion myself and checked my own credit score. I was shocked to learn that my credit score was 100 points higher than what the dealer quoted me at. They tried pressuring me into a lease at a very high interest rate under the false pretenses that my credit score was much lower than what it actually is and provided me in writing the false credit score. This practice is not only unethical I am almost certain it is illegal as well. Since I have the paperwork they handed me quoting my credit score and the printed copy of my actual credit report provided by the same company they quoted I will be reporting the practice to transunion as well as looking into the legality of the issue.

Desired Settlement: none

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/16) */ Mr. ******** was provided an accurate copy of his credit score which we obtained from Transunion. Upon receiving Mr. ********'s complaint we contacted TransUnion for an explanation of why their consumer website was reporting a different score. They explained that "Vantage Score" by TransUnion is a credit score credit that was developed by the three major credit reporting companies to provide more consistency and predictability in credit scoring, and to score a larger population of consumers than was previously available. This allows "thin file" consumers - those with little or no credit history to receive a score explained that their." Mr. ********' scores by all three major reporting bureaus had an approximately 100 point variance. These scores while different numerically, do not fundamentally change credit worthiness. In summary, Mr. ******** was provided with an accurate copy of his credit score that we received from TransUnion. TransUnion's consumer website uses a blended score with two other agencies scores combined. There was no attempt to deceive Mr. ******** and his combined credit score does not improve his credit worthiness. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not look up my Vantage score. The scored I received was a FICO score from Transunion via MyFICO and paid $19.95 to receive. The FICO score was 100 points higher than the FICO score provided to me by the dealership. This is fraud. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/19) */ Regarding Mr. *******'s assertions that we provided him with false information regarding his Trans Union credit score, we would be happy to review with him a complete four page Trans Union Credit Report substantiating the score that he was given at our dealership. He can call me personally, ************ at ************ to arrange a review his entire report. Mr. ******** is committing libel and defaming our dealership by accusing our dealership of fraud. We ask that he discontinue his comments and remove any postings he has made accusing us of fraud or we may be forced to take legal action.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales manager did not honor agreement of lease as stated and was treated poorly. Called owner *****, and was hung up on during phone conversation. On April 17 called dealer for quote on vehicle I was interested in but from the inventory I knew they did not have the car on the lot. Was given quote of $339 a month 0 money down, 39 months, 12K miles for Altima Black Coupe equipped with spoiler, aluminum kicks plates, splash guards and tinted windows, premium and convenience package, trunk and seat mats. I was told the dealer had the car on their lot they would equip it as I asked and to come in the next day. I asked at least three times for them to confirm inventory because according to website they did not have the car and sales manager ***** confirmed. When driving to the dealer I received message that dealer had made a mistake and had sold the car but would honor the price but I would need to put a deposit down which I refused. I had already found the car at another dealer and knew it was best to deal with the dealer that actually had the car on the lot directly, but this dealer said they would get me the car equipped as requested so I trusted they would. When I realized the tint I had wanted was not Ohio legal the dealer could not include that in the car so when I pointed that out the sales manager ***** got angry and made me uncomfortable and asked wasn't I already happy with the deal, were I replied that no if they were not able to include what we discussed at the cost agreed to and something was being removed such as the tint then the cost of said tint needed to be removed from the price of the car. He got angrier and asked the finance person to bring down the cost and stomped out of the room. We were there until nearly 10pm that night and remember this car was supposed to be on the lot originally. When it came time to deliver the vehicle the "deal" then suddenly changed the sales manager refused to add the splash guards, and during our talk he was very condescending and rude. I walked away since original deal was not honored. The dealer then texted me in the evening (Friday 25th) and said that they would honor the deal then but I was out of town for the weekend on a trip and was heading back to Philly that Sunday so it was a missed opportunity. Upon coming back into to town this week after finalizing my move back to Ohio, I called the dealership and gave them a chance to honor the original deal and was told because it was a different month that now in order to get the same monthly payment I would have to put $400 down compared to 0 money down prior. This came from the owners son ***** Marhofer. Because I was interested in the car and wanted to understand where this increase of $400 was coming from I called ***** and asked him to explain the increase in the cost and to make sure that he was aware of what I had experienced and how I was treated. He told me that the cost of the car depreciated by 1% (which I fully understood) but with an MSRP of less than $30K that would only account for $300 and then when I explained that in the new month of May there was a rebate of $950 compared to April's rebate of $700 that would be $250 in my favor equaling only approximately a $50 increase not $400. When broached with this fact he had nothing to say and it was clear that he was being deceptive and his calculations were incorrect because he refused to explain where the increase came from. He simply expected me to pay more for the vehicle and was trying to blame it on Nissan as he had no control of the situation. This is clearly not how Nissan operates nor is it how they want their repeat loyal customers treated. This is not only unprofessional but unethical business practices and he had nothing to say for himself, and when pressed he hung up on me. I have seen and been through some deplorable situations buying cars but I have never been treated so poorly and unprofessionally in my life as today. I am beside myself that a Dealership that claims to have integrity and prides themselves on customer satisfaction would treat a customer with such disrespect.

Desired Settlement: Ron firstly honor your word, there was no customer service in any way, shape or form happening today. As far as integrity, I am not sure your son ***** knows the definition. Please do yourself a favor and put your son in his place especially when it comes to how your company treats a woman. I had high hopes and gave your dealership an opportunity to do the right thing by me and all I was asking was for an explanation of where an increase in a cost was coming from. That is any customers right when making a car purchase. If you are going to get emotional and unprofessional because you do not like being questioned about a deal find a new business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/16) */ Ms. **** called our dealership about a specific Altima Coupe and inquired as to whether or not it was in stock. Our internet person checked our computerized inventory and indicated to Ms. **** that the vehicle was in stock. He erred in not physically checking the storage lot to ensure the vehicle was still in our inventory. Ms. **** made an appointment to come to the dealership that evening. Our sales consultant went to locate the Altima and bring it to the showroom and discovered the vehicle had been previously sold. He then proceeded to attempt to locate another Altima, identical to the one she wanted and ultimately found one at a dealership in Columbus. When Ms. **** arrived at the dealership he explained the situation and informed her that he had located another vehicle for her. The sales consultant and the sales manager went over the vehicle equipment, option by option. Ms. **** was happy that the Altima we located and was happy that it had a few more options than the one previously sold. She signed the attached "Retail Lease Order" and agreed to the terms. After we obtained the vehicle from Columbus we called Ms. **** to set up the delivery. When she arrived, she wanted us to include splash guards in the deal. The additional cost was approximately $250.00. We explained that we had an agreed price and we were not willing to discount the vehicle further. She became extremely rude she decided not to take delivery. Our sales manager, *****, politely told her if she changed her mind to let us know. Two days later we followed up with her and left her messages on April 25th and April 26th advising her that we were willing to include the splash guards. We decided to do this in an attempt to achieve our month end Nissan sales objective. Ms. **** did not respond until 13 days later, on May 7th. We recalculated the lease payment and determined that the payment had increased as a result of the residual value going down and we no longer had the month end incentive. When we explained this to Ms. ****, she again became very rude and condescending. In closing, Ms. **** agreed to lease the Altima, as evidence by her signature on the attached "Retail Lease Order". She attempted to continue to negotiate, after agreeing to the terms, and ultimately refused to honor the contract. The contract was ultimately deemed invalid when she refused to take delivery. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/05/20) */ Document is the preliminary lease agreement for price agreed in order for dealer to get the car from dealer in Athens, Ohio because the car was not on their lot as promised. This price was NOT honored by dealer. Car was never delivered or equipped as discussed or promised. Preliminary lease agreement was signed per document on 4/21 car was to be picked up on 4/24 which was never delivered and equipped per dealer so dealer broke agreement. When I called dealer to give them another chance to honor this agreement the week of 5/4, Scott Marhofer said he would not honor lease per this document and I would have to pay $400 more for the car and when I asked him to explain why he proceeded to lie to me by saying that residual value of car decreased when that cost did not add up to $400 because there was a dealer rebate of $950 I question him where the $400 increase in cost came from and he told me this was new deal he was willing to offer me and proceeded to hang up on me while I was speaking to him. This paperwork only proves that the dealer agreed to price and then changed the deal later. The dealer is completely unethical and dishonest. Buyer beware, they lie and if you are too smart and question them they will hang up on you. I have since contacted Nissan corporate and alerted them to the unethical practices at this dealership and will continue to warn everyone to avoid dealer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/05/28) */ Mrs. **** was quoted 339.00 for a 39 month lease with an allowance 12,000 miles per year for a Black 2013 Altima, MSRP of $30,050. This quote was given over the phone. Unfortunately the vehicle was previously sold. We then obtained another Black Altima, MSRP $30,695, which was an increase of $645.00. It had all the equipment that the original vehicle had, plus external ground lighting at $265.00 and fog lights at $380.00. Ms. **** agreed to the lease of payment of $328.79, with $305.00 due at delivery, approximately $10.00 less than the original vehicle quoted. The deal broke down when there was a disagreement as to who was paying for the "splash guards". In the interest of resolving this matter we are willing honor the original agreement plus include the splash guards, which are already on the vehicle. In closing, we are providing Mrs. **** with an Altima with $645.00 more equipment than the original Altima at $10.21 less per month than what she was originally quoted. We feel that we have made every effort to satisfy this customer. We will honor this pricing until June 15, 2014. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again these are not the facts. There was no money due at delivery please advise where on the lease document I agreed to $305 at signing! The lease was ALWAYS for 0 money down sign and drive. Review the original lease document. With the price of the monthly lease at $328.79 per month I had then intended to possibly put as much as $445 down additionally that I would have left from my insurance check after fixing my old lease vehicle I had intended to return. That would have further lowered the lease payment to approximately $317 a month. I even have a document that says after I gave the dealership my insurance check as they were intending to fix my old lease car that they owed me the $445 back. This was all agreed to and I have the documents to prove it! The car that was found that was more equipped than what I had asked for had fog lights and the ground lighting that I did not want and was it was agreed I would not have to pay extra for it for because Ron Marhofer Nissan said they would match the price they gave me for the car they said they had on the lot originally that when I showed up at the dealership to purchase was not there. However the car was not equipped with splashgaurds and that was equipment that I had originally asked for along with kick plates, spoiler the convenience a d premium package. Again the quote of the car may have been originally quoted over the phone but then the preliminary lease document was written which Ron Marhofer provided. I was told they would match the quote originally given but they would have to find the car, the dealership chose to find this car that was more equipped than I wanted. Therefore that is all irrelevant and has nothing to do with what transpired. The dealership is still lying about the facts the original deal on this vehicle first no agreeing to the original lease deal, then lying and saying the residual valuable of the car went down and I would have to pay more for it even thought when I calculated the incentive rebates Nissan was offering this was clearly not true, and now they have the nerve to say I was originally putting money down on the lease when the lease was always quoted for 0 down. They can't even own up to their mistakes cannot apologise for the way I was treated. It is clearly not acceptable for an owner of the dealership to hang up on a customer when they call you to follow-up on the cost of a vehicle and clearly I was being lied to. I see no mention of any of that. No effort was ever made to contact me directly on your own after this incident. This shows me you don't value you customers, you don't care and you think you can get away with anything. From your response you clearly don't deserve my business and the fact that you still continue to lie about the actual lease deal is completely unethical, unprofessional and disgusting. Keep doing business like this and you won't have any customers left.

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership misrepresented vehicle being sold. I was sold a vehicle that I was told had been in zero accidents. I have since discovered a major accident took place, damaging the structure of the door and causing interior rusting. This is the most serious complaint among a list of others with this dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the damages to be paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ Mrs.***** purchased a 2010 Nissan Altima from our dealership on April 13, 2013 of this year. Prior to her purchase we investigated the CARFAX report to determine if the vehicle was involved in any prior accident. The CARFAX reported no accidents. (See copy of CARFAX enclosed) We explained at time of purchase the results of the CARFAX report. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I already have a copy of the CarFax report so this is not really a response to my complaint. There are many ways to get around reporting to CarFax. My complaint is not with CarFax, but with the dealership. I have had half a dozen people who work with cars look at the car and every one of them was easily able to spot the damage without me telling them where it was. Therefor, it is hard to imagine a car dealership being unable to spot this massive damage to the car. Ron Marhofer Nissan knew about this damage (whether they were responsible for it or not, I cannot prove) and failed to disclose it to me. Again, this is the most serious complaint in a long list of problems with a disreputable dealership. After speaking with Nissan of North America, it was determined that the dealership should be ultimately responsible for this damage. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/16) */ Please find attached our copy of the Certified Pre-owned Inspection Checklist for Ms.*****'s Altima. This inspection was made on February 8, 2013. This inspection indicated no indications of damage or repairs to the body or frame. Also, attached is a copy of the Retail Buyers order disclaiming any implied warranties. The Carfax report, which was previously provided, does not indicate a record of collision damage. Also, the customer has been possession of the Altima since April 13, 2013. We feel we have no liability in this matter based on the foregoing.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ron Marhofer Nissan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)