BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/1988

Ron Marhofer Auto Mall, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (330) 923-5800Fax: (330) 928-7433View Additional Phone Numbers1260 Main St, Cuyahoga FallsOH 44221-4923 Send email to Ron Marhofer Auto Mall, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/1988

BBB has determined that Ron Marhofer Auto Mall, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ron Marhofer Auto Mall, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ron Marhofer Auto Mall, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
04/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought 09 Dodge Journey tire pressure sensors were not replaced before sale. Was told that it would be ok and would not repair.

I bought my vehicle from them two days ago. I asked numerous times about the sensor light and sensors for the tires. They replaced the tires with regular tires instead of replacing sensor valve and correct tires. I also had heard a problem with the engine or transmission and asked them for a full diagnosis on the vehicle of what was wrong. They told me it was a roll stop and it would be ok. Not knowing what a roll stop i asked him to explain and he said it was a engine mount. I spoke to dodge in ravenna and was told it sounds like something with the transmission. I was not advised of these before buying my vehicle "as is" I called numerous tire shops and was told if it is after 07 the sensors are supposed to be replaced due to a safety law that was made due to tire pressures causing accidents. purchase date 4/15/2013 problem date 4/15/2013-current Sales rep ******* Manager spoken to **** Payment method CASH purchase price 11,332

Desired Settlement
I would like them to fix the tire pressure Sensors on the vehicle. I have children and its important that my vehicle is safe. I would also like them to show me on the contract where it says transmission problems.

Business' Initial Response
Guest purchased vehicle 4.15.2013. The vehicle was purchased "as is". Prior to purchase, guest took vehicle to a mechanic of her choice for an inspection afterwhich she chose to move forward with the purchase despite the light and noise concern. The guest called in 4.17.2013 dissatisfied with the tire light being on. We offered to buy the vehicle back from her and refund the full purchase price extending the offer to do such for 5 days after purchase. Guest brought vehicle back 4.18.2013 for return and full refund. A check was issued and brought to guest while they waited at dealership.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/15/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
11/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not disclose autotrader price in purchase offer for our HHR. NADA book for the car is 3k offer was low and I believe fraudulent since no AT quote
We took our HHR in for an inspection based on an Autotrader online offer for Marhofer to purchase the vehicle. Upon inspection the salesman claimed that Autotrader came back with an $1100 offer. We never received the offer from Autotrader. We contacted Autotrader and have not received a response. We believe that Autotrader was never contacted by the salesman, ****, and that the offer was made in a fraudulent manner. Book value for the vehicle in the condition it was in nearly $3000.
We also contacted Marhofer, and have not received a response from anyone about our issues.

Desired Settlement
We seek an additional $1500, to make up for the actual book value of the vehicle.

Business Response
When Mrs. **** submitted the offer to Autotrader from home, the Autotrader system did not give her an offer due to the condition of the vehicle (many body issues, check engine light, exhaust leaks etc.). The Autotrader website instructed Mrs. **** to go to a dealer where the vehicle could be inspected and resubmitted to receive an offer. In this case the information was resubmitted at our dealership and the offer from Autotrader was $1149, as indicated on the attached Autotrader dashboard. Obviously the offer made to Mrs. **** was accepted. She clearly had the right not to accept the offer. In closing, there was never an attempt to deceive Mrs. **** as she alleges. Her vehicle had substantial body damage and mechanical problems and that was the reason for the lower value.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This just confirms their deceptive practices, anyone can falsify this form, it still does not explain why Autotrader did not email me the offer as their website says and the salesman **** also said. NADA Book again for the condition was $3000.



Final Business Response
Please see the attached email and attachments from our Autotrader Representative. There was no fraud this is the quote from Autotrader.

01/21/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 04/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

BBB records show a license number of ND001482 / LD002948 for this company, issued by Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1987, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald L Marhofer (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Marhofer Auto Family, Ron Marhofer Collision Center, Ron Marhofer Lincoln Mercury, Ron Marhofer Mitsubishi, Ron Marhofer Autoplex

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ron Marhofer Auto Mall, Inc.

1260 Main St

Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44221-4923

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1260 Main St 

    Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44221-4923

  • 1350 Main Street 

    Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44221(330) 923-5262
    (330) 940-4010

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ron Marhofer Auto Mall, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 923-5168
  • (330) 644-3500
  • (330) 923-5908
  • (330) 929-7000
  • (866) 583-7253
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.