BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1987

Park Honda

Phone: (330) 644-3322Fax: (330) 644-7865View Additional Phone Numbers951 Interstate Parkway, AkronOH 44312 Send email to Park Honda



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1987

BBB has determined that Park Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Park Honda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Park Honda

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Park Honda failed to disclose the daily interest rate and what that would cost between taking delivery of the car and paying off the loan.
Here is the summary of the complaint filed against *********.

********* consumer charged me excessively for daily interest and has yet to release my vehicle title despite being paid in full.
I purchased a vehicle from Park Honda, in ********** with the understanding that I would only sign for financing instead of having them wait a week for cash funding if there was no penalty for early payment. I disclosed that I would have funding within the week. After taking delivery I requested an account number and mailing address so I could pay off the car and have title sent to me. I did not receive any account information until April 22nd, a full two weeks after delivery. I attempted to contact ********* to arrange for payoff and that is when I was informed that I would have to pay a daily interest rate of $10.90 from the delivery date. I stated that I was willing to pay a week's interest and sent them enough in a certified check next day to cover the balance and five days of interest. They still showed a payoff amount of $110.36. This too I have paid but demand that it be refunded along with the express shipment of my title. The account in dispute is *******.

In addition to costing me excessive interest, they also attempted to push me into a service contract despite me purchasing a certified used vehicle. The finance representative even went as far as trying to say it was required by the finance company. He was quite upset at my refusal.

Desired Settlement
A full refund in cash/check of the excessive interest paid due to miss-information and delays by this party.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,
Customer did purchase a car from Park Auto Group. He also wanted to take the car with him that day although he would not have the proper funds for a week. We explained to him that we could not release the auto to him without proper funding and offered him an alternative by financing the auto that day, since he wanted the car sooner than later. We explained that there is no early payoff penalty and that he would have to pay the interest for however many days he used the loan. He agreed to the terms and signed the paperwork and as it is on all the contracts full disclosure was done. We do not feel that we misled or failed to explain anything to customer, having said that, we will be glad to pay the $110.36 of finance charges to said customer in an effort to maintain good customer relations. Upon verification by customer that these terms are acceptable, we will gladly release a check to him for stated amount.

Thank you,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I understand Park's desire to close this out. I accept their terms an expect the refund shortly.

08/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tried to slip in over $400 in repairs, uncertain that oil change was even completed.
I told the man at the service desk that I was there for an oil change. He read the service code on my car, and then asked me to sign a form confirming the oil change. I looked at the form to find over 400 dollars worth of maintenance that I did not ask for. I explained to him again that I only wanted the oil change, and he removed the maintenance. I waited for over an hour until they were done. Upon returning home, my service engine lights were still on. I called them back, and after 10 minutes was finally able to talk to someone at the service department. I explained that my service light was still on and he said the person who did the work must have "forgot". So he googled how to reset error codes and walked me through it over the phone.
When I was due for another oil change, I took it to another dealership that said whoever did the last oil change couldn't get the cap back on so they just glued or soldered it back on.
They emailed me a survey about their business in which i told them everything I am writing here now. I never heard from them.
They continued to email me soliciting emails for their business, and I unsubscribed multiple times, yet continued to receive the emails. I reached out to them on their Facebook page telling them to remove me. They claimed that they did. Today, I received yet another soliciting e-mail from them.
That e-mail has led me here.

Date of transaction: November ****, 2014
Car make and model: 2012 Honda Cr-Z


Desired Settlement
N/A

Business Response
Reviewed records on last service appointment. Showed
only only an oil change and inspection performed.
No notes on any problems with oil cap. To resolve
this complaint, removed customer from all email and phone lists. Did not remove customer from service
history records in the event they are ever needed.

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 10/01/1957New Owner Date: 10/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

BBB records show a license number of ND003751 for this company, issued by Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation (LLC)

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Greenbaum (CFO)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Flory (Manager)Ms. Betty Lawson (Office Manager)Mr. O. Glenn Mears (Vice-President)Mr. John E. Mears (Secretary/Treasurer)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

This company offers sales, parts and service for new Hondas and all makes and models of pre-owned vehicles.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Park Honda

951 Interstate Parkway

Akron, OH 44312

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 951 Interstate Parkway 

    Akron, OH 44312(800) 686-3353
    (330) 644-3322
    (888) 787-7828
    Fax: (330) 644-7865
    Fax: (330) 644-7865
    Fax: (330) 644-7865

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Park Honda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 686-3353
  • (888) 787-7828
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.