Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Medina Auto Mall

Phone: (330) 723-3291 3205 Medina Road, Medina, OH 44256 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Medina Auto Mall meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Medina Auto Mall
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2007 Business started: 08/23/2007 Business started locally: 08/23/2007 Business incorporated 06/29/2007 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is ND003415.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Lou Kaltenstein, General Manager Mr. Gary Panteck, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lou Kaltenstein, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Sales, leasing, service and collision repair of new and used vehicles

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Medina Auto Mall has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3205 Medina Road

    Medina, OH 44256 (330) 723-3291


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraudulent sale Dealer didn't disclose Carfax May 5, 2016 Medina Auto Mall 3205 Medina Road Medina, Ohio 44256 This letter is to complain about the unsatisfactory service which I received lately. In October 2015 I had went to the Medina Auto Mall to look for a car because a good friend recommended this dealer to me and also recommended I see the sales Manager Doug M********. I traded in a Honda Civic 2003 for a GMC Terrain 2013 and I was given $2000.00 for the trade. After a few months of driving the Terrain I wanted to exchange the Terrain for one that had AWD because I knew it was a better feature to have in a place where it snows more than half of the year. I contacted Mr. M******** and told him my concern and he told me to stop by the dealer to see what they could do. After a few days I go online and I chat with someone from the same dealer and I tell him how I would like to exchange my Terrain for one that has AWD and he also tells me to stop by the dealer. What I found strange was that after a spoke with Mr. M******** or chatted on line with someone from the dealer I never heard back from any of them neither through email or phone. I thought they were not interested in my business so I went elsewhere to try to exchange my Terrain. I went to another dealer and like expected I was bombarded with emails and phone calls from the other dealers trying to get my business. I went to the other dealer to try to exchange my Terrain and to my disappointment the dealer said they could not offer me what I wanted because the Terrain had been in an accident according to Carfax and the value of the Terrain went down. Needless to say I am quite frustrated because Medina Auto Mall where I bought the Terrain never gave me a Carfax for the Terrain nor did they ever disclose to me that the Terrain had been in a previous accident. Had I known this before, I would have NEVER bought the Terrain. I immediately called Mr. M******** to ask him why this information was never given to us or a Carfax was never shown to us and he stated "that information was on the internet". I responded to him " I never looked on the internet because a good friend recommended us to come to you and I had all faith that the recommendation was a good one". When I went to the Medina Auto Mall Mr. M******** tried exchanging my Terrain for a lease which is not what I wanted to do. He treated me with disrespect as if I didn't know what was best for me and as if I didn't know the game he was playing. I then contacted the General Manager Mr. Lou K********* which then passed me along to another salesman that knew nothing about my situation with Mr. M********. When I speak with the new salesman he tells me that he will give me a deal that would make me very happy. Once again I felt cheated and disrespected because they were trying to give me a car that was much more expensive than the one I was paying for. Do they really think I don't know my math? I didn't ask for a brand new car I just wanted to exchange my Terrain for another used Terrain that came with AWD. In fact I even saw that they had a used SUV with all the features that I wanted in their lot and I asked why not offer me this SUV and they wanted to cheat me by offering me $3000.00 less for my vehicle then they would have given me if I took the new SUV. I know my math and that wasn't a good deal and there was no customer satisfaction as far as I am concerned. I tried to contact the General Manager Mr. K********* several times after that day and until this day I have not received an email or phone call from him. I feel that I was deceived and taken for granted and that they committed fraud since they disclosed to me the Carfax or even told me that the SUV had been in an accident. Unfortunately, the problem remains unresolved. I expected a much higher level of service from your company, and I am quite disappointed. Sincerely, Lorraine L******

Desired Settlement: I want a 2013 or a later model Terrain AWD for the same or a lower price and they are the only ones that can do that because I can't make any negotiations with my car because of their "mistake" for not disclose the Carfax or in better or correct words their fraudulent sale. If not I want the full refund of the price of my car plus the trade.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/05/07) */ Have talked to him. The conversation was that we are willing to help trade him out, but by no means did Medina Auto Mall do anything malicious, deliberate, or unethical by not disclosing an accident on the Carfax, which no one knows the extent of damage. The customer DID NOT even ask for a CarFax. Additionally, Medina Auto Mall is willing to pay consuner $12,500 for the Terrain, which is a value that has a 0 deduction for any accidents. If customer wants to upgrade to a Terrain, one with AWD and remote start most definitely it will be a higher sale price, balance, and/or payment. These and many other options have been explained to the consumer numerous times.

5/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased vehicle in late February. Still no Title and keep asking. Temp plates expired 4/22. They keep promising the Title but never send it. Vehicle - 2015 Jeep Cherokee Latitude VIN *****************. Purchased 2/27/16. The Temporary Plates were valid until 4/22/16. Several weeks before they expired I contacted Medina Auto Mall to inquire about the title. Whereas before the sale I could reach the salesman rapidly, now that I purchased the vehicle I cannot reach the salesman. When I go through their "live chat" I get different salesmen but all promise to investigate and contact me but never have. I am concerned I could receive a ticket for expired plates. I have talked to 3 different salesmen, but still no title. I need the title so I can transfer the plates from my prior vehicle. Currently I carry the plates in my vehicle to help explain in case I get stopped.

Desired Settlement: I just want to receive the Title for my vehicle so I can get the plates transferred and put this behind me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/05/07) */ The title work was mailed 5/3/2016. Please notify Medina Auto Mall if not received by 5/9/2016. We apologize for the delay. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/05/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response because they stated on May 7th that the Title was mailed on May 3rd yet on May 9th the salesman contacted me to say they were overnighting it that evening. I did receive something like the Title today, May 10th, but not satisfied that they blatantly lied about it being mailed when they knew it hadn't been. I still do not have the Title, only a "Memorandum Title" but at least I can register the vehicle now.

4/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased vehicle, had issues while under warranty, did not repair any issues and delayed service till the warranty was up. I purchased a 2013 Jeep Compass in December 2015. I had a an extended warranty with the dealership. Before I could take the vehicle home I was told they needed to keep it over the weekend to put all new brakes and rotors on the vehicle, this coming from Dusty D******* (Sales Rep). I also thought I was buying a "certified" vehicle. It took me two weeks of contacting Dusty to get the certified papers to me, only to find out they weren't signed. After about three weeks I started to hear a loud noise when braking when driving forward and reverse.During my extended warranty I took the car in to their service department twice with complaints of a loud noise coming from the brakes that continually is and was getting worse. This including me paying for gas there and back for a 45 minute haul one way, paying for gas for the rentals they gave me, missing hours at work to take the vehicle, and being told nothing was wrong when it is very apparent that there is . They said that nothing seemed to be wrong. The second time I went to the service department Chad had told me they didn't hear anything and that it was probably too snowy to hear anything. He said even though I was close to my warranty being up by this time that just bring it in and he will make note that we will still cover it since they couldn't hear it at that visit. Weather clears up and we call only to have our phone calls to be transferred to managers that never call us back. We have left multiple voicemails, and have emailed Dusty D******* who told me he forwarded the emails to his manager. This being 3-4 weeks of chasing them trying to contact someone to assist us in fixing the issue with the brakes on the Compass. No one will return our calls.

Desired Settlement: I am looking to have someone else other than their service department pay for the repair of the noise when braking. I can have the services done elsewhere and have Medina Auto Mall reimburse me, as at this time i do not trust their service department or their services. Since these are supposively new brakes they should not be making any noise and may be an even bigger problem then just brakes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/04/18) */ We put brand new LKQ brakes and rotors on this vehicle. If the consumer desires we will replace them with OEM brakes and rotors. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/04/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Only if the OEM brakes and rotors are replaced at no cost. And the brakes and rotors take care of the loud noise when braking. If the noise is not taken care of I would like further examination and services to be taken care of. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/04/22) */ The rotors and pads from MOPAR will be replaced with no cost to the consumer and will fill their fuel tank after work is completed.

3/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dodge service has been doing all my oil changes. My understanding they have been rotating my tires every other oil change, when they have not. I purchased my Dodge Caravan at the Medina dodge Auto mall 3 years ago and have always got my oil changes at their service department. For the last 3 years my understanding they were rotating my tires every other oil change along with a 5 point inspection. On January 14, 2016 I was told I need two front tires because I haven't rotated the tires since I bought the car. I asked why they haven't rotated them and the service guy told me I am to ask for them to be rotated. I have never been told this before. Also if that's the case then why wasn't this suggested in their 5 point inspection? After leaving the dealership I was really upset about this. Not only my tires but also they messed up on my previous oil change and had the wrong sticker in my window. The mileage was way off on when my next oil change was due. Plus they had no recorded of my last oil change to even know what they did wrong. At this visit I also was told I was late on the protection coating that we paid extra for when we purchased the car. I was pretty sure I had it put on the year before when we had body work done. But they had no record of it. The man named Jeff Collins who is in charge of the protection coating said we lost the warranty but he would apply it, we just didn't have the warranty, and then tells me to wash my car before I bring it in. I just thought that was crazy when my vehicle couldn't get washed during the oil change because the door wouldn't open. I was told to bring it back later or next day. But Jeff tells me to wash my own car. I ended up calling the dealership and asked to speak with the manager. I was connected to the General manager Lou. I told him my complaint and he said he would look into it and get back to me by the next day. Two days go by with no call back. I called back and he told me he was still looking into it and was waiting on a call back from the tire company. Again told me he would get back to me in the next day or two. A whole week goes by, no call. I called again but this time had to leave a message. Again a week goes by no return call. I called every week for 3 week and left a message on his voicemail, never received one call back. My fourth attempt I call and ask for Lou's manager, I was connected to his voicemail. I left a message and its been 2 weeks from that message and I never received a return call. I've been still waiting on a call back and nothing ever has been resolved because no one returns my call.

Desired Settlement: Replace 2 tires

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/14) */ Have reviewed the repair orders in question and all were strictly for an oil change and filter replacement. No tire rotations were charged out nor requested. In the interest of customer satisfaction Medina Auto Mall will split the cost of two new front tires. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/03/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I except but would like to know how to proceed with this? Are they to be put on by Medina Auto mall service department?

9/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 31 July 2014 I entered Medina Auto Mall with a pre aproved document from Capital One Auto Finance showing I was approved for a loanof up to $30,000 for an auto loan. I selected a vehicle and was asked to fill out and sign a credit application . When I asked why I was told it was necessary as procedure even though I had pre approval from Capital One. Moments later I began receiving notifications on my from Trans Union that asmany as 9 Financial institutions had pulled credit reports in regard to my purchase. When I confronted the sales man and told him they were not supposedto do that as I was pre approved and doing business with Capital One and that they were hurting my credit score they told me not to worry about it because the law make thecredit reporting agencies remove the inquires within several weeks there after.Well it's been a year , the inquires are still on my credit report, it has been cited in part at least on one occasion as to why I was declined credit.Today I called Trans Union asking that they be deleted and was told the only way they could be deleted is if I wrote to each lender requesting they be deleted and have them send me a letter stating they are being deleted and that I would then need to send the letters to Trans Union.It would appear Medina Auto Mall was not trutfull and I am demanding Medina Auto Mallcorrect the situation regarding the credit inquires and have the inquires removed by what means possible i.e. letters from lenders sent to Trans Union.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Correction to a credit report Inquires removed from my credit report.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/17) */ Am looking into this request and will contact Trans Union to see what is necessary to accomplish. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Looking into the issue and resolving the issue are two different things . I'd like to hear that the issue is resolved . al ki

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought Certified preowned that includes all service and maintenance.for first four they want to charge for all.cant get any answers 2012 dodge ram. Bought certified pre-owned with all maintenance and repairs included. We got the run around with first oil change and thought all was fixed because they changed the oil, put a new cerpantine belt on and replaced the front brakes, all at no cost. However, time for another oil change and some other issues that should be fixed at no charge and getting the run around AGAIN. I keep trying to speak with someone to help me, but they keep passing me from sales to service with no remedy to the issue. Ron R. was extremely rude and my son could hear him yelling on the phone. I have sent e-mails to his boss Lou K. and still haven't heard from him either. I want this issue fixed. I am tired being treated with disrespect from this dealership when I don't deserve it. They sold the truck with warranty of service and minor repairs to be done for free. Any repair over $2000.00 has a deductable. I want to call for service and have the truck repaired and maintenance done without all the hassle and some common courtesy. They finally did what they promised the first time. I should not have to spend 2 plus hours on the phone each and every time I need the truck serviced.

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to take my truck in for the services promised to me without the hassle each and every time. This agreement was for the first four years of the loan. When I call to schedule an appointment with the 2012 dodge Ram truck under Mr. ****** ******** I want a number or something attached to this truck so I don't have to spend 2 plus hours of a runaround. I want an apology from Ron R. for being so rude and the next time I call to schedule service I would like things to go like they should. Smooth and courteous. They owe us pre-certified benefits of free service and maintenance for the first four years, so until 2019. That is what they owe us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/12) */ Am in contact with Mrs. ********.

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $22109.53 + tax title doc..etc. window MSRP is $20,495. I was given $1500 for my trade KBB trade value is $2300. I waited 24 hrs for car! I was charged ($22109.53)over msrp($20,495) quote for same car with gps from Falls Motor City is: "sale price of just ($19,997) after rebates. You save $4,323 off MSRP.". my credit was ran 9 times, I was given the loan with highest offered interest, I did not know until today when I called all inquires added to my credit. I wasted a whole day waiting for my car. I was told tomorrow morning, it arrived at 6:00 pm. this wasted my whole day and I called numerous times, each time I was told it would arrive within the hour. the final time I called at 4:00 pm, I was told to come down my car is there, I did- I waited until 6:35 pm! I was going to cancel this sale if I did not receive my car by 5:00 pm, that is why I was told to come in and get it without it being there. this cost me 1 days pay, 1.23% apr for 72 months, and about $3000 over comparable sales price of same car with an upgrade of navigation, and this comp is the very same dealer that Medina Auto Mall did a dealer trade with to ruin my day. buying a car should be a great happy experience, not a miserable one leaving someone feel like they got ripped off and cheated, which I did!

Desired Settlement: this is me losing over $3000 in about 72 months I feel at the very least this should be split if not paid in full by Medina Auto Mall.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/14) */ I have reviewed the entire file on this purchase. In response to the consumer; The MSPR ie; window sticker on the vehicle is $22,740.00. The customer paid $22,109.53 plus fees, DOC, and taxes and less rebates their trade in. As for credit inquiries, we did shop for the best rate at 6 different finance sources and passed along the best rate available to us. As to the timing on the delivery, this was a dealer trade and apparently we had bad information as to how long that would take and what time the drivers would get the vehicle back to Medina. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Those are excises not reasons, and lies not facts.

6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a brand new 2014 Dodge Dart. It was in the shop 3 times for the same issue that was unsafe. The power steering would go out while driving. ***** ******** was my sales rep for the car. He is not the one i have the issue with. It is with **** *********. I left him a voicemail and told him how serious this was. It was the third time and my 18 year old daughter was driving the vehicle this time! I told him I needed a call back within 24 hours to try and resolve this. I tried from the very first time this happened to see if i could get the car replaced with a different one. I have since sent a letter to Dodge about the issue and will be filing a complaint with the Attorney General. This is a safety issue and it could result in a horrible accident! The car was bought May of 2014. The first incident with the power steering going out was in August of 2014, the next one in Oct of 2014, and then again in May of 2015. I have receipt for each of these.

Desired Settlement: I would either like a replacement car with all the same extras as my current Dodge Dart or my money back for down payment and free of the lease with no penalties so I can go somewhere else.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/28) */ Re; 2014 Dodge Dart RO#****** Reviewed the service history of this vehicle and see that the recommended Chrysler steps were taken that address the steering situation. Apparently Chrysler found the root cause and we performed that repair on the vehicle on May 4, 2015. Replaced power connection and 70 AMP fuse per Chrysler Star Case. Have had no contact with the customer since that repair. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The three times my car has been in the shop NEVER did anyone explain anything to me but, It needed a computer update. I knew nothing else. I did not know this was a problem on Chrysler's end. I was NEVER told why I couldn't get a replacement. There was no communication whatsoever. The only person that has called me personally and explained everything is a gentleman from Chrysler. He has helped me through this process, communicated, and did everything he could to keep me as a customer. I will remain a customer with Chrysler but I will never go back to Medina Auto Mall! I am still not satisfied with this outcome with them. I had to hear it all on here, STILL nobody has contacted me! Horrible customer service and running a business!

4/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: March 30, 2015 Dear Sirs: I am seeking your aid to get my name deleted from all data bases of Medina Automall and associated businesses. I have been unsuccessful getting this accomplished on my own with letters, email and phone calls. I am not looking for any type of settlement. I just do not wish for any type of contact from these people. Enclosed are letters I have sent to them. I thank you for any assistance you may render. Respectfully Yours, ****** *. ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am not looking for any type of settlement. I just do not wish for any type of contact from these people.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/16) */ All customer contact information has been purged from Medina Auto Mall data bases.

4/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I provided a deposit on credit card, came in and paid cash on March 11, 2015. Refund of deposit has not been forthcoming. Spoken with them often. Paid a deposit on February 25, 2015. Picked up car on March 11,2015. Paid in full and was told refund would appear on my card. Has yet to be refunded. Spoke with seller on March 11th, 18,21, and 24th. Informed ***** I would contact the BBB on the 25th if I had not been refunded and I have not.

Desired Settlement: Five Hundred dollars in check or refund to credit card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/26) */ Customers title was sent Fed Ex3/25/2015 Tracking #************. Check signed 3/24/2015. Sent to ********************************** Delivery 3/11...there is a reason that we have 30 day temp tags...especially out of state transactions. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for my title. My complaint is not about my title. I need my refund. My next step is to contact *****. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2015/04/08) */ Case # ******** **** ********* and Medina Auto Mall has been resolved between the parties and needs to be closed (customer has received the money from the business).

2/23/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to transfer or register plates on vehicle I purchased a 2014 Buick Enclave in march of 2014. I traded a GMC envoy. The contract states there is a fee of 18.50 for them to transfer the registration. When I went to get my 2015 registration , the BMV told me The registration had never been transferred. I called the dealer and spoke to one of two salesmen involved in the deal and got nothing more than a chuckle. I told him I expect a refund of the $ 18.50 and as of this date There has been no response ! I consider this an act of fraud! It's not the money but the principle . How many others might have had the same experience ?

Desired Settlement: A simple refund would be sufficient !

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/09) */ We will refund the $18.50 for the transfer. The problem stems from an incorrect middle initial on the customers title. He was supposed to send it back to us for correction and never did. Check will be cut and sent in 3 days.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repair not fully diagnosed originally. 12-26-14 I had my daughter take her 2002 Olds Aurora to Medina Auto Mall to have it repaired.Check Engine Lite was on.Medina Auto Mall said it had a trouble code P0410 and that the Air Pump was at fault R.O.#******. They said it would be $800. to repair.We had them repair it. 4-14-14 the light came on again. They charged her $80. to re-look at the car R.O.#******. They say it has a trouble code P0410 again and it needs a Air Pump Check Valve Front dumping vaccum. Additionally they say 2ND Check Valve Rear not leaking down as bad and we can wait a little if needed but light will come back on. I wrote a letter to Mr ************** @ Medina Auto Mall 4-15-14 review our situation and asked for some help getting my daughter's car back on the road. As of of 5-2-14 I have not gotten any response from Medina Auto Mall. If they can forecast the 2nd check valve is going to go bad and we can "wait a little", I feel they should have told us this from the first diagnois.

Desired Settlement: Install the 2 Check valves as diagnoised free of charge or refund first repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/06) */ 1. Code P0410 can relate to numerous parts of the system. 2. Replacing the defective pump did in fact repair the problem and shut off the check engine light. Unfortunately it most likely prompted the check valves to fail some 7000 miles later. 3. We are not in the habit of replacing non failed parts which is what is being suggested we should have done during the December repair. 4. There is no case to replace the check valves on a 12 year old car for free. 5. I do agree to apply the diagnosis fee to the repair of the check valves. 6. I will offer a courtesy one time discount of 22% on the repairs; $884.90 - 22% = $689.59 - 84.95 = $604.64 (plus tax) Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Would there be any additional shop fee's,Misc. charges etc.? Other than the $604.64 plus tax. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/05/20) */ I RESPONDED TO THE CONSUMER'S QUESTION RE;ADDITIONAL CHARGES PREVIOUSLY. AGAIN, THERE WILL BE NO ADDITIONAL CHARGES ON THE QUOTED PRICE EXCEPT SALES TAX AS STATED ON MY ANSWER. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/05/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel Medina Auto Mall should have advised us that replacing the pump would prompt the check valves to fail.

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple messages left for **** ******** RE: gap insurance cancellation, however I never received a response back. My husband and I purchased a vehicle from Medina Auto Mall on July 14, 2012. We had a wonderful buying experience and highly recommended Auto Mall for to future buyers. At the time of purchase we added Gap Coverage to our purchase agreement in the amount of $425.00. We have since traded this vehicle in through another dealership and were told to contact Medina Auto Mall to start the process of obtaining a refund for the remaining gap insurance. I called Medina Auto Mall on Feb 5, 2014 at 1:35pm and was told that **** ******** was the individual that I was to speak with. I was then placed into his voicemail where I left a detailed message and asked for a phone call back. I followed up on February 7, 2014 at 11:15am as I never received a return call from ****. I was again placed into his voicemail and again left a detailed message asking for a return call. I contacted the dealership again today, February 11th in attempts to speak with **** and was again placed into his voicemail (no message left). I called back and asked for ****'s email address as I figured this method may gain a response, however I was told they did not have the authority to give this to me. Frustrated, I contacted the Program Administrator for the Gap Insurance, I shared my frustration with the lack of communication and customer service from **** at Medina Auto Mall. The gentleman from the Gap Insurance Company promptly assisted me and treated me with a high level of customer service. I have received the paperwork from him that needed completed and we have sent the information off for processing. I am left with a very undesirable feeling about Medina Auto Mall as a whole at this point. A simple return call from **** would have left me content and happy as we were when we initially made our purchase through the dealership. I feel as though if a sale is not being made, the dealership does not care about the consumer. A previous customer should not have to make multiple calls to the dealership to gain the information they need, and certainly should not have to get in contact with the Program Administrator of Gap Insurance and do the leg work that the Dealership should have been handling in the first place. Customers should always remain a top priority and never ignored!

Desired Settlement: I would hope that the dealership would provide customer service training to its staff in general as well as **** ******** individually. Customer service should always be top quality: before, during, and after the buying experience.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/13) */ Dealership has emailed customer today 2/13/14 to complete cancellation process. I will update you as the cancellation is completed. Apologies for the delay in this. Working to correct it.

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: still waiting on a cash due back to me on a SUV purchased on 11-15. As of 12-28 still waiting. I purchased a SUV on 11-15 and was due money back as of 12-28 I have not received my money. I have been told numerous times that the check was mail. On 12-9, 12-17 and 12-23. I don't think anyone at the dealership could tell the truth if they were drowning in holy water.

Desired Settlement: I would like my check and for someone to take responsibility of the situation. ****, the business manager has not.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/31) */ Check was FedExed to customer 12/30. Funding was held up due to additional document request from bank Check had been mailed previously and came back to us. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) According to the Medina County Federal Credit Union the deal was funded on 12-02-13. I was told several times that the deal was closed and my check was mailed out. (12-9-13; 12-16-13;12-23-13). The check was dated on 12-17-13. While the check was overnighted to me it was only after it was promised to be to me by 12-28-13 and I contacted the dealership again on 12-30-13.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Medina Auto Mall
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart