Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Marhofer Chevrolet, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 688-6644 Fax: (330) 686-4812 View Additional Phone Numbers 3423 Darrow Rd., Stow, OH 44224 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.marhofer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marhofer Chevrolet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Marhofer Chevrolet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Marhofer Chevrolet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/31/1975 Business started locally: 01/31/1975 Business incorporated 01/30/1975 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is ND000702.

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is LD000569.

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is UD019448.

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is UD019447.

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is ND001482.

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is LD002948.

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is ND003645.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald L. Marhofer, President Ms. Ruth Farriss, Accounts Receivable Mr. James Humansky, Body Shop Mr. Chris Marhofer, General Manager Ms. Rebecca E. Vanaman, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald L. Marhofer, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Marhofer Auto Family, Chevrolet Service Ron Marhofer Collision Center Chevrolet

Additional Locations

  • 1585 Commerce Dr.

    Stow, OH 44224

  • 3423 Darrow Rd.

    Stow, OH 44224 (330) 688-6644

  • P.O. Box 1645

    Stow, OH 44224

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see enclosed/attached letter. ************ & his employee, Dee S****** stole my car and never paid me for it. The car was to be scrapped. Letter Written by *********************************, LLC on Behalf of ************, made out to me, but sent to my mother and father verbatim: October 21, 2015 Re: 1996 Toyota Camry VIN No. ***************** Dear Mr. R***: Please be advised that the undersigned and the law firm of *********************************, LLC represent ************ ********(************?). On or about February 18, 2010, your 1996 Toyota Camry, which is further described above (the "Vehicle"), was towed to ************ Collision at *******************, **************** for repairs and has since accrued storage fees of $100 per day for 2,071 days totaling $207,100 as of the date of this letter. Please be advised that as an automobile repair facility, ************ Collision maintains a possessory lien on your Vehicle until you have paid the amount of $207,100 which remains due and owing for storage of your Vehicle. Please pay the amount of $207,100 to ************ Collision so your Vehicle can be released to you. This letter is also to serve you with notice pursuant to R.C. 4505.101 that your Vehicle has remained unclaimed for more than fifteen (15) days following repair and that if it is not removed within fifteen (15) days from the date of this letter, ************ Collision will seek title to the Vehicle. ************ Collision estimates the trade-in value of the Vehicle to be $1,266 if it was in operational condition, but that the value of the Vehicle is -$205,834 after the $207,100 in storage fees is applied. Sincerely, Matthew R. D***** ******* cc: ************ Collision James D. K****, Esq. ************** *I received notification of this for the very first and only time as of this past Monday, October 26th and 5 years later for a car that was supposed to be scrapped. **James D. K****, Esq. completed my parents will. Is this a conflict of interest? ***Per James D. K****, himself today, this is the 1st time he knew of this despite being cc'd and he said that ************** may be behind this. ****Matthew R. D*****'s assistant "Pat" confirmed Tuesday morning, October 27th. via my phone call that this was in fact a legit letter and that ************ knew about it; that he was the one that told The Law Firm to write it. *****Falls Catholic Credit Union called the Sales Rep, Dee S****** on Tuesday, October 27th. and related that this letter was wrong; that what they have done to my parents, myself and how they went about it is all wrong and that they need to make it right. Per Falls Catholic Credit Union, the Sales Rep, Dee S****** said he didn't remember it, that it was 5 years ago, that another department is essentially handling it and that he would look into it when he had the time. ******After Dee S****** and ************ took my 1996 Camry, I financed my 2007 Camry that Sales Rep, Dee S****** sold to me in 2010 with Falls Catholic Credit Union. Dee S****** said that he was a member there and could get me in. *******Dee S****** and ************ also took in, traded in my wife's 2007 Nissan Altima. However, on the paperwork it states that it was a 2000 and not a 2007 and no mention is made to its make and model. ********************, per his counsel today, related that Ron had no knowledge of this letter (this is contrary to what "Pat" said on Tuesday), that he is on vacation or something to that effect and that we should wait until next week to talk. ********However, I can not take that risk, per the letter, I am to have a reply by Friday, November 5th. *********Is this not Fraud & Extortion? **********My mother and father's relationship with ************ himself goes back ************************* ************Could not ************ and or his associates picked up the phone and called/talked to my mother and father especially since they just paid $3,400+ in September for brake lines, etc on a 12 year old ***********? *************Best yet, could not ************ pick up the phone and called me by now ******?

Desired Settlement: ?

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2015/11/06) */ SEE "MORE INFO"

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my 2007 Nissan Altima off for repair work around the 19th of May after my neighbor backed in to my car. The work took almost two weeks because of delays with my neighbors insurance. When I picked the car up there was a horrible stench that was not there when I dropped it off. The smell was not going away I pulled off to a gas station to take a look. The smell got stronger near the trunk. When I popped the trunk there was what looked to be some kind of sandwich with maggots crawling all over it. I got some paper towel and threw it out. Neither my wife nor I make it a habit of putting our lunch in the trunk. My wife called in tears the following day and spoke with Allen and was told "my guys wouldn't do that". She was very upset and did curse. After getting nowhere with Allen she hung up. I called the following day and was told by Allen he would check into it and call me back. He never called. I have taken all the carpet out of the trunk and cleaned it with the carpet scrubber and the smell is still there. My wife has cried every day because she feels like her car is ruined. There were 7 green flies in the car just today! How is this our fault!? I have been a loyal customer to Marhoffer collision for years but not after this. They need to detail and steam clean the entire inside of the car to try to fix this. And also on our receipt it says "Not completely satisfied ? Call Ron M. personally at ************ (****)". Guess what?! That number is no longer in service!? Product_Or_Service: Car body repair Order_Number: Invoice ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Finsh the job I would like the entire inside of my car detailed and all the carpet and fabric steam cleaned at no cost to me. And maybe an apology since I didn't throw the sandwich in the trunk.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/30) */ Mr. ***** dropped his car off for repairs on May 19, 2015. When our manager moved the vehicle into the shop he noticed a strong smell, like sour milk, while inside the passenger compartment. He checked around the driver's area and did not notice anything that might be causing the smell. Later that morning our porter also noticed the smell and found some fast food wrappers in the interior. He removed them but did not investigate further. It is not unusual for older vehicles that we work on to have foul odors. In hindsight, we should have contacted the customer to ask if he wanted to us investigate the smell further. Unfortunately that was not done. As a result of this complaint we called Mr. ***** and apologized for not making him aware of the smell and offered to thoroughly clean his vehicle's interior and trunk and eliminate the odor. He subsequently brought the vehicle, to our shop, and we provided him with a no charge loaner car while we preformed the necessary cleaning. We believe that Mr. ***** was satisfied with the outcome.

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charging for a service and not doing the service, And getting caught being dishonest. My mom ***** ******** brought her 2007 Saturn Vue in for some service. A winter check Up/ oil change and tire rotate. After it was in for service the brake light kept coming on. Two weeks went by she had another appointment to find out why the light kept coming on. This appoint was 2-3 weeks and (200) miles after it was in your shop for a oil change and tire rotate. She was informed at that appointment that the front brakes were (trashed) and that was why the light was coming on and she was quoted 500-600 for a front brake job. She called me asked what to do I said no way the car only has 20,000 miles on it. Get another price and get it looked at. She was worried about it and informed someone the last appointment the tires were rotated and the brakes were fine, Even checked off fine on her inspection sheet, (which she Has) And were the brakes looked ? Were the tires rotated? Obviously NOT. She was charged for it. Do to her concern for the brakes and safety she made appointment on 12-13-14, and the front brakes were replaced. She was supposed to get a discount and still ended up paying close to $400 for a front brake job on a 2007 Vue with 20k on it. There is a lot of dishonest crap that went on here. And I want to address it. Your people Lied, and covered it with another lie and Lied your way out of the Issue. This is not Over, Not even close. I know a lot about cars and I know a brake light does not mean you need brakes. And that is how you sold your work to a 65 yr old lady. (real Cool), Why were the rotors replaced? I have been told they look ok and why were they not resurfaced, again they have only seem 20k of use. She has all the old parts. I can guarantee the rotor will pass any measurement test. Why was resurfacing not offered. How about the brake light? what turned off the brake light off. It has not been on for 4 days. I guess to sum up this Issue is your People in your Service Department will never get any Service work from my Mom, She is convinced your people are crooks and Extremely Dishonest. She Has all the Invoices, Dates , who she spoke with, She is still very upset that your people screwed her and covered up with Lies. I don't how far she is going to push this. My guess is going to be as far as she can. She doesn't want another older single lady getting screwed over. Who Am I I am her son ****** ******* from ******* ** and I would love to speak with someone ***-***-**** My mom is ************* ***-***-****.

Desired Settlement: You people need to refund her for the tire rotate she paid for and the brake job. You charged her for something she didn't need

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/30) */ Upon receiving this complaint we contacted Ms. ******* and asked her to meet with us to inspect the brake pads and rotors, she had in her possession, to determine if they indeed needed to be replaced. Ms. ******* was kind enough to meet with us on Monday, January 9, 2014. We both agreed that the pads were severely warn and were in definite need of replacement. We also measured the rotors which measured 1.001 inches. This compares with new at 1.022 inches and the minimum safe dimension of .960 inches dimension. In our experience these rotors could not have been turned properly without exceeding the minimum dimension. It was also discussed that on her previous visit to our service department the inspection did not reflect the actual condition of her brake pads, which necessitated a second trip. As a "Goodwill" gesture we refunded her the entire amount she was charged, $370.38, for brake pads and rotors. She agreed that we went beyond her expectations and was very satisfied.

6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2004 Chevrolet Tahoe from the dealership. In my paperwork it clearly states the driver and passenger side heated seats work correctly and as they should and its even noted that they were being tested and fixed on the paperwork. I came to find out that the heated seats were not in working order, in fact, do not work at all as the paperwork clearly states after the repair statement. I tried calling and discussing with Ron Marhofer, the owner, and he simply stated we aren't going to fix since the vehicles over an allowed mileage even though the paperwork clearly stated they were fixing it and then showed it was fixed and in perfect working order. He said I could return the vehicle which is NOT what we agreed upon when I signed for a loan on this vehicle. We agreed this vehicle had working seats and Id like that made good on. Product_Or_Service: Used Chevrolet Tahoe

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like the seats to be repaired at no expense to myself.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ Mr. ******* purchased a 2004 Chevrolet Tahoe, from our dealership on April 26, 2014, with 138,113 miles on the odometer. We told him the vehicle was being sold "AS IS" without any warranty whatsoever. We advised him to inspect the vehicle thoroughly and gave him the opportunity to take it to an automotive professional for a third party evaluation prior to purchase. Please see the attached, Buyers Guide, Delivery Report and Limited Warranty, signed by Mr. ********, all signed by Mr. ********. These documents clearly show that he knew he was purchasing the vehicle "AS IS" with no items or repairs owed. After he took delivery he called to complain that the heated seats would not work. We told him if he was not satisfied with the vehicle he could return it for a full refund. He declined to return the vehicle. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was NEVER offered to take it anywhere else to have the vehicle looked at... The paperwork clearly stated this was being looked into and marked as fixed so I should not have to "have this looked at" when it clearly states they were fixing it and it was fixed. I did buy this vehicle as an "AS-IS" vehicle believing what the dealership said was working after they "SOLD" me on the we have a "vigorously strict" used car vehicle policy. We only sell the best of the best used cars that come in here and we make sure even the as-is vehicles adhere to those policies. 1 of the selling points of this vehicle was "heated seats". How are they going to use heated seats as a selling point when they don't work? Why should a customer have to have everything that they mark works through their "vigorous inspection" rechecked out? Common sense to me says if they inspect it...find a problem... write it down... say its being worked on... then mark they are in "perfect working order" they shouldn't have to be checked by a third party. For all the other customers out there Ron Marhofer is saying even though they tell you something, that may not necessarily be true, and you cannot trust what your being told or is in writing with him, the dealership, or anyone working there. Why would this statement be any different for a "warrantied" vehicle? I was told the ONLY reason it was an "as is" was because it had 130,000 miles on it...NOT b/c there were any problems.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Marhofer Chevrolet, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)