Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Great Lakes Hyundai

Phone: (330) 422-1212 Fax: (330) 422-1338 9630 State Route 14, Streetsboro, OH 44241 http://www.greatlakeshyundai.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Great Lakes Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Great Lakes Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Great Lakes Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 17, 2006 Business started: 10/17/2005 Business started locally: 10/17/2005 Business incorporated 05/24/2004 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is ND003230.

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

The number is LD006282.

Business Management
Mr. Robert Petrus, General Manager Mr. Joey Huang, President Mr. Jeff Hughes, General Sales Manager Mr. John Rocco, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Petrus, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Great Lakes Hyundai has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9630 State Route 14

    Streetsboro, OH 44241 (330) 422-1212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I test drove a 2015 Hyundai sonata that was NOT the same as what I actually received. I did not get to test drive the car that I drove off the lot. it was late in the evening and the salesperson let me test drive what was available for a test drive, which was NOT an ECO Hyundai 2015 sonata. I wasn't allowed to test drive the Hyundai that I actually purchased. This is dishonest, because I was assured that they were all the same sonatas. I was thoroughly deceived. I found out that I purchased a ECO sonata, I DID NOT KNOW this til I drove it off the lot and it was too late. it drives like a stick shift and its loud. I did not test drive this and chose this one. I took it to a different Hyundai service department to find out what was wrong with it and they told me why it drove that way. I DID NOT WANT THIS CAR. I liked and test drove the regular automatic sonata. I DONT LIKE AND DID NOT WANT ANYTHING CLOSE TO A AUTOMATIC MANUAL CAR. I AM SOOOOO UNHAPPY WITH THIS CAR. BUT IT SEEMS I AM STUCK WITH IT. THE SALES PERSON LIED A LOT ABOUT EVERYTHING even the fact that the car would have a remote start, then I had to take it back for them to put one on because it wasn't offered. I can't believe that I have a car that I simply unhappy with and have to pay for for 5 years. THAT IS NOT RIGHT AND I SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO TRADE THIS MESS IN FOR A REGULAR HYUNDAI SONATA WITH A REGULAR ENGINE. I DIDN'T ASK FOR THIS AND THE DISHONESTY IS JUST A MESS AT GREAT LAKES HYUNDAI. THE SALES PERSON I HAD "CODY" SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO SELL ANYTHING. I WANT SOMETHING DONE ABOUT THIS.

Desired Settlement: RETURN OF THE DUAL CLUTCH AUTOMATIC STICK SHIFT FOR A REGULAR AUTOMATIC WITHOUT ALL THAT GARBAGE BECAUSE I DIDN'T REQUEST THAT. DIDN'T EVEN KNOW IT EXISTED.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/03/28) */ Dear BBB, This letter is in response to Miss *****'s complaint concerning her purchase on September 24th, 2015. This is the first time we have been made aware of her dissatisfaction with performance of the vehicle. We were aware there was a concern regarding remote start capabilities of the vehicle when it was first purchased. We addressed that issue buy installing a remote start at no charge. This misunderstanding between her and our salesman was unfortunate and for that we apologize. I do not believe it is reason for termination of our employee Cody Goad. As for the performance of her vehicle we would invite her to make an appointment with our service department. To date I am unaware of her bringing in the vehicle for us to inspect. What she is describing is not normal for this vehicle as described by another dealer. This vehicle is only produced with an automatic trans, not an automatic/manual as Miss *****s believes it to be. Along with checking over her car we would like to additionally give Miss *****s a 27 month maintenance package at no charge for her inconvenience and for sending us 2 referrals. Sincerely, Bob P***** General Mgr Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2016/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The car was checked by another HYundai dealer in Bedford Ohio RICK CASE. Check their records. At this time I WAS INFORMED of WHAT TYPE CAR IT WAS . My reason for taking it to the same type dealer was to find out why it drove like a truck or stick shift. This is not the same type of car I TEST Drove I FEEL LIKE IT WAS BAIT AND SWITCH AND I DONT WANT THIS TYPE OF CAR I TEST DROVE A HYUNDAI THAT WAS not LIKE THIS ONE. I deserve the type HYUNDAI sonata I agreed to. And I'm paying all this money for a manual automatic and that's exactly what it is. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2016/04/04) */ Without being able to inspect the vehicle to address her concern we are unable to move forward. Again I must reiterate, Hyundai dose not produce a manual shift in the Sonata line. What she is experiencing does not sound normal. We welcome Miss *****s to bring the vehicle to us for diagnosis. The vehicle is under warranty for these type of issues. Bob P*****

12/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used car from GLH, the salesman (Ronnie S****) told me the chime was ringing because I wasn't wearing the seat belt. (Note it was to small, I have since got an extender). So I purchased it "as is". My wife drove it home, the chime never stopped, I call GLH service department they said we work on Hyundai, does know much about Saturns. Took the car to Spitzer who for $849, they fixed it. I went back to the dealership an Ronnie S**** told me the guy that handles that would be out till next Tuesday. I called the following, Tuesday and was told he Matt R******* would be back in on Wednesday. Called Wed, am and waited all day, call again about 5 pm and basically they said you are out of luck, the salesmen may have lied but he doesn't work for us. I also went to the dealership on Thursday am, and was told they would not help, and that Ronnie works for the bank liquidation company, and even if I felt I was jerked about they were not going to help. Thank you so much.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would them to admit that I was lied to, Ronnie S**** said he worked for them he didn't, and I would like them to pay 1/2 of $425.00. I admit I messed up not checking the car and the chime before purchase, but they jerked me around and lied to me..

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/12/15) */ Received from the business via email: December 14, 2015 Michelle W****** Better Business Bureau of Akron 222 W. Market St Akron, Oh 44303-2111 RE: Bill D**** Case#******** Dear Ms. W******; I have reviewed the sale on the 2003 Saturn Vue that was sold to Mr. Bill D****. The salesman on that vehicle was Ronnie S****. Ronnie S**** is not and was not employed by Great Lakes Hyundai. He was however, employed by an outside firm that was hired by Great Lakes Hyundai to assist in the liquidation of our overstocked used car inventory. Unfortunately, we have no record of the conversations between Mr. D**** and Mr. S****. We do however, have record of the final business transaction, and Mr. D**** was well aware that the vehicle he was purchasing was an "as is" vehicle. This "as is" vehicle was actually sold for $1047.58 less than what it cost us. I am sure you can understand our reluctance to lose any more money. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know. Sincerely, GREAT LAKES HYUNDAI, INC. Leslie Y*****, Controller Enclosure (2) Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2015/12/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since according to you Mr. S**** did not work for you, this should have been made known to me so I could have brought from a REAL salesperson. I personally will never shop Great Lakes, and I will tell all my friends about the lack of customer service that I received, yes it was as is...but I still feel you knowingly sold me a car that had a serious defect. That is not good customer service, and it will never be good service.....

12/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Within 3 weeks of purchase, rotors need replaced. Spoke with Matt/Sales and he mentioned that I got a good deal on car and he wouldn't fix my issue. I purchased the car and notified the dealership less than a month after the sale that the rotors were worn out and need either turned or replaced (I still had the temporary tags on the car). I spoke with multiple people at the dealership. First I spoke with the service department and the gentlemen told me I had to speak with Sales to authorize the repair (or I had to pay). After speaking to the general manager, who then passed me off to Matt/Sales Manager. I explained the situation to him and asked that they fix the issue. He pulled me up in the computer and started to tell me what a great deal I got and then proceeded to tell me that they would not fix it. He said it was a brake issue and they would not cover that, period. I explained to him that the rotors did not get this way in a couple of weeks, which he agreed, but he said it was not their problem. He was too concerned with the "deal" I got and said he wouldn't even fix it if it was 5 days after the sale (his words). In a nutshell, I bought the car and it is my problem. Now, if we were talking a few months or so, it absolutely would be my issue, but this was 3+ weeks from purchase. I purchased the car on August 19th and spoke with the dealership on September 16th. This is a small repair and it is ashame that this is how they treat a new customer. I truly like the car, but after the experience I am having with a small service issue, I will have to think twice before buying another vehicle from them or recommend them to a friend. Truly disappointing customer service.

Desired Settlement: $125.00 for the cost of the replacement parts and repair

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/01) */ WHILE THE VEHICLE IN QUESTION WAS IN OUR INVENTORY WE DID A STANDARD MAINTENANCE INSPECTION. AS A RESULT OF THAT INSPECTION IT WAS DETERMINED THE VEHICLE NEEDED THE FOLLOWING: OIL AND FILTER CHANGE COMPUTER SOFTWARE UPDATE SHIFT LEVER CABLE REPAIR MULTIPLE FILTER REPLACEMENTS TWO NEW TIRES WERE MOUNTED AND BALANCED TO REPLACE TWO WORN TIRES LASTLY A BRAKE INSPECTION RESULTED IN THE REPLACEMENT OF REAR PADS AND THE ROTORS WERE MACHINED. IN ADDITION A FRONT BRAKE CALIBER SERVICE WAS PERFORMED. AS YOU CAN SEE THE VEHICLE WAS IN GOOD CONDITION WHEN SOLD TO MR B****. ESPECIALLY THE BRAKES. IT APPEARS TO ME AS IF SOMEONE SOLD MR B**** AN UNWARRANTED BRAKE JOB. WE AGREE WITH MR B**** BRAKES DO NOT GO BAD IN THREE WEEKS. IN AN EFFORT TO ADDRESS MR B****S COMPLAINT WE WISH TO SEND HIM A $50.00 VOUCHER HE CAN USE IN OUR SERVICE DEPARTMENT IN THE FUTURE. LET US KNOW IF THIS IS SATISFACTORY. BOB P***** GENERAL MANAGER GREAT LAKES HYUNDAI. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off, I appreciate Mr. P***** responding to my complaint. I also respect the fact that he has a service department giving him info on the car and I realize he is going to back the info they gave him. We can go back and forth on the brakes and our opinions. Bottom line is I physically saw the front rotors and they needed turned or replaced. They were squeaking very loudly and I had multiple people look at the rotors. They were replaced as needed. As I stated in my complaint, the thing that really upsets me about this whole thing is the dealerships udder disregard of my issue. I was then, and still am know, completely appalled by Matt's ( Sales Manager) attitude toward a new customer. Comments such as "I am already losing $2000 on this deal" and "I wouldn't fix them if it was even 5 days after the sale" really leave a bad taste in my mouth. In my job I deal with customers every day and I can't imagine one of my people giving our customers that experience. At least look at the rotors and then we can talk, but Matt had no interest in that and instead was more concerned with my sale price and the $105 it would cost for the dealership to even look at them. Giving me a $50 voucher towards your service department means nothing to me at this point. If my experience so far with your dealership is any indication, frankly I have zero confidence with your dealership. Although I do like my car, I really have no desire to have any more to do with your dealership. Sincerely, Eric B*****

11/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company did not abide by the contract I signed. Company need to pay in full. I had purchased the vehicle in Nov 2013 from great Lakes hyundai.upon purchasing the vehicle I had purchased the guaranteed asset protection plus (gapp) insurance along with the vehicle due to an extra insurance just in case any situation arises the gapp insurance will cover the vehicle if any event the vehicle becomes a total loss. The gapp insurance fee was 1686 extra added to my contract.my gapp insurance claim # is 02061157. I had gotten into an accident in April of 2015 and had total loss of the vehical. My insurance carrier which is allate had covered their charges on the vehical and the gapp insurance did not. I was told that the gapp insurance was to cover the balance that my insurance carrier didnt. I am very upset that I owe 2400 left on that vehical that the gapp insurance should cover.I should not have to pay anything. They services was not promised and they need to pay this balance.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking for the company to cover all cost due to the loss of the vehical. I paid for their services and they are responsible for the remaining balance my all state carrier didnt cover. I should not be responsible for anything they was entitled to cover.I WAnt the company to pay the remaining balance of 2400 in full for this vehical or they need to refund me the fee I paid for their service on my contract for the vehical. I felt like they robbed me and lied to me. They should b ashamed for lieing to customers and taking their money if they don't fulfill their contracts. Please help me resolve this matter so this debt can be paid. This is hurting my credit also. I am not paying this balance because I don't have the funds 2 do so

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/20) */ IN RESPONSE TO MR O***'S COMPLAIT WE HAVE DETERMINED THE FOLLOWING: PER HIS AGREEMENT WHICH HE SHOULD HAVE A COPY OF THE GAP POLICY DOES NOT COVER THE FOLLOWING. 1. PAST DUE AMOUNTS ON LOAN. IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT MR O*** WAS PAST DUE APPROXIAMATELY $1100.00 DUE TO PARTIAL PAYMENTS MADE ON LOAN. 2.TAX AND TITLE FEE RECOVERY. MR O*** SHOULD BE DUE APPROXIAMATELY $1291.00 FROM HIS INSURANCE CO. 3.REFUNDS FROM ANCILLARY PRODUCTS INCLUDED IN THE LOAN PROCEEDS. MR O*** HAD A PREPAID MAINTENANCE PACKAGE INCLUDED IN HIS LOAN. THAT CONTRACT HAD EXPIRED AND AS SUCH NO REFUND WAS DUE. THAT BEING SAID MR. O*** IS ENTITLED TO AND ADDTIONAL $199.00 FROM THE GAP PROVIDER. IF HE CONTACTS THEM THEY WILL MAKE THE APPROPRATE ADJUSTMENT. SINCERELY, BOB P***** GENERAL MGR GREAT LAKES HYUNDAI.

9/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Direct mailer claiming that I won at least $5.00 but maybe more. 4 main prizes, all others 5 dollars each Got a direct mailer yesterday saying of two numbers matched I could win one of 4 major prizes, if I did not win one of the 4 major prizes , all other prizes would be a $5.00 gift card. When I came in, I talked about cars, the sales lady checked my code to see if I had won and she said if won a $5.00 gift card. I said okay I will collect, she said they were all out and I'd have to come in within 4 or 5 days and they would double the card. The flyer said no purchase necessary and the sale was 8.25.15 to 8.30.15, I was there on the 27th. The flyer said no purchase necessary She refused to put it in writing, I live 15 miles away and it's a scam. They obviously want people to come in to buy a car, since I didn't want to buy a car they don't want to give you a prize. The mailer said

Desired Settlement: $75.00 gift card, for having to drive up to replace the $5.00 gift card, waste of gas.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/31) */ We would like to mail Mr. ********* his winnings as I'm sure that would be more convenient for him. We will send two gift cards to him as promised. We agree it would not be smart to spend $75.00 for gas for 30 mile round trip. If this is agreeable to Mr ********* we will send out his winnings immediately. Sincerely, Bob P. General Mgr

5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good Faith effort by GLH allowing the return of a vehicle with a major defect for repair or to apply purchase amount to a vehicle of equal value I purchased 2009 Hyundai Accent for $2347.36, 24 Mar2015. Vehicle in question was trade-in from weekend of 22Mar2015 Buyer's guide was not display nor was I given a copy. Did not get free Car Fax as requested. AS IS sale was quoted by salesperson - to be fair. However, salesperson stated that Dealership mechanic would inspect and fluids would be filled if needed. Fluid was leaking - negotiated ½ of estimated repair off purchase price for possible pan gasket leak only (as determined by our mechanic to be moderate cost for me have repaired) - fair negotiation. Next day after purchase: Reverse requires shift to neutral - shuts off /stalls. Stalls from 0-20 mph and not considered safe for highway travel. Contacted Used Car Manager via phone same day - told their Mechanic did not inspect - no resolution. To be fair, I went to determine whether it was a gasket leak - my responsibility or a major defect as defined in the implied warranty law - seller responsibility. Received 4 separate computer diagnostics stating transmission failure in following weeks within 30days. "Check engine light" resulted in failed E-Check. I was not seeking a refund to take and spend elsewhere; I was just requesting a refund to apply to another suitable vehicle on their lot. However, the choices the Dealership gave were $1200 trade-in or the full price of $2300 if used for down payment and financing a car, which would have to be at least over $8000 for a bank to offer financing. I do not desire to be in debt until I finish next year, my last year of college. My reason for a cash sale. I was hoping to resolve this without any out-of-pocket from the dealership or myself or some type of arbitration. Repair assistance seemed out of the question from the dealership. I understand the Warranty Forever is not provided for this vehicle clearly stated and I understand 'as is" concept. My issues are: 1. Buyer's guide not displayed - new trade-in or copy received. 2. Dealership mechanic did not inspect or fill fluids as required/requested. 3. Implied Warranty exists in Ohio Law even with as is purchase 4. Vehicle failed E-Check during period 5. Fair Good faith effort or arbitration not extended As a college student and previous customer and owner of a used car from Great Lakes Hyundai, which includes my parents and relatives, I was hoping that they would make a good faith effort and allow me to use the $2300 toward another suitable car on their lot based on the circumstances of purchase listed above.

Desired Settlement: I would hope that they would just allow me to return the vehicle and apply the purchase price of $2300 or depreciation price of $2000 (to be fair because I have possession of the vehicle) toward a used vehicle on their lot at an equal or fair negotiated price with no out-of-pocket from either of us. Great Lakes Hyundai of Streetsboro VS college student.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/14) */ Attn: Better Business Bureau Akron RE: case#******** In response to the complaint issued by ****** *****, Great Lakes Hyundai would like to address the stated issues. 1. Customer states Buyers Guide was not displayed in the vehicle window of the vehicle being purchased. Response: It is our policy at Great Lakes Hyundai to attach a buyer's guide to the passenger window of any and all cars being traded in before the previous customer's plates are removed. Not only is this policy strictly enforced, but after careful review of the file of Ms *****'s purchase, I not only found a copy of said buyers guide stating the vehicle was "as is" but it was signed by Ms *****. This buyer's guide clearly states the following; YOU WILL PAY ALL COSTS FOR ANY REPAIRS. The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about the vehicle. Furthermore Great Lakes Hyundai not only has an open door policy on customers taking "as is" vehicles to their own mechanics, but actually encourages it. 2. Customer states she did not receive free copy of Car Fax. Response: If in fact Ms ***** did not receive a copy of the vehicle history report (Car Fax) as she has stated, the dealership would be happy to provide a copy. 1. Customer states dealership mechanic did not inspect or fill fluids as requested. Response: not only was this vehicle represented to be sold "as is" but the salesman states that the buyer, Ms *****, did in fact bring her own mechanic to our premises to inspect the vehicle. 1. Customer states Ohio Law implies a warranty even on "as is" purchase. Response: Customer admits and acknowledges that no verbal or written warranty was implied by the salesman or any other member of the Great Lakes Hyundai employment. 2. Customer states vehicle failed E-check Response: Dealership would be happy to address the issue of a failed E-check 1. Customer states fair good faith effort or arbitration was not offered. Response: Great Lakes Hyundai makes every effort to address every problem a customer has. When a vehicle is sold "as is" and is sold for $2379 the dealership is limited as to the amount of help it can provide. The dealership would like to help if possible. Please contact a member of management to see if a suitable arrangement can be made to resolve this matter to everyone's satisfaction.

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought vehicle didnt fix items that were told were wrong but was told bring back in and would fix after financing went through. 13000

Desired Settlement: I want what was said was to be fixed fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/01) */ At the time of sale the customer requeted that we fix the oil cap as it would not come off. That was corrected.At that point noting further was due the customer per our "WE OWE" document. That document was signed by the customer on March 13, 2015. On the 18th of March the customer expressed a concern about a fluid leak. As a courtesy we replaced tranmission lines for the customer at no cost. Nothing more was promissed. We have fullfilled our promise to fix the oil cap and extended additional assistance in replacing transmission lines. Documentation is available upon request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) At the time of sale it was mentioned by the seller that there was as thorough inspection done on the vechile which wasn't done. I personally spoke to the used car manager and mentioned to him what needed to be fixed he was notified about this several times. His comment back to me was " people make mistakes they probably overlooked it and it is a used car what do you expect." I understand its a used car.. The items I wanted fixed prior buying the truck some were and some were not fixed. All I'm asking is fix what you say your gonna fix and do the inspection like your going to do. The lines were not a courtsey this was mentioned before signing papers my me that they need to be fixed also the oil cap and and oil goose neck which was not fixed. All I've bought 2 cars form great lakes this will be the last. Customer service has gotten worse through the years.

1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to send refund paperwork in then failure to issue check over course of four months. After having my car declared a total loss I went into the dealer to fill out paperwork for a refund for my warranty forever. They didn't send the paperwork to the warranty company for months. Then, they've held the check such that I have months of late fees and extra interest on my bank loan which is awaiting their check. Every phone call to them is returned with the excuse that they are backed up, they already sent it (only to find out they lied), they just received the check (even though they say this every week), or some other excuse. I'm out hundreds of dollars and my credit score has gone down since I've relied on their lies waiting for the check that will pay off my car loan.

Desired Settlement: I want the check sent out and my late fees paid. I'd also like an apology for their terrible business practices that have injured my credit score.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/13) */ WE DID RECEIVE A CANCELLATION REQUEST FROM MR *******. THE REQUEST WAS DATED 10/22/2014. WE ADVISE OUR CUSTOMERS THAT IT CAN TAKE UP TO SIX WEEKS FOR A CANCELLATION TO BE PROCESSED. WE MAILED A CHECK TO THE BANK 12/5/2014. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) According to this business, the check was NOT mailed out the day this complaint was filed. Statements by their representatives recorded on the 9th of December will confirm. After that, repeated phone calls went unreturned. The bank confirmed. However, payment was satisfactorily received finally on Friday the 12th after this was filed. I'm very unhappy they even refuse to admit that the warranty company sent the check out a while ago and the dealer held the check that entire time. Date on check will also confirm. At this point a little responsibility would be nice. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/30) */ We do not wish to further argue with Mr. ******* concerning specific dates on when things were sent and or received. We however would like to bring to his attention again that the cancellation form he signed was dated 10/22/2014. The form clearly states that cancellations can take up to six weeks to process. Based on that information his refund should have been to the bank by Decenber 3, 2014. If Mr. ****** received any lake payment fees for the month of December we are willing to reimburse him with proof of late fees paid to the basnk for that month. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused mr ******. Hopefully this will be sufficient to resolve this complaint. *** ****** General Sales Mgr Great Lakes Hyundai

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Seller did not fully go over all details of warranty when selling vehicle On April 6, 2013 I bought a vehicle from Great Lakes Hyundai in Streetsboro, Ohio. Part of completing the sale was the establishment giving me the lifetime warranty that they offer. I asked the sales rep at that time what I needed to do to make sure my warranty stays valid. The sales rep told me that all that was required was to maintain my service appointments which I have done. When I took my vehicle there today to get it serviced for something the warranty should have covered my claim was denied. Come to find out in the fine print of the warranty there were other requirements that I was not made aware of at the time of vehicle purchase. I tried to speak with the general manager of the establishment but that was to no avail. I believe they should have went over the entire warranty at the time of purchase to make sure it was fully understood. I was given a copy of the warranty but since I specifically asked what needed to be done to keep my warranty valid so I did not read all of the fine print. I think I was misinformed and the dealership should stand by the warranty and they are refusing to do so.

Desired Settlement: Would like them to reissue a new warranty and stand by their initial agreement

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/12) */ To whom it may concern The consumer was asked to sign a warranty agreement at the time of sale, which he did. In addition to signing the agreement the consumer was also asked to intial by the maintenance requirements needed to keep his contract valid,which he did. We assume since the consumer signed and initialled the contract he understood the agreement. If he had any reservations or questions we would assume he would have brought them up at that time. Additionally the consumer was given a copy of the contract at the time of sale allowing him additional time to review what he had signed. Unfortunately the consumer failed to perform maintenance required by manufacturer at 90,000 miles.The mileage on the vehicle at the time of the claim was 92,977. The only resolution I can offer the counsumer is to see if the administrator of the contract would reinstate the contract with the provision that the consumer get all maintenance current and repair any pre-existing conditions.There would addtionally be a four month and four thousand waiting period before a claim could be filed. ***********

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: recently purchased a car from them and the car has multiple issues that were over looked and sold as a quality used car. dealer refused to fix issues recently purchased a used car from this dealer and it turned out to have multiple problems. the car looked to be in perfect condition but turns out that the vehicle was wrecked and not reported to car fax. the dealer never mentioned that there was any repairs to the vehicle or that the windows leak, the cv shaft was already bad and multiple things were missing like interior mounts. i called the dealer to have the window fixed and they told me that they could not cover other work on the vehicle. they refused to do anything about the problem or cover any of the cost. so i was sold a wrecked vehicle that was advertised as used not repaired or salvage. now i have multiple issues with my car and the car i traded was in complete working order. i bought the car on august 24 and the problems arose a few weeks after. contacted the dealer on September 23rd not even a full month after purchase.the sales rep's name was ***********. all i want is to not have to pay for these repairs on a car i just bought or to have the dealer honor the cars they sell. i feel taken advantage of when i traded a car that was in perfect condition. i replaced the cv shaft and had the window sealed and now have to have the car aligned and tires balanced. the brakes are acting up and will have to be fixed the parking brake is dragging there are just multiple problems and the dealer says they new nothing of any of these problems.

Desired Settlement: i am seeking to be reimbursed for the work i have to have done now to insure the car is in working order.because the dealer sold a car to a customer that was not in good shape. if this is an issue i don't know the laws on getting the car i traded back and returning the car they sold me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/11) */ TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: ON AUGUST 24,2013 MR ****** PURCHASED FROM US A 2007 VW GTI WITH 79000 MILES. INCLUDED WITH THE PURCHASE, AT NO CHARGE TO MR ******, WAS A LIFETIME POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. HE DECLINED TO PURCHASED ANY ADDITIONAL COVERAGES WHEN OFFERED. ON SEPT. 23, 2013 MR ****** CALLED. AND STATED HE HAD A WINDOW LEAK AND THE SERVICE COMPANY HE HAD CALLED TO REPAIR THE LEAK WAS ON THE WAY AND MR ****** WAS SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT. WE EXPLAINED TO MR ****** THAT WE DID NOT AUTORIZE ANY REPAIRS NOR DO WE PAY FOR REPAIRS DONE OUTSIDE OF THE DEALERSHIP. AT THAT TIME MR ****** DID NOT EXPRESS THAT HE WAS HAVING ANY OTHER ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE. THE FIRST TIME WE WERE MADE AWARE OF HIS ADDTIONAL CONCERS WAS WHEN RECEIVED THIS COMPLAINT FROM THE BBB. WE HAVE MADE SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO CONTACT MR ****** TO SET UP AND APPOINTMENT TO ADDRESS HIS OTHER CONCERNS. MR ****** HAS YET TO SET AN APPOINTMENT WITH OUR SERVICE DEPT. IF WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE IS COVERED UNDER HIS POWERTRAIN WARRANTY THERE WILL BE NO EXSPENCE TO HIM.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Great Lakes Hyundai
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart