BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/26/1992

Quality Body Shop Inc

Phone: (330) 376-5121Fax: (330) 376-3219878 West Bowery Street, AkronOH 44307 Send email to Quality Body Shop Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/26/1992

BBB has determined that Quality Body Shop Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Quality Body Shop Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Quality Body Shop Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took my car in for body work and when I picked it up my sensor said my door was ajar and my car would not lock.
Took my car in on the 9th of September, 2013 to repair a dent in the front drivers side panel. I picked back up my car on Wednesday, September 11th. When I got in my 2004 Saab Arc Turbo 9-3 I saw that my sensor was saying my door was ajar and i could not get it to turn off. When I arrived home, I then tried to lock my car and it no longer locked. When I went back in the following day, the 12th, ****** said they tried to get it to go off and succeeded and that they then lubricated my door latch and it came back on and will not turn back off. She said she was going to try to charge the insurance co. that was responsible for my repairs and I asked if it was from the accident, to which she said it was not but she was going to try anyways and she'd call me back on Monday, September 16th. When she did not return my call I called them and talked to ******. She said the insurance company wouldn't pay for it and they weren't going to fix it for me either. That is when I decided to file a complaint.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking Quality Body Shop to fix the 2 items that were damaged when it was in their care.

Business Response
In response to Ms. ********* complaint please reference the 2 attachments the final repair order and photos of the door handle vs door latch/lock locations.

On Sept. 9-11 we did a repair on the front bumper and replaced the left FENDER of her 2004 Saab 9-3. The left front door was a blend panel for color match. We did remove and reinstalled (R&I operation) the following items...left door molding, mirror, interior trim panel and the left door handle. Please note in the photo the door handle is located below the window. Also note the door latch, located on the side of the door need the mid-point of the door.
Due to the location of the latch we did not have to touch it in order to blend paint onto the door. We did not test the lock operation prior to repairs since it was not part of the repair process. Once the repairs were completed the technician noticed the lock not working properly. Upon inspection he saw the door latch/lock was worn. As a customer curtsey he lubricated the mechanism.
When the customer returned on September 12th, we called the insurance company regarding the lock. The insurance representative denied the claim that the door lock was damaged in the accident.
Ms. ******* now believes we damaged the lock. The lock was not included in any of the repair process. We did NOT remove the lock. The item is not working due to being a "wear item" such as brakes, hoses and belts etc.
We regret Ms. ******* is unhappy but we do not feel we are responsible for replacing her door lock since we did not repair or remove any items around the door latch/lock. Please see photos for location relationship of the door handle vs the door latch/lock


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because the damage was not there when I brought my car in. Also yesterday I received a letter from Quality Body Shop saying they have 100 percent customer satisfaction, i an completely unsatisfied. *********** even told me herself that she thought they must have hit a wire that made my sense come on. The sensor is alerting to the area they worked on.

Final Business Response
10-4-13
On Sept. 9-11 we did a REPAIR ON THE FRONT BUMPER AND REPLACED THE LEFT FENDER of her 2004 Saab 9-3. The left front door was a blend panel for color match. There was NOT ANY DAMAGE ON THE FRONT DOOR. We did remove and reinstalled (R&I operation) the following items...left door molding, mirror, interior trim panel and the left door handle.
AGAIN, NO REPAIRS WERE DONE ON THE DOOR...WE DID NOT REMOVE THE LATCH ASSEMBLY when we blended paint onto the door.
The door ajar light is on because the door latch assembly is worn. The sensor is located inside the door latch. The door latch/sensor assembly is not working properly due to wear. This is the cause the door is not locking not our workmanship. From a visual inspection, the latch assembly appears to be an original item on the 2004 Saab and at the time the vehicle had 121,358 miles on it.
Again, we feel this was a coincidence of the door latch assembly/sensor going bad on or about the time of the repairs. It had nothing to do with the repairs we did on the front bumper and left fender.

07/18/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company will not honor warranty - to repair their previous work.
Prior to getting a paint job from another company, on 6/5/13 I faxed some paperwork to Quality Body Shop and stopped by to have them look at car. ***** gave me an excuse for the rust on the part of the car that they had repaired in 2005. He stated it was due to rust and their warranty does not cover rust. I explained that this was hard for me to believe since the other bumper had not rusted out. He kept repeating himself to me, I then asked him if he thought I was dumb because I heard him the first time, but did not agree with that explanation. He stormed away and told me "Lady I'm not going to deal with you, if you are going to talk to me like that." ***** claimed that due to oncoming traffic in the opposite lane salt had rusted out the driver's side back bumper. I insisted that if salt was the issue what about the passenger's side back bumper. His reasoning makes no sense. salt is thrown across the road on both sides of a car (we have 4 lane road everywhere and what about the expressway that has a divider in middle to prevent oncoming traffic he talked about). It was clear he was trying to avoid honoring the warranty. When I went back into to shop to get the name and contact information for the president or CEO, he yelled at into the lobby that he was the person in charged. He came out to looby area and threw his card at me onto the counter and stated that I was just trying to get something for nothing. I told him I was not here to argue with him, but I would be back and I walked out at this point.

Desired Settlement
Only tow options: 1) either the company honors the warranty and fixes the bumper or 2) he pays for another shop of my choosing to repair the bumper. At this point, I am concerned about his company having my car. I am concerned that he was damage my vehicle out of retailation.

Business Response
Attached is a copy of the repairs completed on ***********'s 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser repaired in July of 2005 and a copy of our written warranty.

*********** did come in for us to inspect her vehicle for us to determine if the rust was covered under warranty.

Upon inspection, ***** *******, the General Manager, inspected the rust on the left quarter of her vehicle. (We think she is mistakenly referring to it as the rear bumper in her claim since she did not say anything to us regarding the bumper when she came in.) ***** told her the rust on the left quarter was not covered under warranty since the same and adjoining area of the vehicle was re-damaged from another incident. This allowed water and road salt to get behind the body repair filler and causing the area to rust.

At that point *********** became very upset. The manager tried to explain this to her again. *********** became very agitated. The more ***** tried to explain, the more upset she became. ***** terminated the conversation, not wanting to argue.

Quality Body Shop does not have any obligation to cover this complaint under warranty. It has been 8 years since we repaired this vehicle and she had no rust complaints prior to this. This is not due to our workmanship.

The rust is due from the previously repair area having been RE-DAMAGED in another incident thus causing the rust.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

The warranty was not for 8 years, it was a lifetime warranty. The damage is more than rust where they repaired it - it is what one may say - warped - as well. The car was scratched (surface scratch) since the original repair and it is not near the rear driver's side rear light - where they repaired it from a car accident. In no way can they honestly say this scratch caused water to get behind the body filler, since it is in two separate locations. Not to mention, the rear bumper acts as a buffer for road debris & salt near the original repair by the rear light. The scratch, which I full well took responsibility for during the conversation with ***** *******, is not what I am asking them to repair. They can deduct whatever that small buff & paint would cost. They need to take responsibility for their original repair that has not held up - even though the rest of my car has held up fine for the last 8 years. Again, the passenger's side rear light has no rust and it is not warping either. I take very good car of my vehicle as anyone can ascertain by a quick glance. I have receipts that prove the care I take to maintain my car. Their report about me becoming very agitated is a lie - most of their response is not true at all. ***** could not handle the fact that I questioned his logic, he was rude in how he referred to me, "lady" instead of using my name or he could have used the term "miss". He was the one yelling & screaming at me and it was I who stated, "I'm not here to argue with you, I just want the name of the president/ceo." I had a pen and piece of paper, ready to take the information. At this point he threw his business card at me and stated, "I am the president/ceo, that's me." Which is another lie that he told. ***** has demonstrated that he is not a truthful person. The company response refers to him as the general manager, not the president/ceo. It is my experience with human beings lie about one thing - they usually lie as a habit about most things. He also told me in a very loud voice that I was just trying to get something for nothing. I calmly took the card that he threw on the counter and said I will be back. I left the premises, shaken by the encounter and went to a parking lot crying. I phoned a couple of people to vent and try to understand why someone would yell and scream about honoring their warranty. Why someone who does not know me would characterize me as a free loader - trying to get something for nothing. This episode was very disturbing to me, it required prayer and counsel to compose myself to return to work and complete the remainder of my day. I absolutely do not accept the response from this business. I want the company to write a check for the cost to repair the original work - I can get three estimates from companies that the akron bbb recommends/endorses.

12/09/2013Billing / Collection Issues
09/30/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 09/01/1947
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of COL.44307003 for this company.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1997, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David M Vincent (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

This company offers COLLISION REPAIR.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Quality Body Shop Inc

878 West Bowery Street

Akron, OH 44307

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 878 West Bowery Street 

    Akron, OH 44307(330) 376-5121
    Fax: (330) 376-3219

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Quality Body Shop Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.