Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Akron Auto Painting and Collision Inc.

Phone: (330) 535-1200 Fax: (330) 535-1366 917 W Bowery St, Akron, OH 44307-1905 http://www.akronpaintingandcollision.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Akron Auto Painting and Collision Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Akron Auto Painting and Collision Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Akron Auto Painting and Collision Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 11/01/1989 Business started locally: 11/01/1989 Business incorporated 08/28/1989 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Board of Motor Vehicle Collision Repair

The number is COL.44307015.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Guy Miller, Owner Ms. Sarah Miller, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Guy Miller, Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    917 W Bowery St

    Akron, OH 44307-1905 (330) 535-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unsatisfactory and uncompleted work that was grave danger to the consumer! I selected this auto body shop to complete the repairs on my automobile, since it was a " State Farm" select shop. My car was impacted by a large stretch limo truck very hard on the drivers side, on January 17, 2016. I put my trust in my Insurance company and Akron Auto Painting to indemnify my car. My car was towed to the body shop on January 18, 2016 and returned back to me on January 27, 2016 by Akron Auto Painting (Guy M*****)signing all that paperwork and declaring that it was ready. On January 29, 2016, later that morning I noticed several messages on my LCD "Service AdvanceTrak and Service Power Steering Now." The Power Steering was something that was problem as a result of the accident on the 17th. I called Akron Auto Painting body, Guy said to me because an additional message showing "low tire pressure" and I had a flat tire with a small nail in it, this is why the power steering messages are showing. He attempted to reset it by disconnecting the battery and letting it sit for an hour. He improperly plugged my tire ( I took my tire back to the place of purchase), the next day. I called State Farm on January 29, 2016 and an additional adjuster was sent out to go over my car and to have it sent to another repair shop, to have additional diagnostic work performed. Finally, additional repairs were made by Montrose Ford, starting on 2/3/2016 and completed correctly on 2/5/2016 and it was a result of malfesis from Akron Auto Painting . I am in the process of making a major road trip and I could have been on the turnpike and my power steering could have faulted. The purpose of this is to notify anyone that may want to utilize Akron Auto Painting in the future...buyer beware.

Desired Settlement: A complaint because the insurance company covered everything except my deductible. I will not retract my complaint because of Guy M***** said to me, "This has nothing to do with the accident!" I want the owner to know about this and future customers. I have all of my paperwork.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/02/19) */ **ATTACHMENTS INCLUDED** Received at BBB via email: David, Here is our response to claim #********. I have attached a picture of miles from when the vehicle first arrived for the repairs to the front left side along with a picture of the miles from when it came back in on January 29th along with a photo of the dry wall screw which was found in the front right tire. If I could be of further assistance please feel free to contact me. Zach R******** Akron Auto Painting & Collision 917 West. Bowery Akron, Ohio 44307 Phone # 330-535-1200 Fax # 330-535-1366 This is in response to case #********. This vehicle was towed into Akron Auto Painting and Collision on January 18th 2016 with extensive damage to the front left side (driver side). No damage was done to the front right side (passenger side). When the vehicle arrived the mileage was 46,391. Akron Auto Painting and Collision performed the proper repairs on the vehicle to ensure it would be safe for the customer. Prior to customer picking up the vehicle it was driven to make sure that it would drive properly and safely. The vehicle had a front end alignment along with a safety check done by ************** store. The vehicle was completed and returned to the customer on January 27th 2016. We received a phone call from the customer on January 29th 2016 stating that he had some warning lights on and that steering was difficult. We asked the customer to stop by and allow us to look and see what lights were on and to determine what would be the cause of the steering issue. The customer returned to Akron Auto Painting and Collision on January 29th. The vehicle returned with 377 miles on it since being picked up (46,768). The owner of Akron Auto Painting and Collision spoke with the customer and wanted to take the customer and the vehicle for a test drive. A test drive was unable to occur due to the front right tire being completely flat. The customer stated he had been driving the vehicle for two days without any issues until Friday January 29th. The vehicle was pulled into the shop where an inspection was done, a drywall screw was found in the front right tire. The customer was informed of the drywall screw. As a complementary service we plugged the front right tire. The plugging of the tire was a temporary solution so the tire could at least hold enough air so the customer could drive to the tire store. The customer stated he was leaving our shop and going to the tire store where the tires had a lifetime warranty.We spoke to a service advisor from Ford who stated that we could try to unhook the battery which could possibly clear the dash lights but would not correct any steering issues. We unhooked battery and left it alone for sometime and then reconnected the battery, even after this was done the dash lights were still on. The steering issue which started on Friday January 29th were from the front right tire being flat. Akron Auto Painting and Collision holds a high standard that all repaired vehicles are safe upon being returned to our customers, and are aesthetically pleasing ensuring that the vehicle looks as good if not better to pre accident condition. If any damage is related to the loss we properly document and ensure that it is corrected.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Akron Auto Painting and Collision Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)