BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2009

Pipes & Plugs, LLC

Find a Location

(337) 364-2980View Additional Phone NumbersP O Box 12022, New IberiaLA 70562

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2009

BBB has determined that Pipes & Plugs, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pipes & Plugs, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pipes & Plugs, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Five services calls, hot water heater has never worked eight weeks coils burn out fire issue. No hot water for eight weeks. Paid $1,531.00 for nothing
Paid check check cleared

Desired Settlement
Replace or refund my ********.

Business Response
We have been out numerous times to service a water heater we installed that seems to have a factory defect. A new water heater was on order for Ms. ******** however, we will be refunding her the ******** that she originally paid for the job instead. Please contact our office when a new water heater is installed in it's place so that Pipes & Plugs can pick up ours.

03/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not fix the problem, it lasted 4 days and I PAID 4423.50
On 12-26-13 this company serviced a problem with my plumbing in bathrom, flush toilet comes in bathtub. The work they did lasted 4 days and I PAID THE $423.50 and the next week it was worst. After calling them 4 times and complaining and speaking with the boss ***** this time, all they could tell me was for more estimates they could try and fix problem. I just wanted them to fix the problem for what I ALREADY PAID THEM. I do not think I was being unreasonable. I feel I was being taking advantage of. I just wanted the problem resolved and them to be fair. I am asking for a partial refund because it was not resolved of $211.75. Invoice 35678 on 12-26-13, total was $423.50.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for a partial refund because it was not resolved of $211.75. Invoice 35678 on 12-26-13, total was $423.50.

Business Response
Ms. ******** contacted our office on 12/19/2013 about a toilet she had that would back up into the tub when flushed. She requested service be set up on 12/26/2013 around her lunch hour. On 12/26/2013 our technician was dispatched to her home at 11:22am. She was given a price for cleaning out the main line and pulling and resetting her toilet to allow access to the main line. Ms. ******** approved the work that was suggested with her signature. After many attempts to clear the stoppage, flow became improved in the line however she was told that the stoppage was not completely clear because of a problem with the main line. She was also given an estimate to replace the line to terminate any future sewer problems. The next conversation Ms. ******** had with our office was on 1/2/2014 at 10:56:42AM where she stated that "there wasn't a problem with the work right now but the toilet makes gurgling sound when flushed. Wanted to know what her warranty is." We told her that because there was a problem with the sewer line there was no warranty just as what was told to her on the original job. On 1/9/2014 Ms ******** called our office again saying that she was having a stoppage issue. Another technician was dispatched to her home and advised her that before replacing her line, we could attempt to clear the stoppage once more by installing a cleanout in her yard so that we could better access the line. To which she declined.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On 1/9/2014 The only reason why I DECLINED was because they were quoting me $507.00 more to dig up my yard plus another amount of $ 299.00 to put snake through pipes to clear or over $3,000.00 to reroute sewage pipes where I WOULD NEVER HAVE TROUBLE AGAIN. How stupid would I be to give them another penny if they did not fix the first problem. I have asked other plumber companies was this fair and they would have used $423.50 and not charged me again and fixed the problem. You do not continue dishing out more money when they did not fix the problem to start off with. So that is why I DECLINED !!!!!! You just do not treat people that unfair. You do not get a good reputation that way.

Final Business Response
Our technician was fair in giving Ms. ******** options to resolve her plumbing issues. She approved work that only got half of the problem taken care of. It was only a temporary fix. As we explained to her she needed to approve more work to permanently fix the initial problem. We did not give her additional estimates for different work. Pipes & Plugs has decided to grant Ms. ******** her request and refund her the $211.75.

12/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/13/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electricians, Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbers, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/22/2007Business started: 07/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Licensing Board for Contractors
P.O. Box 14419
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-4419
(800) 256-1392
http://www.lslbc.louisiana.gov

BBB records show a license number of 42498 for this company, issued by State Licensing Board for Contractors. Their web address is http://www.lslbc.louisiana.gov. The expiration date of this license is 07/15/2015.

Type: State Electrical License

BBB records show a license number of 1426 for this company. Active Master Plumber.

Type: Louisiana State Plumbing Board

Contact Information
Principal: Kerry Prudhomme (President)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Electricians, Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbers, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

Plumbing & Electrical service and repairs for commercial and residential properties.

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Consumer Commandments
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1340 20 Arpent Rd. 

    New Iberia, LA 70560

  • P O Box 12022 

    New Iberia, LA 70562(337) 364-2980
    (337) 267-4357

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lafayette, LA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pipes & Plugs, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (337) 267-4357
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 17, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electricians

Consumer Commandments
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.