BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2006

Banyan International Corp.

Phone: (325) 677-1874Fax: (325) 677-1372View Additional Phone Numbers2118 E Overland Trl, AbileneTX 79601-6607 Send email to Banyan International Corp.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2006

BBB has determined that Banyan International Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Banyan International Corp.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Banyan International Corp.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a Banyan crash cart kit. It had outdated and missing components. The company would not replace them nor take the product back.
I ordered a Banyan crash cart kit. It had outdated and missing components. The company would not replace the items so I complained to the credit card company and they agreed with my complaint, returning the money. I then began receiving drugs that were supposed to be included in the first place and drugs that were to expire in under a year from purchase and get billed for those as well. I explained to the company that I would gladly pay for their kit if they just provide what was supposed to be included in the first place and that it should be good for at least one year but they did not agree and continue to send me inflammatory bills with interest accruing.

Desired Settlement
Replace the drugs that were due to expire in under one year and I will gladly pay for the entire kit. I will not pay for the same or incomplete sets twice.

Business Response
During a review of the customer account, it appears that the customer ordered an emergency medical kit in July of 2015, at which time several medications were on national manufacturer back order. The customer then disputed the charge for the original kit through their credit card company. (the original invocie remains open for the kit) which the customer still has possession of and did not return. On 10/22, 10/30, 11/05 and 11/25 of 2015 all back orders were shiped to the customer. It appears that the customer has a complete kit in their possession and yet Banyan has not received any payment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business claims that I have the kit in my possession. That is only because they did not allow me to return it. I would be happy to return the kit and anything they'd sent. The problem is that they included medications in the order that were due to expire and needed to be purchased within the year they'd sent the kit. I will not pay for the expiring medication. If they send replacements for everything due to expire I will pay the bill.

Final Business Response
Once the kit is returned, we will credit the account in full.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company sent us a product that was not ordered and is refusing to take it back. Product is in original packaging and unopened.
A Medical Stat Kit was ordered one time over a year ago. It was a one time order and no contract was discussed or signed concerning automatic renewal of services. I called the sales agent and informed him we did not require their services. I also notified the sales agent that one of our offices had closed and he went ahead and head the items shipped to our open office anyway. The sales agent is refusing to take back the product that was sent. No contract for services was ever signed or discussed, Sales practices are deceitful.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to take back the unsolicited, unopened products they have sent us and not continue to bill us.

Business Response
All of our kits and trays are sold with the KMCA "Keep Me Current Automatic" program. KMCA is a program in which Banyan keeps up with the expiration dates in the medical kit and the medications are shipped out to the doctor's office quarterly. The service is free of charge; the doctor is just responsible for the cost of the medications. This service saves the doctor on multiple shipping charges if they order individual items and time for their office staff because they do not have to continually check the items in their kit to make sure nothing is expired in case of an emergency.. Banyan includes a notification in our kits and trays that this service comes with the kits and that if they do not want it, they must call and cancel the service.

We do not accept returns because the integrity of the medications cannot be guaranteed once they leave the facility (temperature fluctuations, tamper proof seals, etc...)

I do want to apologize for the misunderstanding and we will issue a credit to your account. You are welcome to keep or destroy the medications.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/20/2001Business started: 01/01/1972
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1972, TX

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Tracy Melton (Director of Operations and Sales)Ms. Tyshane Phariss (Operations Manager)
Contact Information
Ms. Ruth Christopher Mr. Don Cohen DMDMr. Ken Rosenblood
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

Medical equipment & supplies, pharmaceuticals, AED units & crash carts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Banyan International Corp.

2118 E Overland Trl

Abilene, TX 79601-6607

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2118 E Overland Trl 

    Abilene, TX 79601-6607(325) 677-1874
    (800) 351-4530
    Fax: (325) 677-1372

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Friendly Frontier. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Banyan International Corp. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 351-4530
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.