BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Urban Construction

Phone: (325) 370-5486

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
04/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired him to do an addition to our house and he has not finished and we can't get ahold of him. We have paid in full also.
He was hired to add on to our house. We signed a contract that says he will complete and satisfy the customer in every way possible signed on 6/12/15. It also states it should take no longer than 120 days. We paid him 6k 4/9/15 for concrete. 1,750 for extra plumbing 6/12/15. Paid 20,066.58 6/24/15. Paid 13,395.94 7/10/15. Paid 4262.68 8/12/15. Paid 250.00 for more extra plumbing 8/12/15. He was on schedule and doing good with the work up to that point. Then in September he asked for the final payment to buy the rest of the materials to finish so we paid him the final payment of 4,262.00 on 9/11/15. It is now Dec. XX XXXX and he has not finished and he has not bought all the materials to finish. We have been trying to get ahold of him for weeks and he will not come and finish. I leave voice mails and text messages with no response from him. He still needs to insulate the attic and cover the exposed attic holes, the soffits. The rooms are unusable. The electrical outlets still need to be done. Water heater not fully installed. No hot water. Cracks in ceiling and walls not all the way painted. We need pocket door for the closet. Bathroom is unfinished. No carpet. Light fixtures and ceiling fans not installed. Dryer vent has not been moved causing moisture in between the wall. We just want it finished so we can live in it. We needed it done 2 months ago. He told us that it would be done before thanksgiving and it's now new years with no contact from him. We feel like he took our money and ran. We know he's been working other places and have just left us hanging. We need a resolution asap.

Desired Settlement
We need the work we paid for finished. We want to be able to move into the rooms.

04/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The owner stated that he would complete repairs to home for ***** and we paid him ***** up front. He has has not completed the job.
I am submitting this complaint because we purchased all materials and were paying him for labor. He did not show up to work every day. Sometimes it would be 5 or 6 days before any work was done. The insurance company was paying the hotel bill for my parents to stay in while repairs were being done. He has not even completed half the work. The work that he has done has to be redone because it was not done correctly.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $1900

Business Response


04/27/2016Problems with Product / Service
09/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We paid him in full and he has not finished the job. He refuses to call us back or respond in any way.
Contracts were signed June of 2015. We added on 2 rooms and a bathroom to our house. We had to get a loan from the bank and spend our own savings. The job was only supposed to take 3-4 months and it's been over a year. We paid him extra money to do the outside stucco and he never paid the subcontractors so they never finished the outside. We had to finish the walls inside since they were poorly done. The entire addition is not insulated so its stays hot in the new part. Our A/C works overtime and has gone out due to uninsulated rooms. Spent 640.00 more to fix it. The shower floor was poorly done because it's not level and the shower tile was never sealed so the bathroom shower is not usable. The grout on the tile is not high enough. We have no closet door and the vanity light was never hung. We had to relocate our dryer vent and that was never done. Outside porch light was never installed. Our bathroom cabinet was never stained. We paid him in full September 2015 a day he's yet to finish a day he has not responded to our calls,voicemails,or text messages. He is unprofessional and not a legitimate contractor. City permits are expired and the city can't get ahold of him either.

Desired Settlement
We need money back so we can hire a real contractor to finish what's left.

09/07/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.