BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/22/1969

First Financial Bank

Find a Location

(325) 627-7200View Additional Phone Numbers400 Pine St, AbileneTX 79601-5108 Send email to First Financial Bank

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/22/1969

BBB has determined that First Financial Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised First Financial Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on First Financial Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
09/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
First Financial Bank Abilene failed to notify the Texas Department of Motor vehicles that the lien had been released on my vehicle within 10 days. I received a letter from the bank dated 3 days after I paid off my loan informing me that the title was enclosed and the lien was released. There was no title enclosed and the lien had in fact not been released. After approximately 60 days, I was notified that the person responsible for notifying the DMV had been on vacation during the time period that I paid off my loan and that it "must have fallen through the cracks" as no one noticed the error.

Desired Settlement
I need First Financial to notify the DMV that they no longer have a lien on my vehicle so that I can receive my title.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ****** AVP
Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@ffin.com
The customer had an ETITLE (an electronic title, not a traditional paper title) - which means that we cannot provide them with a title because we do not have one. We use a program called Vintek to release our lien on ETITLEs; and, then the state mails the title to the customer - usually within 2 weeks of our submitting the request. We send a letter, along with a paid letter, that states "Due to all titles being done as electronic titles, your title will be mailed to you from Austin, Texas. They should be received within approximately two weeks."

She should have received this letter with her paid letter. We did fail to get this done on 07/11/14 - when the loan paid off. We were not aware of the error until she called on 09/08/14 to ask where her title was. As soon as we were aware of the error - we immediately released the title in Vintek to go to the customer.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I understand the ETITLE process. I called the bank on two occasions (7/31/14 and 9/8/14) to inquire on the status of my lien. I was told the DMV had already been notified by the bank and that I was waiting on the DMV to mail my title. It was not until I called the DMV on 9/8/14 that I found out they had never been informed of the lien release from the bank. The bank was still required to promptly notify the DMV of my lien release (within 10 days). My letter from the bank did not state "Due to all titles being done as electronic titles, your title will be mailed to you from Austin, Texas. They should be received within approximately two weeks." Instead, my letter said: "Enclosed is the original title to your vehicle with our lien released" (dated 7/14/14). My title was obviously not included with the letter.

12/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Debit card not working after activation
Company merged with Orange Savings Bank, and moved customers to First Financial Bank debit cards and website. Since the merging of accounts, my debit card has not worked for 2 days now. They stated that it is active and to keep trying. I have tried the card at several businesses and ATM's, but I am unable to get cash or make payments. They also were having printing issues at the local branch, and extremely long wait periods to get cash.

Desired Settlement
They need to have their system working so that people can use debit cards.

Business Response
Mr. ********* is correct in reporting that we had a significant level of debit card issues after the data processing conversion. I have reviewed recent activity on his account and it appears that he is now using his debit card for various transactions. We apologize for the inconvenience experienced by our customers.

10/08/2012Billing / Collection Issues
09/25/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/21/1969Business started: 01/02/1900
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Banking, Department of, Texas
2601 N Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78705
(512) 475-1300
http://www.banking.state.tx.us

Banking, Department of, Texas
2601 N Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78705
(877) 276-5554
http://www.banking.state.tx.us

Business Management
Mr. Ron Butler (CEO)Mr. Tim Collard (Branch Manager)Mr. Chris Evatt (Branch Manager)Mrs. Marelyn Shedd (President-Abilene)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Tennesson CashierMs. Patty Fuentes (Retail Branch Manager.)Mr. Evan Harris (Commercial Loan Officer) Judy Havins ('Treasury Management Support) Janet O'Dell (Mortgage Loan Officer) Connie Stone (Mortgage Loan Officer)
Number of Employees

330

Business Category

Banks

Products & Services

Full service banking products.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for First Financial Bank

400 Pine St

Abilene, TX 79601-5108

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 1010 N Judge Ely Blvd 

    Abilene, TX 79601-3854(325) 627-7750
    Fax: (325) 627-7740

  • 1801 Antilley Rd 

    Abilene, TX 79606-5206(325) 627-7561

  • 3300 S 14th St 

    Abilene, TX 79605-5016(325) 627-7700
    (325) 627-7691
    Fax: (325) 627-7722
    Fax: (325) 627-7722

  • 400 Pine St 

    Abilene, TX 79601-5108(325) 627-7200
    Fax: (325) 627-7136

  • 4400 Buffalo Gap Rd. 

    Abilene, TX 79606-2723(325) 627-7600
    Fax: (325) 627-7606

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Friendly Frontier. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*First Financial Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (325) 627-7775

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (325) 627-7136
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.