BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Systemax Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Systemax Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 24

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated: 06/07/1995 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Donna Gehnrich, Asst General Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna Gehnrich, Asst General Counsel
Business Category

COMPUTERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES-DEALERS INDUSTRIAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES


Additional Locations

  • 11 Harbor Park Drive

    Port Washington, NY 11050

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (516) 608-7000(Phone)
  • (516) 608-7000(Phone)
  • (516) 625-1555(Phone)
  • (516) 625-4300(Phone)
  • (516) 625-6200(Phone)
  • (800) 472-0101(Phone)
  • (800) 645-1232(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Systemax owns among various companies - "Global Equipment Company" in the USA and "Global Equipment Canada". I ordered the Big D Odor Control Fogger (item #*******) from *******************, and paid for it on June **** 2014. The item was never delivered to my door. I was led to believe I was ordering from a Canadian site, and the product would be delivered within Canada. Instead, it took two weeks to have it delivered by UPS to a Canadian shipping address, which was then picked up by Canada Post and delivered to an address in **********. I live in Toronto, and my correct address was given, however the package never arrived. Canada Post pointed the finger at ******************** with which ******************* is affliated with. I called and wrote emails to globalindustrial at: ************************* and ###-###-####. Each time they reassured me that they would get to the bottom of it. Ultimately, no one knew where the package ended up. I've asked for a refund today, and they said they would credit my VISA. However, ******************* and their dristribution center ******************** is disorganized and gives poor customer service. They are not trustworthy. As well, the ******************* website is deceitful in having customers believe the products are being delivered from Canada. I went on the Systemax website at* **************************************** and called their business numbers to give an account of what happened with Global Industrial, and every phone number is busy or goes to voice mail. I don't believe that this is a reputable company. The BBB has 24 complaints closed within last 3 years and 7 closed in the last 12 months from unhappy customers, yet the BBB is still giving Systemax as a parent company an A+.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of $94.23 in Canadian dollars credited to the VISA card on file ( I have been promised this amount today by "*******" at *******************, but I don't trust this company). I want the ******************* website to state that the orders are shipped from the United States, both prior to ordering, and just before the order is sent through by the customer. I also want the Systemax rating to be dropped to a "C" or "D" because of the 24 complaints customers have filed with the BBB. Mine makes 25.

Business Response: *** ******,

We apologize for any convenience *** ***** encountered with her order. Please note that customer service initiated a refund as soon as we were aware of the delivery issue and I have confirmed that it has been pushed through and will process tonight. With respect to *** *****'s comments about the shipment being from the US instead of Canada, please note that Global Industrial Canada is a Canadian entity, but our customers are clearly informed that the products ship from the US. I have attached a copy of the Global Industrial Canada website for your review. The same information appears on other pages of the site through and including the shopping cart page. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions or comments.

***** ******** *** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I haven't received a refund to my VISA yet.  When can I expect my VISA to be refunded for the $94.23 CAD I'm owed now that it "has been pushed through"? 

The notation at the bottom of the ******************* website appears new.  There is no notation about the products shipping from the USA when checking out (even if there was one now, it would have just been placed there by the web design team).

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

Business Response: As stated in my response, the credit will be processed on our end tonight although we have no control over when *** *****' bank will put it in her account. She may want to check tomorrow. I am told that the legend regarding the stocking location being in the US is not new and though it is not on the checkout page, it is on all other pages throughout the website.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is an unauthorized debit on my account from a company with this phone number ###-###-#### and name. I called but could not get to a rep. I did not make a purchase but my account has been debited $200 +/-. I am looking for a full refund and repayment of overdraft fees. Here is the debit Completed on: 01/**/2014 Description: MASTERMONEY PURCHASE POS PURCHASE TERMINAL ******** SYX*GLOBALCOMPS ********* FL XXXXXXXXXXXX**** Amount: $286.81 Transaction type: WITHDRAWAL .

Desired Settlement: Full refund and repayment of overdraft fees

Business Response:

*** *******

 

We looked into *** *****'s complaint and discovered that the order appears to have been place fraudulently through the web. *** ***** has no order history with us and we had a verification agent look into the shipping address and the customer is not listed. Also, the email does not match with any information for the customer. We will refund the payment method to alleviate any financial inconveniences to the customer. We do suggest that she contacts her financial institution for further assistance as her information may have been compromised.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

***** ********

***** ********

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter will be resolved as soon as the funds are returned to my checking account.

Sincerely,

**** *****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed one order of office dividers about one month ago, the delivery is separated in 3 portions . I received 2 of 3 portion, however, I never receive the last portion, I sent email and made number of calls. the issue is not resolved, the person simply said she will call me back or hang up the phone.

Desired Settlement: To divide the office, we need all of the parts. it doesn't make sense if you only deliver portion of them. please deliver ASAP. otherwise, I ask for refund

Business Response:

*** ******,

 

We have been in contact with the customer even before we received the complaint. and have been diligently working to resolve. We shipped the remaining pieces to the customer immediately, however due to the carrier (the delivering terminal) being closed due to the holidays it took an extra day or two. The missing items will be delivered on January *** and the customer has been informed. Thank you

 

*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 87 year old mother purchased Nexelon Wire shelving which is suppose to have a lifetime warranty against rust and corrosion. Upon receiving the product, it was discovered that the posts were rusted on the inside. We asked the company to pickup the product from the delivery address and issue a full refund. They refuse.

Desired Settlement: A full refund plus pickup the product from the delivery address with no further cost to us.

Business Response:

*** ******,

 

Please note that this individual never contacted us until we received an email late last night. All contact was with the distributor of the product. They are not our customer but purchased the shelving from someone who purchased it from us. However, as soon as we were alerted to the issue, we contacted the individual and assured them that we will arrange to have all of the material picked up from them at our expense. Once we have received the shelving, we will have the distributor issue a full credit.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any further questions.

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me however I will consider the matter resolved until the product is indeed picked up and I have received my full credit.

Sincerely,

******* *****



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

No credit has been received but the merchandise was returned and received and receipt was confirmed by the company.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

Business Response: The credit in full was issued to the customer by the dealer on the ****. It sometimes takes a day or two to show up. We have been in touch with this customer throughout the process and informed them of this.. The confirmation number given to us by the dealer is

Authorize.net Transaction ID : **********  .

 

*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a floor mat which arrived with the wrong dimensions despite the fact I clearly specified the dimensions. I was told i would receive a credit but unlike most Ethical companies which provide a credit within 2-3 business days I'm now having to wait 30 days to receive my credit back on my credit card which I already paid for. I placed another order for a replacement mat and my credit card was charged right way, 2 weeks pass and I get an email about a "delay" due to shortage and now I'm upset because after 2 weeks I'm being told now I have to wait on top of the 3 months before this product is to arrive there is additional delays for some unforeseen amount of time, so i requested a full refund if the mat is not shipped by Nov *** which is the original date it was set to ship almost 2 weeks after the order was made. If there is a delay I do not believe I should have to wait another 30 Days to get a refund on a non delivered item. I want a refund within reasonable time frame like most online businesses. Global Industrials unethical accounting and collection practices only affects the customers which must pay upfront while Gobal makes interest off my Money in their bank account for at minimum 6 weeks.

Desired Settlement: I want an Instant refund under 5 business days which should not be hard to do. They sure are quick at taking customers money and making money off our money but quite slow at making proper refunds.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I received an email from Global with regards to the last email being sent in error and i received my tracking number. However I'm still waiting for my credit on the original order

Sincerely,

*** ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased four fans because of the rebate. The rebate was denied because I did not include the Original UPC Barcode Label (#**************. That bar code was on the packaging and destroyed as soon as I unpacked the fans. I contacted the company and they said to go ahead and submit the rebate forms and they would okay the rebate. The lady said it was obvious that I received the fans, paid for the fans, and they were certainly delivered. Enclosed is the letter I received denying the rebate. I sent them an email regarding the rebate and they will not reply. I tried to talk online with their representative but Usher said I would have to go through yet another email process.This is the email I received: Dear **** *******,Your Rebate was not approved for the following reason(s)- Original UPC Barcode Label (#*************) (Not the shipping label barcode) is missingOur decision to not approve your rebate claim was based upon examination of the documents that we received from you. If you wish to view all documentation you may simply click on this link ********************************************************************************************************However, the rebates sponsoring manufacture/reseller has authorized us to offer you one additional opportunity to resubmit for this rebate claim. There is only one exception to resubmitting, and that is, if your rebate claim was denied due to being outside of the allowable time frame, then unfortunately you are not eligible to resubmitt.Global may be technically correct in their denial-but their customer service needs attention. The bar codes they referenced, are long ago burnt up in the fire.Any help you can offer will be greatly appreciated.Thank You,**** *******

Desired Settlement: I would like Gobal to honor the rebate they promised regardless of the technicality. This may be a scam, using any excuse to not have to honor their rebate. It is a poor way to get customers to purchase their products. I will not make that mistake again.Thank You again,**** *******

Business Response:

*******,

We have heard from the rebate company and they have approved the rebates for this customer. The rewards card information was submitted to American Express today and will be mailed out within the next couple of business days via regular mail. We will be calling the customer to inform him of this.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions.

 

*****

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


Thank you so much for all your help.  They claim they have decided to honor their rebate.
I will let you know if they fail to honor their commitment.
Sincerely,

**** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered 10 gram scales 6/**/2013 ORDER # *******) ((Setra Super Count Counting Scales - ******) that was advertised as having the A/C adapter. When they arrived there was no A/C Adapter. When I called they told me there was a mistake on the web page, these did not come with the A/C Adaptors and the A/C adaptors were extra, product number is 90524-66 which is $35.97 each. Before I even ordered these I talked to a sales person that also told me they came with the adaptors. They sent me 2 free adaptors and said they would check into me returning the other 8 scales. After several weeks of e-mails between ***** *******, Corporate Sales Customer Service , I was told that these scales were not returnable and I would have to purchase the A/C Adaptors. The last e-mail, in-which she tried to recalled said they would only charge me for 5 adaptors and credit me for 3. Total $179 extra for something that was advertised as coming with the product I purchased. They have since up-dated their web site but I saved the order in which they were advertised with the adaptor. I have been going back and forth over this for way too long with Global Industrial.

Desired Settlement: I want them to either take back the scales and refund the money or send me the 8 adaptors at no charge and I want this done in a very timely manner.

Business Response:

*** ******,

We immediately investigated this complaint and have been assured by our customer service department that they have reached a resolution with the customer. The eight adapters will be shipped out right away and our CS department will call the customer with this information today and will continue to follow up and provide the customer with status once the adapters have shipped.

Please let me know if you require anything further.

*****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: IOn July *, I placed an order for a wall air conditioner from Global industrial, a systemax co. I was given a shipping date of 7/**/13. On 7/** I called cust. support & was told they had an issue with the manufacturer, and they would get back to me. which they never did. I kept calling every day trying to find out when it would ship but kept being told it was waiting to be picked up by the carrier. today is 7/**/13 & the item is still waiting to be picked up, and I am tired of being lied to

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my purchase expediously.

Business Response:

*** ******,

 

I spoke with customer service about this issue and it appears to be an ongoing one with this manufacturer that we are diligently trying to correct. Our CS department is working with the customer on his size requirements and with our suppliers to see if we can find anything to meet his needs.

 

I hope this responds and I will update you if I hear anything further. Thanks

 

*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered from their website http://www.globalindustrial.com/ where it says on the bottom Shop With Confidence - 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee (60). I was dissatisifed with the item I recieved and I returned it in less than 15 days. When I sent back the item they said it was used and will therefore refund me only 60.00, when the item cost me $139.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like the full refund of $139.00 credited to my credit card.

Business Response:

Ms. ******,

 

I contacted our customer service manager and her response is below:

In reviewing this, the customer was advised of our return policy which is available both on our site and in our catalog.  Our policy states:

 

If you are not satisfied with a product, contact us within 30 days of receipt. A refund may be arranged excluding freight charges upon inspection. Returned merchandise must be shipped in original packaging, freight prepaid, unused, and in resalable condition, and are subject to 15% restocking fee. Global inspects all returns and reserves the right to refuse credits on damaged, misused or non-resalable items. Your only obligation is the freight charge and stocking fee where applicable, provided your return is complete with original packaging, all documentation, warranty cards, cables etc. 

 

Upon receipt, our vendor sent us this information: 

Good afternoon, I just received a return from ***** ******* your PO #*********. I was under the impression is was not used. 2 of the parts were showing usage that was far more then just opening the box. I will have to replace 2 parts that were worn as I can not resell it as new. 

 

Based on the condition of the product when it was returned, our vendor extended a $60.00 credit which we passed along to the customer.

 

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any further questions.

 

*****

 

 

Consumer Response: ****** ******** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

***** ******* 



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been billed for a product that has never been received. I have contacted the company via email and had many responses from ******* ******* promising to have the issue resolved. My MasterCard was charged $490.91, and the order was cancelled and product was never received.

Desired Settlement: I would like my MasterCard refunded for the entire amount ASAP.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


This issue has now been resolved.  The company has contacted me, and has credited my account.
 
Thank you for your help!
****
Sincerely,

**** ********



 

Business Response:

*** ******,

 

We have contacted the customer and his response is below. It appears this matter has been resolved. Thank you.

 

 

I purchased this through Global Industrial online.

This matter has now been resolved and I have contacted ***** at Global to let her know. I have also emailed BBB on Friday to close this case.

Thanks,
****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our office, *** ********** ** ****** *** ***** ********* ****** ** ******** ******** *** ******* purchased 20 cases of bins through the company website. The company website shows that the bins come in 4 per case. The website is unclear and ambigous with what the abbrievation implies when it uses the term each. Do they mean each bin or each box of 4? A judge, attorney and professional budget analyst purchased this item with the understanding that the cost of $12.00 each (sold in quantity of 4) meant $12.00 each set of 4 and not each bin.

Desired Settlement: Change your online wording to include each bin, each item, etc...

Business Response:

*** ******,

I have been told by our website team that the description in question has already been changed on paper and will be deployed on the website next week. Customer Service has informed me that the customer has already been sent return paperwork and was advised that we would pay for the return and issue a full credit. I belive this should resolve the issue. Please contact me should you have any further questions.

 

***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

***** ******* 



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received incorrect USB Network adapters. After communicating the issue with the company, I was assured I would get a refund. However, after more than a month of emails and phone communication with an associate from the company by the name of ******* **** saying they had already credited my account in Wells Fargo I have received nothing. The last email she sent me has a company credit report and she told me it would take a month and not later than ** April 2013. I have verified with Wells Fargo and still have not received anything. I sent her an email letting her know that I was going to contact BBB and have not heard from them. I have all the emails verifying what I am explaining.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I spoke with our customer service and finance departments and determined that the refund was issued to the customer on 4/**/13. Customer service processed the credit back to the customer on 3/**/13. Unfortunately, the finance department had a number of cumulative issues in those few weeks including an employee out with the flu,one leaving under an unexpected FMLA leave and one retirement. All of which is no excuse, just an explanation of events that created a delay. All issues have been rectified and we are fully staffed again. We apologize for the delay.

 

***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

****** ********* 



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2012 Delivery Issues
3/1/2012 Delivery Issues
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1